Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Huttopia Lac De Sille

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Sille Le Guillaume > Camping Huttopia Lac De Sille Reviews

Camping Huttopia Lac De Sille
Sille Plage
Sille Le Guillaume
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
72140
Tel: +33 02 43 20 16 12
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SoggySteve 4 reviews from this member

We chose this site as we hadn't actually booked up our sites before we left the Uk (Portsmouth to Le Havre overnight in a cabin, disembark 7am)so we booked this one last minute as it was a 2. 5hr drive from Le Havre and the weather was best in this area at the time so it seemed like we'd have a whole day of camping rather than committing the day to a long tiring drive.

The campsite wasn't very full when we arrived so we skirted around and found a suitable spot. The pitches aren't very well laid out (sticks in the ground with no arrows to designate the pitch, and some of them had no numbers at all). We decided the following day that we were almost certainly straddling two pitches.

We spoke to them about it and they said not to worry too much (probably as it wasn't very busy!). The electricity points are a bit of a way off and I questioned this at the reception and they asked if I needed an extension. It turned out I didn't but we were left with the impression that they had some and would have handed them out if there was a problem. There was no warnings about hanging hammock but information signs are scarce so we didn't actually hang our lovely Mexican one.

It was at this early stage that we realised how pleasant and engaging the staff were. In fact the whole time from arriving to leaving the campsite I would rate the staff's ability to be polite, light hearted and dare I say it fun in their approach to the customers very highly. This was an attitude from the staff (for another review) that carried through from this site to our next Huttopia site(by chance another Huttopia site) on the Ile De Noirmoutier where we were met with equally pleasant, professional and light hearted staff members. Constantly Bonjour'ing you as they pass your pitch. I thought this was worth mentioning as we read a review here that suggested the staff were otherwise. They are clearly not now so I hope you have a similar experience to ours as they customer service standard appears very high.

Back to the review.

The campsite is on the south side of a nice lake which we walked around a number of times in order to get to the Plage on the north side (after a nice stroll through the woods of around a mile or so). The beach is very popular but we always found somewhere to sit. The water was almost pleasant and by my standards that's actually quite warm! There are two cordoned off areas. One for little people and the other for general swimming and lounging on inflatables. There were a few places to get food (maybe two) both of which was fine and friendly. Also decent toilets and a couple of showers.

The site itself is a mixture of shade and sun, but mainly shade due to the lovely pine trees there. There is a small pool which was a very pleasant temperature although if it was busy it would be more like a massive hot tub experience I think.

We didn't try the food there as we had a load that needed cooking/eating. No BBQ's sadly which is always awkward for us as we have a Cobb BBQ which is probably safer than a free standing gas BBQ but hey.

There is a town nearby which is probably an average stroll of around 30-40mins. This sounds like a lot if you need some milk or bread but it's actually a lovely stroll downwards in to the town. They have a small market (pretty much food and cheap feeling clothing) on different days (check this as I don't know) which includes a decent fish stall, meat and a massive cheese stall etc etc. Lots of amazing veg as well (and the largest red pepper I have ever seen).

You can do the usual daily thing of ordering bread and croissants from the reception, which were reasonably priced and there for you the following day. Showers and toilets clean and fresh although the toilets unfortunately suffered from the same design flawed' toilet roll dispensers which have a little hole in the middle where you pull a sheet through at a time. If the next sheet doesn't come through, then you can merely stare at the toilet roll inside the plastic bowl as access to another sheet has sadly been denied. This is probably the only criticism I can come up with and it's more a warning than a criticism. Pull enough through. ;o)

All in all, a site I'd recommend without question. It's not the best site we have stayed but it is a lovely place and offers many walking and cycling options in the surrounding area along with a light and pleasant woodland feel to it. Great for super hot days as the shade is everywhere. Maybe the best thing to recommend is the proximity to Le Harve so it makes for a decent base to start a long southerly drive and a great one if you have a post 12pm ferry home to stop off after a long drive from the south.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peeceecee 3 reviews from this member

We arrived to find a lovely woodland site. We chose a pitch in the open and settled in. During the course of the night and over most of the weekend, all hell broke loose as we found ourselves in the midst of some bicycling festival, which was very badly managed by the site, destroying our week-end.

Until late into the evening after dark, units pulled in and set up amid lots of shouting and door-slamming including a group of men in white vans, who had no proper camping equipment. This behaviour continued over the week-end with groups riding bicycles aggressively on the site, and along nearby paths. We were almost run down by one group. There was no speed limit, and no effort to minimise noise and disturbance on site. The place was an unsupervised free-for-all. We tried to find an alternative site but many were closed in September.

Security was dire, no barrier at the entrance, allowing vehicles in and out unchecked. There were unlocked and unchecked pedestrian exits/entrances at several points in the perimeter fence allowing non-site-users in to use the toilet blocks. We saw several groups of unaccompanied men using them which made us feel unsafe (facilities are unisex) and would be worrying to parents of children.

The showers and toilets were cleaned once a day, but were usually unpleasantly dirty by evening and especially the following morning because of the high usage. The shower/toilet blocks needed refurbishment. There was only one chemical toilet emptying point which was at the opposite end of the site to most caravans and motorhomes.

The swimming pool looked pleasant enough, but was mostly used by unsupervised children who preferred water fights, rendering it totally unusable by anyone else, especially adults. We remain to be convinced that this site is suitable for adults without children.

The pitches seemed of good size, but with no boundaries defined, campers with dogs used them (including ours) as a dog toilet and as shortcuts to the facilities on foot or on bicycles. They frequently disturbed us.

Our reaction, of course is well-said 'never again'.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiaora 3 reviews from this member

Each year we go for a europe tour wth our Eriba caravan for around a month, often we end up in spain or south of France,

This year we crossed Poole to cherbourg as usual, but when we arrived at this camp site, it had a really good feel about it, there was a covered area for the kids if it rained, and it did as we arrived,

The staff lit the big log burner in the covered area, the wood smell was wonderful, felt like proper camping

We originally planed to stay 2 nights, but the weather turn good, the sun came out so we stayed another 2 nights, then another 6 nights! Almost 3 weeks in the end, it was so peaceful and a good camping in the woods feel about it.

If fact we only left the site because the weather was so hot it was difficult to sleep. We went nearer to the coast, where it was cooler.

We used it as a base, and really explored the whole area, great holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 44 reviews from this member

Used as 2nd night stopover enroute from Calais to Concarneau. Very busy and no separation between pitches so seemed a little crowded. Probably suits families with young children best. Modern facilities. Paid for EHU but point was a long distance away and would have needed extension over the road so didn't bother for the one night. Water tap at the shower block. Couldn't get any wifi but there was a computer in reception building that was ok to check weather. As only there one night we didn't use any of the other facilities. Pleasant walk to the other side of the lake where there was a busy beach (no dogs allowed). Two cafes - one serving crepes/icecreams and drinks which had a nicer setting. We had a pizza in the other cafe, which wasn't very good at all - generally unclean. At the site, you could book bread/croissants for the next morning. Takeaway pizzas at the site seemed to be popular - wish we had tried one instead of at the lake cafe. All in all, not the right site for us.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bluenote 4 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights here. Very helpful staff at reception

Lovely wooded site next to a lake. The lake has a beach which would be great for kids. There are also a number of bars/restaurants around the lake which do good food (not gourmet meals)

Nice new toilet block. Like all Indigo campsites, bread delivered daily and free WiFi around the reception area

Weather not that great so took the opportunity to visit Le Mans (a 45 minute drive in the van).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Timmypiccles 2 reviews from this member

Great campsite, very big pitches, clean toilets showers etc. It's a 10 minute scenic walk through a wood to the beach. Great beach. Free freezer for ice packs. Fresh bread delivered daily. Nice park for the kids. I would recommend this to anyone. Second time we have visited we will be back. Nice local town with everything you need.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Adriancollins 6 reviews from this member

Friendly site, great location, massive woodland pitches.

Nice little swimming pool, (Rather cold for us) and a lovely walk around the lake (which has a beach, and cafe bars around it too) Nice central area to the campsite with an indoor part with a log burner in case it rained.

Showers and toilets were very modern, and kept really clean. Nice hot showers.

Food was ok, nice pizza etc and you could buy a beer / wine etc. What more do you need I ask?

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaggerdon 5 reviews from this member

We spent a week here and had a lovely time, we travelled from Calais which took us about 6 hours, the campsite wasn't full and we found the pitches spacious and well spread out, the site is next to a small fishing lake and a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride from a beach area sectioned off for swimming. This seemed popular with day trippers.

There were a few bars and restaurant around the other side of the lake, far away not to not cause a disturbance. The staff were lovely and so helpful, there was a really relaxed atmosphere in general. The entertainment provided was very enjoyable, including a fun circus skills workshop. We loved the outdoor film screenings too. There were a lot of midges, (due to Lake) so bring repellent.

The pool area was small but fun and the kids made friends. We felt safe letting them run freely around the site as they were never really out of sight. The showers and toilets were fine and cleaned regularly. You can buy pizza and carafes of wine reasonably priced at the Roulette. Supermarkets, a short drive at the nearby town. Super you was best on the other side of town.

And the town, Sille De Guillume itself was also sweet and pleasant to walk round. A good stop over on the way to the south west coast, but worth spending a few days too!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linzbob 5 reviews from this member

Spent a week here at the beginning of July 11.

This site is beautiful, it is in a forest and although there are marked pitches (by means of a bit of wood with a number on) you can pitch anywhere you like. Because it was out of season we basically had the place to ourselves for the first few nights.

If you have an awning or tent take rock pegs as the ground in places is VERY hard (might be all those tree roots) we bent several pegs (ok all of them) trying to get them in with the mallet.

There are 10 wooden cabins for rent and some tents pre-erected to hire. The rest of the forest is for whatever you bring with you.

I don't think it is a new site, although I do think it is new management, and they do speak a little English (enough to get by)

Amenities : There are 2 toilet blocks on site, both having toilets, showers, washing up and laundry. Although only one toilet in each block has a seat, the others are toilets without seats (not the hole in the ground) and some urinals. Showers are free and on a push button and were always nice and hot.

Showers and toilets are mixed sex. There is also a disabled toilet & shower in each block which is great if you have younger children as gives you a little more room. (there were no disabled people on site when we were there)

There is also a octagonal pool next to reception, but this is not heated so is always 20oc. So chilly on a warm day! And there is a small children's play area. Great for my 3yr old but may to too young for older kids.

There are plenty of electric hook ups but do take an extension lead as depending on where you camp it may have to go over a road or be a long distance away. It is also normal polarity and your blue plug end fits.

Bread croissants etc can be ordered at reception for following day delivery. These arrive about 8. 30.

In reception there are several games laid out for you to play and the owners are happy to show you how to play them if you don't know. They also have some games for you to take back to your unit and play. There is also a ping pong table outside.

There is a computer in reception with free internet access for you to use, there is a time limit (15mins?) and its quite slow, but great for finding out about places to visit etc.

There is also a bike hire although we didn't use it.

There were things to do each day, although I only tried the archery class (think it started at 5pm) The instructor spoke no english but we managed to get through by copying etc. They also allowed young kids to have a go (think one was about 5)

Whilst we were there, a new caravan was being set up to serve ice creams and crepes beer etc near to reception. Unfortunately this wasn't open when we were there, but it looked good.

There is a lake (although I think its the river sarth) at the bottom of the campsite and a lovely walk (1km?) along the edge to a little beach where there are bars, pony rides, pedlo hire etc. The water is very cloudy but you can fish or paddle etc in it.

The other way along the footpath takes you into Sille de guilleme, or you can drive the 2 mins into town, where there is a tourist info, pharmacy, 2 supermarkets and the usual french village shops and bars.

Overall I have given this site 9/10 it would have got 10 if the pool was heated.

Would I go back again? Wheres next years diary. A resounding YES.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sille Le Guillaume      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019