Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Aldea

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > El Rocio > Camping La Aldea Reviews

Camping La Aldea
Ctra El Rocio
El Rocio
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 959 44 26 77
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minnieuk 9 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights - paid in advance to get free wifi. Wifi was pretty good and reached our pitch ok. We had a tent so were in the tent section - which we had to ourselves as there were mostly motorhomes and a few caravans on site.

The pitch was perfect for the tent - grassy with sand underneath. Well kept and separated by hedges. Electricity, water and bins were nearby. Not too far to the shower/toilet block but a bit of a walk.

The shower/toilet block was kept very clean. It is quite old but still nice enough and the showers were mainly good (one was a bit weak but once I knew I avoided that one).

The site is in an excellent location for visiting the national park and El Rocio.

We really enjoyed our stay and would have stayed longer if the weather had been better.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We keep saying we wont return as seen it all at El Rocio but back again.

Nothing changed at campsite, still good sized pitches facilities old but functional. Showers always good and hot and plenty of hot water in hand washing and dish washing areas. One thing that does put us off is there are always birds in rafters of facilities, hence bird poo on floors as previous review mentioned.

We found odd that site less than a third full yet they put all vans in pitches next to each other, makes it feel cramped when there really is loads of room.

The town was much busier than we have seen before, even in the week plenty of people around. Sunday is still the best say to visit to see festivals, crowds of people and all the little souvenir shops open.

Donana Park itself is still glorious. The lake in town is great for bird spotting. Another 20 minutes walk and you are at the Rocina visitor centre - wooden boardwalks between the bird hides and over some beautiful countryside. About 8 kn down the same road is another visitor centre Acebuche, again all the walks are on boardwalks, a wonderful afternoon out and a great little cafe to visit.

The beach town of Matalascanas is 10 km fro the site, a little old fashioned but the beach makes up for that. There is a promenade that runs for over 2 miles, lots of small cafes and bars - most closed in winter but we found several open. The beach is stunning, the waves a little high and maybe more suited to surfers but well worth visiting.

El Rocio has plenty to see and do in the area but you do need to use transport or bikes.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whatamess 30 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week on our way to Portugal. The site is quite nice with sand pitches but the sand gets everywhere. The restaurant is ok but not cheap. We went on our first night and were the only ones in there. There is wifi in the restaurant and the outside seating area.

The toilets and showers are basic at best and I don't think they were cleaned the whole week we were here. Two cleaners came in each morning with buckets and cloths but goodness knows what they did. There was bird mess on the floor for days and dirty marks round the water in the toilets. The water in the showers is good and hot and wasn't on a press button.

Bread is available fresh every day and there is a small shop selling basics. There are two supermarkets in town.

The town is very different. Lots of places to eat and drink. We had a very good meal in the restaurant opposite the bus stop in town.

The lake is fascinating with masses of pelicans, flamingos, ibis and spoonbills and various other birds coming and going. There are hides if you walk anti clockwise round it and a visitor centre if you walk clockwise.

Because we were in a motorhome and had a dog we couldn't get out of town (no dogs on buses) and a week was more than enough to stay here.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gordon67 16 reviews from this member

We booked for 2 nights and stayed 8 which says it all! This is a little gem! Great site, surreal town! We were lucky enough to be there over Andalucua weekend when the town was transformed! The town has cashpoint and small supermarket with lots of bars and restaurants. Site shop does fresh bread and bar is good. Clean facilities and well laid out site. We will be back!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

We used this site on way from Portugal to Spain. Well laid out site with clearly defined big pitches, Good toilet and shower facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. Stock up before you visit as supermarket in town is very small. Plan to visit over a weekend as the town comes to life on Sunday morning, it is a very short walk into the town which is just unique and like something out of a TV western. Sand roads, rails to tie up the horses, families meeting up to eat, drink and sing, horses being ridden walking through the town and 'promenading' just amazing and unique. We loved it.

Be aware that the site can get noisy on Saturday night as the long stay units get occupied by the families in preparation for Sunday.

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time, although being earlier in the year the weather wasn't as warm. We realised the toilet block isn't heated - no problem when we were here in March, but in January the early mornings can be a bit frosty before the sun warms up. However the plentiful hot water in the showers made up for it.

Prices seemed lower than last time - maybe as a result of Spain's austerity problems. The menu del dia in the restaurant was 10 euros, down from 12 on our last visit, and the washing machines were 3 euros, down from 3. 60. However the ACSI price had gone up from 15 to 16 euros. But if you stay 6 nights you get the 7th night free.

There has been an improvement in the village, which is only 5 minutes' walk, as a decent-sized supermarket has now opened. We were lucky to see a big religious parade on Sunday 29th, with drums, pipes and banners, horses and wagons, and one mass after another in the church.

A trip to the beautiful city of Seville with its Moorish architecture is a must, and just north west of Seville are the ruins of Italica, a large Roman town with an amphitheatre and some wonderful mosaics. It's also a short drive in the opposite direction to the coast, where the quiet resort of Matalascanas has a huge sandy beach.

All in all another very enjoyable stay at this site.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site. Busy at the weekend with Spanish groups there for the pilgrimages. Quite noisy in the evenings with drums, parties and firecrackers. During the week its much quieter.

Facilities very clean and two blocks both open. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure in showers, cleaned at least twice each day. Pitches are sand but very firm, all have ehu. Plenty of water taps around site.

A restaurant and bar on site, not good value really - a steak or tuna at €12 but you can have either chips or salad, not both, and its a handful of chips or a couple of lettuce leaves. Small supermarket sells a good variety and has fresh bread daily but no fruit, veg or salad.

Plenty to do and see in the area so well worth a visit. A good site that's well maintained at all times - would recommend.

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site is about 40 minutes south of the motorway and on the edge of the Donana National Park. Large pitches, most of which are very sandy. Toilets / showers very clean and plenty of hot water. There is a restaurant next door which serves the site with a good choice on the menu, also a mini market within the restaurant, again good choice.

As per previous reviews El Rocio itself is well worth a visit and you are literally 5 minutes walk from the centre. The sand streets and hitching posts together with people riding round on horses gives it a feel of a Spaghetti Western. The churches are incredibly beautiful.

The other main attraction is the National Park. You cant drive in the park but you can do a couple of set walks. When we asked reception how to get to the walks we were advised its not possible and needed to book there for the €26 4x4 trips. This isn't correct as there are 2 good 3-4 km walks within a short distance of the camp-site (1 you can walk to in 20 minutes the other drive to in 10 minutes). Also when walking to the main square in town you are on the lagoon of the park and we saw Flamingos, Spoonbills and White storks from the bird hides just on the edge of town.

On our original pitch we were close to several seasonal pitches, these were used over the weekend and we found a fair amount of noise. Mainly large families so to be fair noise from talking in awnings will carry. We asked to move to the other side of the site and no problems – found this much quieter. There is some road noise which seems to go on very late as the road heads for the coast.

Wifi available for €8 for 48 hours, swimming pool in high season only.

Overall the site is very good and the area really is worth a visit. Much quieter then other sites we saw and at most 20 other units on site whilst we were there.

We paid €15 per night with ACSI, site is also C&CC affiliated but unsure of rates if a member with them.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site in a fascinating area. The site is large, with bungalows and permanent caravans as well as numerous touring pitches. The pitches are all the same size (quite generous) but the ground is sandy and quite soft in places, and there are very high curbs which are a bit tricky - luckily several people came to give us a hand, including some folk from a Caravan Club rally who obviously knew the area and had come equipped with ramps! There is a large bar and restaurant which are popular with the locals, and campers can buy fresh bread there. There is also a small shop - useful as the nearest supermarket of any size is 10km away. The toilet block is excellent, as are the washing-up and laundry facilities - lots of hot water. There's a swimming pool in high season. And wifi is available. It's a 5-minute walk into the town of El Rocio, an absolutely unique place, rather like something out of a Western - the road surface is sand and everyone rides horses, so there are hitching posts outside all the shops and restaurants! El Rocio is the scene of an amazing pilgrimage, or romera, every May in honour of the Virgin of El Rocio. There is a beautiful church and the town is full of houses belonging to religious fraternities from all over Spain. There is a parade almost every weekend including women wearing traditional Flamenco dresses. Also nearby is the Donana National Park with its rare flora and fauna. We will certainly visit this campsite again and would recommend it highly.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019