Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Turiscampo Camping Bungalow Park

Campsite Search > Europe > Portuguese / Portugal > Lagos > Turiscampo Camping Bungalow Park Reviews

Turiscampo Camping Bungalow Park
Estrada Nacional 125, Espiche
8600 109
Lagos
Portugal   (Browse area)

Tel: 00351 282 789 265
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gary and Sue 1 review from this member

This is our second visit to Turiscampo. It’s a large friendly campsite that puts a smile on my face. Flowers are everywhere and it’s clean and tidy. The roadways are tarmaced and the pitches of varying sizes are usually split by hedging or bushes with the ground being mainly made up of stone. It’s a terraced campsite with a new indoor pool, gym, beauty parlour, morning gym classes, good restaurant and evening entertainment. The only gripe I have is the cold outdoor pool which would be so much nicer if they heated the water with solar panels. The toilets and showers are luxurious. Electricity is 6 amps and if you require 10 amp you have to pay extra. Ten minutes walk away are two good restaurants. Our favourite place by far.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times, each time they are investing in major improvements. This time they had started work on a new 'Wellness suite' and building of a second swimming pool which will be heated.

Whilst the work is all on one side of the site there was fairly constant building noise, trucks and a crane in operation every day.

That said the rest of the site was as immaculate as ever, the last toilet / shower block has been renovated and now resembles something from a 4 Star hotel - quite why the showers are hung at approx 4 ft was a strange idea.

The site was extremely busy, we arrived without a booking and were offered a choice of 4 or 5 pitches, the other 215 all taken. The lower half of the site has more shade and the central tiers have thebest of the sunshine. The new area over the top of the hill has brilliant big pitches but they are more expensive.

Wifi still charged at €10 for a week, we found the signal to be very good.

Restaurant was just as good as previously, eat as much as you like buffet which includes several salads, soups, bread and then a choice of 6 main courses with vegetables, chips, potatoes and puddings. €12 per head, a really good meal with lovely staff on hand for drinks, clearing etc.

Bus into Lagos takes 13 minutes €1. 85 each way and stops right outside campsite. The walk over to Praia De Luz takes 15 minutes, a big downhill, again a bus will bring you up to Espiche (as few minutes walk along from campsite) for €1. 60.

Lagos was lively, plenty of cafes and bars open and the majority of the shops now open after many close for January.

The site is a victim of its own success with many people booking the best pitches before they leave for the next year - high numbers of Brits, Germans and French are there for up to 5 months so it is difficult to get one one of the sunnier large terrace pitches.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Junik53 9 reviews from this member

Used this campsite as had read good reveiws, was not dissapointed, and only a little to add.

We were given a number of pitches to veiw but they were filling up fast so had to go with our second choice. The pitch was situated along with others in a semi circle, this may be different as it was next to a toilet block that was being renovated, and there was a bit of building noise on occasions, but it was all fenced off professionally so no danger to anyone. The pitches were terraced and consisted of small stone chippings, water, drainage and electric (6A)extra 1 euros a night. 10A was extra 2 euros a night useing acsi card. The pitches were of varying sizes and were interspersed with chalets and bungalows.

The pool looked really nice with lawn and sunbeds round, also a jacuzzi. There was a shop, bar and restaurant which we didn't use so cant comment on, neither do we know if good for kids as we are a couple, but there were plenty of kids there.

We had a day out firstly in Lagos then on to Sagres and cabo de vincent, I think the most southerly point in Europe? All the coastline was cliffs and lovely to look at the bays down below of which there were many and I would have thought quite a challenge to get down to especially for us as we have limited mobility.

We would definitely return to this site if we go to Portugal again.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

Very impressive campsite - can honestly say that every member of staff we encountered from reception to lad in grocery shop were happy, helpful, and an absolute delight - our pitch was a squeeze-we are 9. 5 metres long so had to manouvre in longways -but lovely pitch all the same - the extra large pitches were out of use as the shower was being revamped -the toilets / showers are magnificent and the pool / snack bar absolutely lovely -my only niggle is location -quite a walk into Praia de Luz -so a bike / car would be useful, we could not take the bus as had 2 dogs with us -but there is a bus stop right outside --- would not hesitate to recommend - and very reasonable with the ACSI card

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

We don't now tend to use the larger commercial sites but we had read good reviews and wanted to see something of the Algarve. Our circumstances meant that we arrived as the ACSI discount expired so we're in the high season and was evident from the number of families, though still not at full occupancy. We opted for a deluxe serviced pitch, but the surface of many that we considered was poor and uneven, compared to many sites we have been on.

There are several sanitation blocks - the upper one is now dated, but the one midway up the site is modern, superb, having a couple of washrooms fitted out with shower/loo/basin. All were scrupulously clean - the staff are going around the site all day.

Praia de Luz is a few minutes drive away and frequented by many British tourists, but small and friendly. Some of the cafes and bars are obviously catering for them judging by the offerings of Sunday roast, fish/chips/mushy peas, and the like.

Used the site restaurant once which has menu options as well as a buffet. Staff were very pleasant.

Wifi was dreadful considering it was a charged-for service - €10 for the week. My iPad was difficult to connect, then it was slow and dropping off.

Had a couple of nice excursions. Went to Cape St. Vincent to see the sunset one evening, the to Bordeira Beach another.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

Great site with excellent facilities and a good bar and restaurant which are well used. Possibly because the site is a good walk or drive to civilization.

Site has a number of bungalows and long stay winter visitors it is terraced and covers both sides of a small hill. When we visited there were a couple of rallies on site so we ended up over the hill. We paid the additional fee for 10amp EHU but even putting on the kettle tripped the electric, which was a real pain. The water point to fill up was back near the entrance and it was not possible to connect to the the water points around the site. You could fill a container but not connect a hose.

With a 9m motorhome a number of the pitches would have been to small and we got stuck reversing onto one of the terraces with a number of pitches on it. The bike rack on the towbar caught the ground and the front wheels sunk on what I thought was hardstanding. Another camper kindly hooked onto the tow bar and helped me out. I then discovered there was another route onto the terrace which we used to exit, so worth checking your route in to the pitch, and don't assume all the hardstandings will take the weight.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RESTLESS 16 reviews from this member

This is a very classy site, fantastic facilities, very modern and luxurious.

The pitches vary in size and you can choose from a variety of positions. We chose one with shade and suffered from mosquitoes so I'd be careful when picking next time.

The supermarket stocks a brilliant range of fresh bread, cheese, meats etc as well tinned goods, wines and spirits, camping necessities and local products. The lady who runs it selects the range and I wish she stocked my local corner shop at home, I'd never shop at a large supermarket again if she did.

The whole site is clean and tidy, and reasonable value for money at €18 per night considering the comfort you have. The pool area is excellent, lots of sun beds, a hot tub and quiet areas to lay and read.

It's not in a great location, on a main road 5km from Lagos and quite a way from Luz and Burgau, you really need a car or bike to get anywhere away from the site.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: VWtwoplusdog 12 reviews from this member

We agree that this has every facility one could wish for in a camp site including immaculate washrooms, the best laundry facilities and even hot water dog showers. We found a nice pitch on gravel under trees despite the fact that the long-stayers who make up the large part of the winter population had has the pick of the best pitches.

We just wanted to add that is is possible to walk down into Praia de Luz along pavements in about 30 minutes for a lovely beach and interesting coloured cliffs. We found a few cafés open although the town looked a bit shabby out of season.

Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Third visit to this site and will review again as there has been quite a few changes. Fairly busy with long stayers but a good numbers of short stayers too. Plenty of pitches available in sunshine and they are happy for you to move if you want a different pitch.

The new toilet / shower block is now open in the middle of the site. Absolutely first class facilities that could give a 4 star hotel a run for their money. The cleaning staff are in and out all day and it is with out doubt the cleanest facilities block we have ever used.

At the back of the site the work has nearly been completed on the new pitching area, not yet open. Would guess about another 50 pitches that face towards the mountains - look a decent size and well terraced so everyone gets a view.

Espiche is literally next door to the site and is worth the short walk with several cafes and bars and three good restaurants. We used Adega do Papagio - where you get a plate of seven different meats which you cook yourself at your table on hot stones, along with salads, chips, rice, a pudding and a bottle of wine we paid €40 for 2 - A really lovely place which is well worth a visit.

All the staff on site speak English, are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. They work constantly at keeping the site looking immaculate. Overall the site remains about the best large site we have found in Portugal.

I have no doubt we will visit again in the future

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindka 2 reviews from this member

One of the the best sites we have ever stayed at, very impressed.

The new shower blocks were very clean, the cleaners are in and out all day making sure it stays that way, some of the sinks are in private cubicles, (excellent idea), there are also 2 full shower rooms with private loo, sink and shower. There is a separate shower room for kids and even a dog washing area!

Bar and Pool area very nice, also with terraced, grassed area away from pool. There were plenty of sunbeds available but this was at the end of September, not high-season, I would imagine that in the summer when kids are on holiday it could be very busy. The Restaurant offers a Buffet for 9. 95 per person, it was quite good.

Wifi costs 10 Euros for 7 days, a bit expensive I thought as it was rather hit and miss to pick up a signal. Shop on site is expensive, but we expected that, but there is an Intermarche Supermarket in Lagos

We hired a fridge for 5 Euros per day which was definitely worth having as we were in a Tent.

The pitch itself. We booked a Deluxe pitch which had its own tap (for which you have to have a key and you pay 20 Euros deposit for it) and Electricity hook-up, I would say that the Deluxe pitches are very UNSUITABLE FOR TENTS, they are covered in large stones and we had real trouble getting the tent pegs into the ground and ended up tying some of the guy ropes to the trees, rocks the electricity pole etc!

There is a bus stop outside the site 1. 75 Euros per person into Lagos, not a very nice place to stand and wait for a bus though, no pavement and traffic whizzing past!

I would say that this site is closer to Praia de Luz than Lagos, you can walk into Luz, (or get a bus) but Lagos is a bit far to walk and the road isn't suitable for pedestrians.

All in all we liked this site at this time of year, however I wouldn't stay there in the height of the season.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Portugal

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1804 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019