Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Yaxham Waters Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Dereham > Yaxham Waters Holiday Park > Reviews

Yaxham Waters Holiday Park
Dereham Road
Yaxham
Dereham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR19 1RF
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Lodges only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Webmaster 1 review from this member

 Please note that as of 2016 this site no longer offers any touring or camping facilities.

Yaxham Waters Holiday Park now only offers lodge holidays - they have a selection of wooden lodges for sale, and for holiday rentals. There are no longer pitches for tents, motorhomes or caravans.  


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane&Lynn 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here. Very nice well kept site. Ideal for families with children under 5. The play area outside the cafe was ideal. Nice smart toilet block, the shower was the annoying push button type but the main problem with that is that you can not regulate the temperature which was fine for me but too hot for young children.

The site is handy for Dereham with a quaint cinema and a large Tescos. I thought the £20 per night fee reasonable. The cafe staff were very friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dwsevans 1 review from this member

 We spent 4 nights here with our 3 and 5 year old children along with two other families.

We had an electric hook up which was on a large marked out pitch.

The toilet blocks were clean and fairly new. My only complaint is it is hard to get showered and dried in the cubicles, but this is a minor issue.

The cafe was very good. After packing up on our last day we all had a full English to set us on our way home. This cost approximately £5 each.

The play area was perfect for our aged kids. Slightly older kids may get a bit bored of it though.

The fishing lake was lovely and we were able to easily catch several fish.

Local to here is Dinosaur adventure. Again this was perfect for our children. Make sure to cash in your TESCO vouchers if you go.

Overall this was a great campsite I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P-T Family 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a relaxing, chilled weekend and definitely plan to return. The site was immaculate and has a very well stocked shop and cafe. Although we didn't use the cafe it was busy at all times with people staying on the site and local residents and came highly recommended. We paid £20 per night for a large pitch (they all seemed of a similar size and we comfortably fit our bell tent, kitchen tent and car with room to spare). Price included EHU and showers and there were no additional charges for awnings/kitchen tents, visitors, etc. Fire pits can be hired for £15 (including wood, etc) but we took our own. The site is lovely for walks and there is a small farm and a great play area for younger children. The lakes are well stocked and our boys soon caught their first fish (rods can also be hired). The toilet and shower block are new and were always clean. The only gripe I have is the push button showers last about 20 seconds per push - but that is my only gripe. Jack the Warden was constantly on the go and nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to returning again! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SecondLife 13 reviews from this member

 The positives about this site are that the shop and café have a good range and are reasonably priced. The shower block is newish however there are only 2 showers and your clean clothes get wet while you are showering. There is a very good bus service to Norwich and from there to the coast which meant we could leave our motorhome on site. There is only one hard standing site other than that everyone is on grass. I found the price to be slightly expensive considering I went on to stay on a very similar site for half the cost. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dolly-Daydream 1 review from this member

 Yaxham Waters is a Nice, small-sized site with good facilities.

The toilet/shower block was always clean and tidy, the only negative that I can say is the shower could possibly do with a plastic chair or stool to aid drying/dressing.

There is a good play area and sandpit for children and also animals and chickens to visit.

There is a lake for fishing fans too although I didn't see anyone use this so I'm not sure how well stocked it is.

The farm shop and cafe both had a good selection of reasonably priced fare, the staff in the cafe were polite & friendly.

The price was excellent, £20 a night which includes EHU if needed, a large pitch and no extra charge for children unlike some sites.

We all had a lovely stay and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fisherwidow 10 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Yaxham Waters. In our opinion the site is mainly marketing to seasonal tourers and holiday lodges, we thought the camping area was a bit of an afterthought. Having said that the cafe and shop (from which you can order newspapers) at the entrance to the park are very good. There is also a little animal zoo for the children along with a very good playground for them (although you cannot see them from where the caravans are sited).

The buses to Norwich and Dereham are just up the road(hourly each direction, and a further 15 minute walk takes you to the Mid Norfolk Railway. We took the train to Wymondham on the Sunday and a very pleasant journey it was too. Incidentally a wonderful pub did superb food in Wymondham - the Green Dragon. We find this kind of facility very useful because once on site we leave the (large) motorhome and rely on buses, trains, etc. Our only real gripes were about the camping field and the showers.

The field was just that and although pitches were marked out they were very close and personally we would have liked to see some sort of barrier (i. E. Hedges etc) between sections. Even this time of year when we were the only campers on site we found people walking right past our door and windows (presumably from the lodges which appeared to be well occupied). Electric was good at 16amp.

The showers were new and very good except that at the time we were there the water was a problem and not at all hot. However we used the disabled facility which strangely enough had very good hot water. The only other problem with the showers was that there was only a hook behind the door. No little shelf for your bits and bobs or a little pop-up seat to be able to seat on or prop feet on to dry them! The one hook was not sufficient for clothes and towels. Also the whole shower got wet (yes, I did suffer cold water one day!)and there was no dry area to stand in to dress. However a good time was had by all! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: The CDs 5 reviews from this member

 Just stayed in one of the yurts for the weekend, it was great. Normally we camp but knowing we were going to arrive late on Friday night wanted an easy option to get the children into bed. With the yurt you just need sleeping bags and towels - no pitching! Met by the owner who showed us around It was amazing. As it got properly dark all the fairy lights came on it was really nice. Games for the kids bikes on site it was brilliant! Hammocks, chairs, a fire pit, pigs, chickens the kids loved it. There is a wood burner (and CO detector) inside which took the chill out of the air but it didn't need more than that. The cafe on-site does great breakfasts and if needed there is a tesco's extra 5 minutes drive away. Facilities are clean and functional. I am happy to recommend staying here. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Alec4 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend in a bell tent. Upon arrival we were meet by the owner who was a very polite person, he showed us around all the units on his site and told us some background information about the yurts, tipis and bell tents. One of the yurts is the only one in the country as it has reed around the outside, which is done in Mongolia during the hot months to keep it cooler,

Each unit has everything you need. All you need to bring with you are pillows and duvet and towels.

The owner has also provided some games for children to play with.

It is a quiet site with a well stocked shop and cafe and clean shower block and a well stocked fishing lake,

I will definitely be returning there next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pat60 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 7 glorious days at yaxham. Although we've been before we had friends and family pop up (who all loved it and are coming back in September with us).

Toilets and showers are nice and clean, shop is pretty well stocked, cafe is reasonably priced with good food and service, staff are friendly and helpful, fishing is great as you always manage to catch something.

Site tends to be nice and quiet and if your a lover of steam trains mid Norfolk railway runs along the back of the site. Access to west/east Norfolk coastline is 30/40 minutes drive. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Yaxham Waters Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Yaxham Waters Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Yaxham Waters Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dereham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement