Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Oswestry > Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite
Edgerley
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8ES
Tel: 07968 656724
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Very well equipped site, very clean and new looking toilets and showers.

The Royal Inn pub next door is not part of the site but is a friendly pub with a good but limited menu.

The only downsides are that is this a cash only site with no shop and there is literally nothing to do in the area that is not a drive away. No walks etc.

For a sit and do nothing site it is very good, but no BBQs or fires mean the pub will get plenty of custom. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjogsc 5 reviews from this member

 A very rural site, attached to an excellent pub. The beer, food, value and service were excellent. They managed to squeeze us in on the night we arrived, but it would be worth booking ahead if you would like a meal on arrival. They were not able to offer us a table on the other two nights of our stay (over the bank holiday weekend) as they were fully booked.

The site is split in two by the road that passes the pub. We had two pitches, we were on the riverside of the road and our friends were on the pub side (because they wanted an electric hook-up). Personally I preferred the riverside, with lovely views of the Severn and hills beyond, but the pitch we had on the pub side was very pleasant and secluded.

The facilities were generally adequate and clean, although a bit of TLC wouldn't go a miss. One of our party commented that the gents' toilet would benefit from some ventilation, and while I didn't notice any problem I did confirm that there was little or none.

All sections of the site are behind locked gates as apparently there can be problems with travellers setting up camp. This wasn't really a problem on the pub side in particular, as pedestrians could easily bypass the gate. In theory it shouldn't have been a problem on the riverside, as there was a stile a bit further up the field. Unfortunately my girlfriend was suffering from a knee injury and found the stile difficult and unlocked the vehicle gate on most occasions when going to use the facilities.

While we had to cross the road from the riverside to reach the facilities the distance was not great - I've been on many sites with a much longer walk to the toilets! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 39 reviews from this member

 What a site. Beautiful quite location. The pub is also one of the best I've been to. Fantastic range of Ale, fantastic food, don't miss Pizza night on Tuesdays - a real treat and a real bargain.

Friendly laid back people.

Site is in the middle of nowhere, but close enough to towns if you want them 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donnyo65 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a couple of times. Firstly, if you are staying here you must realise that this is a pub with a campsite attached - not a tacky clubhouse on a dodgy campsite! The pub is the main feature of this site, if you don't like that idea then its not for you. Having said that, the location is lovely and the site is well maintained and is constantly evolving (They were building a new facilities block when we last stayed). The site is gated and as such, is secure - you get a key for the site and the toilet block when you book in at the pub. The pitches have electric but there are a few without should you wish. The whole site manages to be very informal and relaxed whilst being clean and tidy at the same time. There is a decent facilities block with toilets showers and even an information room and small kitchen plus the usual washing up area. As stated, there is a brand new block being built. The pub is very popular for miles around but never seems to interfere with the site and there is an overflow campsite over the road (Tents only - I think) for busy times. There is also fishing on a small stretch of the River Severn but no marked or constructed spots and I have never seen anyone fishing (I will be taking my rod next time!). The site and the pub are also dog friendly but there are no specific facilities for dogs or children. To the pub - quaint, warm, friendly and with a great selection of real ales and fantastically prepared and reasonably priced food - leave the cooker at home! This is the ideal site for a two or three night stay if you want to treat yourself and relax - one of our favourites. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy19705 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at Royal Hill for the 3rd time. Absolutely gem of a place! Beautiful views, beautiful people. The site is just perfect in every way & the pub is fantastic too. I will be returning soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hillwalker69 2 reviews from this member

 We camped here at August bank holiday for 3 nights. Lovely small camping field alongside the river. Very quiet site and a good half hour drive from the nearest shops or town.

The toilet block and water pipe were on the other side of the road near the pub and caravan park but although a minute or two walk away I've been to bigger sites where the facilities were further away.

Although there is no hair dryer in the toilets there is a power point to use your own.

The pub next to the site is great and as stated in other reviews the food is good quality and very reasonably priced. Although there is no camp shop they will freeze your ice packs in the pub kitchen so even better than the normal camp shop where you have to be back early to pick up packs before the shop closes!

Shrewsbury is half an hour drive away and really worth a visit 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy19705 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights last weekend as my son was at the nearby cadet training camp. So happy I found this site.

Everything about it was lovely. From the views which are breathtaking, the pub next door which served gorgeous food at extremely reasonable prices (the portions were huge), the staff who were extremely helpful and the facilities which were spotlessly clean.

In fact so nice that we are planning to go back very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josie2867 4 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site on a few occasions, it is very picturesque, beautiful views, facing the river Severn, a quiet peaceful site, the pub is friendly, serves great food, and is old and quaint. It is good value for money, and there are a whole lot of places to visit. I. E Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Ironbridge, to name but a few, if you like to branch out and explore the area, or simply relax and chill out this is perfect, we love this site, and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doglett 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site providing a warm welcome. Ongoing friendly helpful staff who always try to accommodate your requests. Lovely pub on site with friendly staff and the food is really good. The surrounding area is great for walking, cycling, kayaking etc

I score the site 8 out of 10 (10 = excellent). To score 10 the site needs to provide bigger pitches for the tourers and better lighting around the ladies toilet (when the internal lights are out it is hard to see the key lock). 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GaynorA 4 reviews from this member

 This is a site we use quite often. Just the campsite the pub and the river, but what more do you need. The site is well run by the owner, a real character! It is in a beautiful setting and it's just lovely to sit and enjoy the scenery and the river (weather permitting!). The Royal Hill pub does fantastic food at reasonable prices, but you may find it better to book, especially at weekends. They do not do food on Mondays. The site does not accept children. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Hill Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oswestry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement