Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Playa Las Dunas

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > El Puerto De Santa Maria > Camping Playa Las Dunas Reviews

Camping Playa Las Dunas
Paseo Maritimo La Puntilla
El Puerto De Santa Maria
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 956 87 22 10
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 8 Reviews
                6/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crwydryn 62 reviews from this member

A very good site with a price to match once the Acsi discount ended in mid June.

Friendly and informative staff. Well maintained facilities are kept very clean. While the water for dishwashing etc is not as hot as it should be the showers were hot enough.

Accessible motorhome service point.

The wifi within the price flies. Nice pool and there’s a small supermarket on site as well as a restaurant which we didn’t use. Beach is across the road and there’s a flat walk into the town; the streets of which are nice to stroll around. Café’s, restaurants and supermarkets are there.

Transport is good with a bus services 5 or 10 minutes walk away. As with many large towns a bono card is available for 2 euros cutting the ticket price from 1euro40 to 50 cents and 1 card can be used by a couple.

There’s an excellent train service and we used it to visit Seville and Jerez 10 minutes away and certainly worth a visit as was Seville.

Took the 30 minute boat ride to Cadiz.

Flies and insects with attitude were conspicuous by their absence.

We were only going to stay a few nights but ended up staying 10.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CosmicChicken 6 reviews from this member

Relief getting to this campsite and finding there was an option to not be pitched under a 'tarpaulin and plastic Mausoleum'. Previous two sites were a disturbing experience due to total enclosure in tarps and plastic, even more so when the locals engaged en masse in the late night ritual of deep frying chips and sweeping up large clouds of dusty sand.

Playa de la dunas had the option of more open, car park type pitches that did have some shade. Facilities were fine. There were two MH dumping points with chem disposal. It is a fairly large site, so best to position appropriately for these facilities. There is another dense forest area full of tarps and chips. We avoided this!

30 minutes walk to ferry for a trip into Cadiz. Local town is 10/15 mins walk away and has everything. Local beach is visually stunning, but let down by wind. It is a windy area, so beware of the sandstorms. Stayed 3 nights. Until a combination of Sahara type sandstorm and mouthy locals forced us to leave.

A bit of a tip gleaned from the first week of our 6 week tour is 'beware the lone caravan that has all the appearance of being in storage'. Make sure you pitch well away. One day the local crew will rock up and that lone caravan is party central 24/7.

With this site we believe the main driver of the anti social behaviour is the local port and the 'facilities' they provide. Young males turn up in large groups to take advantage. Notionally the site prohibits this, but in practice does not, as the 'caravans' presumably are a good earner.

In summary this is as far from a 'family site' as you can get. Truly shocking. Any good marks are that it is good for Cadiz.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clankie 5 reviews from this member

Well this is not a good review for the campsite! We are enroute to Estapona area from Bilbao, we do ‘‘this trip every year but normally stop at Rosalida in Conil, however decided on a change hence a stopover here for three nights. I emailed giving our details and asked to make a reservation.

They replied promptly saying no problem! On arrival 2pm there were 2 pitches available one unacceptable because of trees which left us no option other than leaving the town. The pitches are basically a car park layout, no hedges very close together, less than 3m behind us. They have no serviced pitches and approx 100m to a water tap.

The one chem toilet disposal is by the motorhome Service point 200m from our location. Normally you find a disposal point in the shower block, no such luck. There appears to be long stay units on site, good luck to them. The shower block seems reasonable and clean but only one block for the touring part of the site.

The supermarket is only open in high season but you can buy water and bread in the bar/restaurant. The staff didn’t seem very interested in the reception. They prefer to rent the cabins than cater for touring units in my view. The camping pitches are very close to a housing estate and there are many barking dogs.

You can walk to Mercadona, 15 minutes for supplies. The ferry terminal to Cadiz is double that distance. We have visited the town in the past but the site we stayed on has closed. The only plus is a trip to Cadiz by ferry. Would not return!

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dickiebird 17 reviews from this member

Really liked this site and received a very warm welcome. Pitch size and location of our pitch were very good and our fellow campers were very friendly. The toilet and shower facilities were some of the best we'd experienced in Spain - very spacious with plenty of hot water.

The location of the site itself was great for visiting Cadiz via the catamaran/ferry about a five minute bike ride from the campsite. Lovely walks and cycle routes around.

A wee bit disappointed in the restaurant on site, and the supermarket is only open during the summer months. However, the town of El Puerto de Santa Maria is on the doorstep with supermarkets and cafes/restaurants.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barry915 15 reviews from this member

Large site very near the beach, very clean facilities and generally a well managed campsite.

There are different types of areas and pitches.

When we arrived we were directed to an area that was very very busy, cramped and quiet noisy, particularly at night.

However it was very shady and Cadiz can get very hot!

The next day we moved to a large open area which had loads of space and very large pitches.

There is a water ferry about 20 minutes from the site that takes you into lovely Cadiz.

I would go there again but opt for the large open area

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

It's five years since we were last here and not a lot has changed. Last time we were here in Spring, so it was busier. This time it was a bit quieter, so we had a pitch nearer to the shower block, which is not heated although there is plenty of hot water. There were a number of people of various nationalities staying here for Christmas, although as far as I was aware there was no entertainment. However we only stayed a few days so couldn't really judge.

We enjoyed a trip to a bodega in Sanlucar de Barrameda, one of the three sherry towns (we'd visited the others last time. ) Sanlucar is the home of Manzanilla, a delicate sherry which is said to taste slightly salty because of the nearby sea.

The awkward laundry arrangements haven't changed, and for long stays are a lot less convenient than the self-service launderettes found in most campsites.

On the whole I wouldn't want to spend the winter here, but for a short visit it's fine. The town is interesting, a real Spanish town and not at all touristy. There's a very ornate cathedral, with several storks' nests on the roof (and in December, they were all occupied!)

We paid a reasonable 16 euros with our ACSI card.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Awesome60s 12 reviews from this member

Take note of the height limit on entry of 3. 3 metres. If you exceed that height or are a wide unit there is another entrance which will be opened upon request. We paid 20 euros per night in February 2012 for two adults and the unit which seemed expensive taking everything into account.

The shower block was modern and clean. However for some it might be a long walk to the chemical disposal point - the only one we discovered was by the Motorhome dump. If you have a medium to large outfit you can be accommodated - but watch out for the low walls! Some might say the site resembles a large car park and units do seem to be very close together with an obvious effect on privacy.

Great position with adjacent cycle tracks and an attractive promenade which hosts a weekly market close to the site on Tuesdays. The ferry to Cadiz is within walking distance (about 25 minutes). We used a Mercadona supermarket about 15 minutes walk from the site.

In our view a splendid site for a short stay taking in a visit to Cadiz. However we met people who had stayed for several months and were quite content.

If we were to visit Cadiz by motorhome again we would certainly think about staying here.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

This is a large municipal campsite which is well-maintained but a bit noisy. There is also some noise from the adjacent public sports complex, going on until 10 or 11 at night occasionally. The pitches are grassy/sandy and of good size. The toilet block is excellent, clean, spacious and modern. There is a well-equipped launderette but to gain access you have to get a chitty from reception then find one of the cleaners and get her to let you in - a bit of a hassle! There is an on site supermarket but only open high season. The bar and restaurant were open in low season and were popular with the locals. There's no wifi, but free internet use in reception, or in the bar it's 1 euro for 20 minutes. There's a beach nearby but the main attraction of this site is its position in the famous 'sherry triangle', and its proximity to Cadiz. The town of El Puerto itself has a number of sherry bodegas including Osborne, which is well worth a visit - loads of tasting! Jerez is not far away and as well as more bodegas - we enjoyed the tour of Tio Pepe - it also has the fabulous Andalucian Riding School which puts on a wonderful show of horsemanship on Tuesdays and Thursdays. From El Puerto you can also take a short ferry ride over to Cadiz which is a city with a fascinating history.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019