Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Saint Trojan Les Bains > Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins Reviews

Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins
11, Avenue Des Bris
Saint Trojan Les Bains
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17370
Tel: +33 05 46 76 02 39
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 12/06/2020 to 30/09/2020
           29/05/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Booyaa 9 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful setting!

Lovely campsite, felt very rustic and not at all like a resort stay. The staff were almost always firendly and helpful and upon check in helped us to find the right pitch and get out electricity/fridge set up properly. We opted for a Comfort Plus pitch and glad we did, due to the pitches being in between trees they are a very irregular shape so we would have struggled with a smaller pitch.

The pitch was lovely and shaded but you could chase the sun around the pitch through the day so best of both worlds.

The only negative about the pitch was we were right next to an area for a Dutch summer camp company and the noise they made was incredibly annoying until quite late at night. As there were 4 or 5 tents of people coming together each meal time and night time it could get a lot noisier than if it was just other campers. Didn't ruin the camping or anything but was annoying at times.

The swimming pool was great for the kids, they loved spending time just splashing about. The smaller of the two isn't really suitable for very young kids as they is no "beach" on to it but is good for parents taking their kids onto it. There were several days when the pool was closed and only very vague reasons were given about this (all to do with chlorine levels and testing issues), but were were given a refund for days when the pool was not in operation, a lovely gesture I thought.

The pizza/food hut on the site serves good food but gets VERY busy and sometimes the wait is up to an hour. There are also not nearly enough picnic tables in the area. Good food and friendly staff though do help this.

Nice mix of nationalities at the campsite, mostly French with a few Brits, Dutch and Germans dotted around as well.

The surrounding area was really good for beaches and there are many to choose from. Cycling on the island is also very easy and enjoyable. Loads of little villages to explore all across the island and some have wonderful markets and craft shops, so much to see and do on the island. The village of Saint Trojan les Bains is also really nice and has everything you would need, the night markets are really good with loads of different stalls selling all kinds of stuff.

The only negative, and this was a pretty big negative were the showers. Every morning and every evening there were long waits for showers. Clearly there are not enough cubicles but when at least three of the showers are not working in each block it was causing a lot of consternation amongst campers. The staff were less than helpful and all disappeared during peak shower times!

Overall a great site, lovely setting and Oleron is a lovely place to be with loads to do in the area. I would recommend this site as long as you don't need to go for a shower around breakfast time or early evening! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gp14 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site twice over the last two years with our tent, two adults and two kids under 8.

It's a great site. Friendly staff who speak english and dutch fluently. Loads of shade as well as sunny spots and dusty gravel paths rather than concrete roads. Compared to many of the other sites on the island, it is much closer to a natural site rather than a resort. The two small pools are surrounded by wooden desking and there is a gate out into the surrounding forest. The site is well looked after.

That being said, at peak season, it's pretty tightly crammed in and there isn't much space between tents. If we go again, we may consider paying for a camping plus pitch with more space. However, even when really full, there was rarely a queue for showers or toilets.

The toilet/shower block is airy and spotlessly clean and there are cubicles with basins as well.

The site is really well served by cycle-paths - we never got in our car once we arrived. You can cycle into the village where there is a market and small shops. But more importantly, you can cycle to two close-by beaches. Both beautiful and clean and not very crowded compared to La Grande Plage which is the very crowded town beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephen15 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 12 nights in August. We paid a little extra for an extra large pitch which easily took our tent plus gazebo. There was still plenty of room for the car.

The site is very well placed to visit the lovely beaches and this was part of the reason for us to visit Oleron as a relaxing beach holiday following 2 weeks in the Dordogne.

What really struck us was the general atmosphere on site. There was a good mix of nationalities and everyone was very friendly. There was a chilled out relaxed ambience to the site and peaceful at night. A few nights there was entertainment of sorts but it ended around ten oclock. I noted from previous reviews about noise on site but this was not evident during our stay. The only noise that we experienced was the calls of the local wildlife. This was an extremely friendly and peaceful site and we enjoyed our stay so much that we are considering returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CamperMumOf2 3 reviews from this member

 Very similar to the previous reviewer.

Showers could be variable in temperature, choose your time wisely and you don't need to queue. The swimming pool was freezing and packed but the beaches are beautiful so we just stuck to the sea (which was warmer). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi but you had to sit practically outside reception to get it.

Unfortunately we had one of the pitches that backed on to the road, this made it noisy (from the surrounding campsites) and lacked any privacy, as it is just a mesh fence. Although the campsite is undulating the pitches were reasonably flat but were on the small side. We only have a small van and found that the pitches either side of us encroached on ours, to the extent that one parked their car on it which left no room for our children to play close by.

The location of the site, with its easy cycling or walking in to St. Trojan and local beaches, and the friendliness of the staff mean that I would go back but I would want to know exactly what pitch I was staying on. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Puffin pig 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of Indigo's own canvas tents which was excellent (two adults + 2 young children), clean with all the necessary comforts including fridge and lighting. Only thing not supplied was a kettle and decent size mugs. Blankets are supplied but may not be warm enough for everyone, nights can be cool, we took duvets which were needed.

Campsite was rather noisy at night (or noise from nearby sites), and pitch size/location varied considerably - you want to be on the forest side, not by the road. I think you can specifically ask for a large size pitch for a few more euros. Shower block was clean but shower thermostat hopeless, impossible to keep to one temperature, ok for adults but not for kids. Roulette sells pizzas/drinks and you can order bread etc for morning. Bikes can be hired and staff were always helpful. English widely spoken and lots of Brits on the campsite. Very child friendly, felt safe allowing them to roam the site and meet friends.

The site is close to good beaches, you can cycle safely everywhere, it's relatively flat with just a few undulations even our 5 year old coped with. St trojan has necessary shops, market every day plus night market on Thursday. Bigger supermarkets in nearby towns.

Climate is great, sunniest part of France, warm by day but cool at night for sleeping. Few mosquitos but no wasps. I'd go back but make sure I knew where my pitch was first. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlvaDavey 1 review from this member

 We visited this site at the end of June and into the beginning of July. The facilities were kept spotlessly clean and one of the pools was heated.

However there were a few issues Indigo specifically state that their campsites are quiet. One night their was music until 11. 30pm and it was so loud it could be heard clearly fifteen minutes walk from the site. Another night a film was run until 11. 30pm. When we complained they could not have cared less nor have they replied to our letters of complaint.

I would return to this site outside of the main holiday area but never again when the entertainment starts. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Huttopia Oleron Les Pins dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Trojan Les Bains      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement