Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbot Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Abbot Park Campsite > Reviews

Abbot Park Campsite
Bandrake Head
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8HW
Tel: 01229 861447  or  07770 950758
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 26 Reviews
                10/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: GeckoTatts 1 review from this member

 Absolute gem of a site. I wanted peace, quiet, views, clean facilities & dog friendly.

I got all of this and more!

The lovely lady owner, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

On the camping field itself it was slightly undulating and sloped generally downhill but there were plenty of flat-ish areas to pitch up on.

There’s access to a covered washing up area (always clean) and water point, the bathroom facilities were clean and fresh and at the time (due to covid) limited to either sole use or shared with only one other family which was no problem, there was also a fridge available for use in the barn (not used) and the owner also kindly re-freezed my ice-blocks mid-week for my cool box.

There are direct walking routes from the campsite, extremely hilly one way - but absolutely worth it for the stunning views!

Also, the sunrise over the valley behind was fantastic, walking up from tent to use facilities by the site entrance I went and stood by the track leading into farm to watch mist roll along the valley and the sun coming up over the hills and I was just blown away with the tranquility of it all.

It is a working farm, so expect the usual noises and smells associated with this… but nothing bad at all in my opinion - even the very noisy owl in the tree above my tent that woke me up at 3am one morning didn’t spoil my holiday… I was in his/her home turf after all ;-)

The site is literally at the end of the road/track up in the hills. The route in from the A590 was winding and a lovely challenge, but it just made me feel I was going somewhere special and worth it at the end of my long drive from down south!

Nearest big town was Ulverston a lovely market town with train station. Close by in the village Greenodd I got lovely Fish & Chips which were still hot after the 10min drive back to campsite and very delicious.

If you love quiet, nature & all it’s wonders and a totally relaxed atmosphere then take some time out to go visit Abbot Park Farm in the Lake District. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HanB20 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute for a one night stay in July.

The farm is beautiful. Amazing views, so peaceful and quiet.

All very clean and tidy. Price reasonable.

The owner was lovely and welcoming.

Will be returning. X 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: James7 1 review from this member

 This is a great little site.

Very quiet location off the beaten track,

Very clean,

Owners are friendly, helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

Close to local attractions and there are some good walks that can be started here up the Rusland Valley. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Reliant 6 reviews from this member

 For a solo touring cyclist with tent, this is a lovely site located high up on a hill, Peaceful with lots of pitch locations on soft turf with wonderful views. There may only be two showers, one male, one female, but this is a small site with a limited number of tents. But no shortage of piping hot water and a nice clean loo. The site has its own water supply out of a deep well in the rocks!

Breakfasts and other meals are served in the quaint little cafe which is homely and cosy- I twice ate the full English breakfast with a nice generously sized cafetiere of coffee. There were also sockets for phone charging int the cafe to use whilst eating. Carole, the owner even lent me a camping chair to use which as a cyclist, was most welcome!

A few shops and a pub are about a ten minute drive away (longer by bike obviously) and there are regular buses from Greenodd. Of course, there are many attractions within driving distance for families. (I had cycled from Windermere on the day I arrived).

On the site, there is plenty of room for children to play with a ball and run around, it was nice to hear the sound of happy children, but not noisy like a larger campsite.

I really liked it at Abbots Barn - peace and quiet, just right. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rachel150404 1 review from this member

 Really helpful on arrival and easy to get set up.

The site itself was great. Nice and relaxed and close to attractions for children.

Lots of space as well so you never felt too close to others. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orienteers 1 review from this member

 What a brilliant find! Small campsite, lovely and quiet with great views / surrounding countryside.

Toilet/shower block was always clean. Site was well looked after and included a camping field and bunk barns.

Carole (owner) made sure we had everything we needed and nothing was ever too much trouble for her.

The addition of the tea rooms made for a perfect stay - we even had our breakfasts there!

Well worth a visit and we'll definitely be going back. Couldn't have asked for a better place to camp. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JEPSONJ 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed with the family for 3 nights. A lovely campsite in the Lakes - quiet, beautiful scenery and nice owners.

Kids loved the site, especially the home cooked cakes which are sold in the tea shop.

Nice, clean toilet block. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Carole.

The road up to the campsite is narrow, so be careful, but well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RosieLeeB 1 review from this member

 My family and I spent our Easter weekend here at the Abbot Park campsite and what an idyllic place it is!

The site is a bit off the main roads but still easily accessible with a bit of patience and conscientious use of passing places! Carol, oh Carol, what a wonderfully accommodating host for our weekend, she welcomed us with a smile and was more than happy to cook us wonderful breakfasts, bake cakes (my daughters 4th birthday was made even more special) dry boots, launder towels and give us a parting gift of an Easter egg for our journey home. We all instantly felt welcome and looked forward to returning to the site after our days activities.

The facilities on site are clean and well maintained with as much hot water as you would like from the shower/toilet block. There is also a separate washing up house with two sinks. This is a hidden gem and we will certainly be returning.

Thank you to all at Abbot Park! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Judy s 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from Abbot Park campsite where we spent a fantastic Bank Holiday weekend. The site is in a lovely location with spectacular views. The site is small and spotlessly clean.

The toilet facilities were always clean as were the pot washing. There is also an on site tearoom which serves delicious breakfasts. The owner Carol is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It is perfectly situated for visiting Coniston, Windermere and Grizedale Forest.

At night even though it was busy it was very quiet and peaceful.

This was our first visit to the Lake District and I would thoroughly recommend this site for exploring the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NatalieR 1 review from this member

 I agree with everything that has already been said.

The campsite was in glorious surroundings, it was clean and well kept, the facilities are basic, but you're camping, what more do you need than a toilet, shower and somewhere to wash up?

The owner was very friendly and all the staff were ready and willing to help if you needed it. We wanted somewhere quiet to get away for a weekend and truly found it.

We will definitely be returning with our children, who will love the farm environment. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Abbot Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbot Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Abbot Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement