Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberporth > Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park
Penbryn Sands
Sarnau
Aberporth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA44 6QY
Tel: 01239 810322
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 +20 limited camping
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 30/09/2020 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 30/09/2020 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Darrengood 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely week @ Talywerydd Caravan & Camping Park, lovely pitch, great spotless facilities, lovely friendly owners, good facilities for kids, peaceful and restful with amazing views & we were lucky enough to have great weather! The sunset views from the site are such a treat, lovely beach’s & villages nearby, Welsh Wildlife Centre, Cilgerran is a lovely place to visit & A Bay To Remember do amazing wildlife boat trips all close by! Will definitely be returning for another break! 10/10 all round! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pongo27 1 review from this member

 Having recently returned from this site I can highly recommend it. The site is very well maintained and the owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating we liked it so much we stayed an extra night. The views were stunning and uninterrupted as the pitches are around the edge of the camping fields. The facilities are very clean and tidy and the indoor camping kitchen a great feature. I will definitely be returning to this site soon.

The site is about 1. 9 miles walk from 2 beaches 1 dog friendly and 15 minutes from another. There's a farm shop at the end of the road and an army surplus store 5 minutes away. There are some good takeaways local to and tesco is 8 miles away. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairetaylor1972 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our holiday and first visit to Wales

An amazing place and site. Very clean facilities, lovely surroundings and friendly owners.

The utility room is fantastic for pot washing and making toast X

Great location and handy for all beaches and local towns etc

Have already booked for our next holiday, can't wait. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newportjones 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site in a beautiful location. Close to the Wales coastal path with the beaches of Penbryn and Tresaith less than 2 miles away.

Clean facilities in good condition, one of the shower and toilet blocks appeared to be brand new.

Goo d washing up facilities, there was a problem getting hot water from the taps in this area, but there was a kettle available so it wasn't a problem.

The site wasn't busy so the kids had plenty of space to run around.

We were in the young family field, which was very sheltered, views were better in the other fields, I think you can ask for a particular when you book directly.

The walk to the beaches is along country lanes, quite a trek if you have young children, I would imagine there are quite a few cars in the summer.

Paying for showers seems a bit outdated and a bit of a hassle.

The farm shop on the main road is great, the National trust cafe in Penbryn sells wonderful cream teas.

Mwynt is a short drive away, beautiful views, we saw dolphins in the bay.

So many places to explore, we will definitely visit the area again. We recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bathamsmild 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site six years ago and have been coming once or twice a year ever since! Sometimes just the two of us, sometimes with a gang of adults and kids - never been disappointed.

The site is spotless, quiet, friendly. The facilities are well looked after. The owners are very welcoming and ready to help with anything.

This was our first year with a touring caravan - we have previously used our tent. So have now tested the extras needed for a tourer: electric hook-up, chemical toilet disposal, etc. No problems at all.

The surrounding area is magnificent for beeches, scenery, walking and wildlife - I got some smashing photos, will try and post some.

The local pubs in Aberporth and Llangranog are great.

If you like a quiet site in a beautiful part of the Wales you won't be disappointed.

To be fair, it can be a bit noisier in the school holidays, but as we bring our 4 grandsons we can't really complain - they love it! And everyone on the site seems to make sure they go quiet by around 10pm - unlike other sites I have stopped on.

Thoroughly recommended. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mlou 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from three nights stay with another family at this campsite. Wanted to leave a review as didn't agree with last couple of reviews left. Yes the facilities are quite basic but the site owners don't advertise them as anything but. The toilets and showers were cleaned regularly, we never had to queue for a shower despite the fact that the campsite was busy, the water was hot and 50p was definitely enough for a good shower (in fact I managed to wash my hair and my two children's hair all on one 50p at one point which I really wasn't expecting!). The owners were very welcoming, regularly seen out and about the site offering tips on where to go and either cleaning, cutting grass or sorting the refuse facilities. The camping kitchen was very useful - being able to wash up in the warmth was an extra bonus and having use of a washing machine and dryer would be very useful if we had stayed longer. We were able to use our hairdryer and straighteners in the plug sockets available at a small 50p charge for 15 mins (never minded paying as we only paid £13 a night for a family of four in a large tent)though a mirror would have been very welcome here. The children loved playing football, seeing the owners dogs, watching the bats fly around in our corner of the field and riding around on their bikes. We had lots of room for our tents (perhaps a bit more than usual as some had left early due to wet weather but the pitches were definitely not small or overcrowded even in the busier areas). The hard standing pitches for tourers did look smaller though. All in all we thought the site was great for what we wanted and the area surrounding it was beautiful - Llangrannog, New Quay (so exciting to see dolphins swimming in the bay!) and Penbryn Sands all definitely worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bishti 2 reviews from this member

 The good.

Area was lovely. Great for days out, lots to do and see and the nearby farm shop was very good. Nice dog run, friendly people. The site is beautiful.

The bad

We were parked on the first plot by the toilet/shower block. When the block was busy we could smell the drains. Luckily we were out and about a lot.

We have a small caravan and no awning but still felt cramped by the amount of space allotted.

The shower floors were always mucky and we needed to wear our flip flops. 50p for 5 minutes was not enough time to shower and also felt penny pinching considering cost of camping here. There were 2 showers and campers often turned up to find them both in use. There was another toilet/shower block further down the next field but this was no better.

We paid £154. 00 for 7 nights and had to pay the amount in full before arriving, even though we had paid a deposit earlier - we have never had to do that on any other site before.

There was 1 toilet and 1 wash-hand basin for men for men and 2 for women all in a confined space. This is a large site and the facilities are inadequate.

We were also close to the bins and could see the rubbish piled up.

Would visit this lovely area again but try a different site next time - unless the facilities at Talywerydd are greatly improved. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joalan 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this beautiful part of Wales and Talywerydd campsite. This campsite has wonderful views over Cardigan Bay and the camping field is well kept and flat surrounded by a sheltering hedge if needed!

We were met by the campsite owner when we arrived and taken to our camping pitch. This was the only time he spoke to us. We did think that these are rather cramped despite the field being almost empty. While we were there two other tents were situated right next to us despite the field being empty! We thought this strange! We had to put up with bbq smoke right into our tent and very noisy sleepers. All could have been avoided if the pitch was a little bigger or other campers located further away.

The facilities at this site left a bit to be desired. The two showers at the main building are adequate but very cramped and there are only two toilets. The other toilets are in a rather shabby portacabin in the middle of the field. The campers kitchen is very useful but despite the picture on the website showing a table and chairs we could not use this as it was full of information literature the whole time we were there. There are many notices with warnings of what to do and not to do! Everything is coin operated so go armed with 50p and 20p pieces if you want to use anything. The washing machine is 3 pound which I though a bit expensive!

The farm shop at the top of the road is fantastic and well worth a visit. Wonderful selection of food and ready meals which could be microwaved. Wonderful beaches within easy reach and fantastic fish and chips at Aberporth. New Quay is lovely but at this time of year very busy and parking is a nightmare but if you are willing to walk a way to get to the beach etc. You will be rewarded with lovely views!

All in all a very pleasant site because of the views but not one we would return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rossij 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, located 500yds off the main road, lane single track some off but is ok. Very friendly and helpful owners, who are renovating the facilities, there are 2 blocks, the one by reception had a kitchen area with washing m/c tumble dryer and ironing, dish washing and eating area, with two toilets with basins and 2 separate shower rooms. Did not use the other block. The site itself is very well kept five fields with some great views. Great position for exploring the coast. There is a farm shop on the junction to the main road that provides fresh produce and on a tuesday & wednesday evenings has a take away Mexican that provided some very tasty food.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Legofpork 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site from the excellent reviews, it was a very wise choice! A superb site, plenty of grass pitches (which we prefer) electricity points and water to our pitches. The site was beautifully kept, well mown and super clean with a great dog exercise area (super dog-friendly owners). The owners were very friendly and welcoming and were always happy and smiling, a nice change from some sites we've visited! The toilets and showers, whilst not brand new, are extremely clean and there's always plenty of hot water when we used them. The 'campers kitchen' was a welcome feature. 2 sinks for dish washing, a microwave and very useful freezer, washer and tumble dryer, top marks. But, by far the best feature of this site are the spectacular views of the bay and surrounding countryside, a real tonic when retiring for the night or when rising for a good breakfast.

The local beaches are beautiful and clean, the farm shop at the end of the lane is super, and there's a Tesco a few miles down the road at Cardigan for a larger range of goods.

We shall certainly be returning to this wonderful site, highly recommended! 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Talywerydd Touring Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberporth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements