Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Grainetiere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > La Flotte En Re > Camping La Grainetiere Reviews

Camping La Grainetiere
Route De Saint Martin
La Flotte En Re
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17630
Tel: 00 33 5 46 09 68 86
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 141
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 We chose this site from the ACSI book as it appeared to be fairly central on the island. We were made very welcome by 'Monsieur', probably the owner, checked in very efficiently, and allocated a pitch. He appeared to allocate the pitches depending on your unit. Ours was long and thin, amongst other small campers and tents. The pitches were all sand, covered with fine shingle, no grass. Nothing dividing the pitches apart from the odd bush at the back, so little privacy. Our neighbours on one side were noisy late at night for the first 2 nights, but when they left, the next people were quiet.

The campsite has been well described elsewhere, we were very impressed by the high standards. The sanitary block was excellent, high quality fittings and plenty of them, very clean, all unisex. Lovely pool with a changing/shower area adjacent.

We didn't find the road too bad, there is a dedicated crossing just outside the campsite for access to la Flotte. The cycle route to pick up the cycle path to the opposite side of the island wasn't great, but mercifully short. Most cycle routes were signposted, and Monsieur had given me a map.

We loved our stay here, and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beccapj 4 reviews from this member

 A great 10 days spent at this lovely campsite. We cycled everywhere as the site is so central on the island. Pitches vary in size but we were fortunate with ours. Toilet, shower and washing facilities were immaculate and I didn't queue for shower once even though site was booked out.

Our children loved the all weather pool with its retractable roof. Restaurant was very good and staff friendly. Downside is the very very busy road outside which needs to be crossed to get to la Flotte it's noisy 24hours. Also neighbouring sites entertainment very loud until late into the night. On the whole we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woody1000 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 weeks at this fantastic site. We received an excellent welcome to this very well run site where all that it had to offer was explained in detail (in English) by Isabelle, in fact it was difficult to use my (admittedly) limited French during the stay because the vast majority of staff were keen to use their English to keep the queues for ice cream, food and drink to a minimum!

The pitches were close together but there was enough room to pitch our tent width ways and have room at the front of it for the car etc. Ours was opposite the main sanitation block that contained, showers, laundry sinks and washing machines, washing up sinks and two others to wash shellfish. They were kept clean and we never waited for anything other than washing machines and there was always hot water.

The heated swimming pool also had a retractable cover which was a bonus on the couple of overcast days. The pool area was large enough with plenty of beds etc on all but a couple of occasions.

The cafe/restaurant and take away provided an excellent service with good food and some special events where booking ahead was advisable.

The staff worked hard to ensure satisfaction in particular Morgane whose aplomb at handling a busy session whilst fielding other issues in the early evening was outstanding!

The only downside was the proximity to a very busy road although this did not detract from our holiday experience.

The Il de Re itself is a wonderful island with several lovely villages that can all be reached by the cycle routes that criss cross the island, if your particular thing is shellfish you'll be extremely well served! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grahama 4 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had long planned to visit the Ile de Re but could not find quite what we wanted in respect of campsites but on recommendation from relatives chose La Grainetiere.

It is certainly well located in the centre of the island within walking distance to La Flotte, but there is no pedestrian crossing on the main road outside the campsite. The road can be busy at times. The road noise was minimal at night.

The site is comprised of 144 plots, of which about 95 have lodges on them. The other 50 plots cater for various types of camping outfits be they tents, motor homes or caravans. The issue we found was that not all the plots can accept ALL types of camping outfits as the shapes and sizes of the plots vary due to the fact that they are sited amongst pine trees.

When we arrived we could only find 2 plots that would accommodate our caravan and then it could only be placed length ways which, once we erected the awning, we only had inches to spare before we were in the next plot. Having said that there are no hedges to separate the plots and our neighbours were parked on the far side of their plot. All plots are sandy due to the soil conditions and the fact that grass does not prosper under pine trees. The rain, and we had our fair share, soon drained away in the light soil.

The staff were extremely helpful and Eric will go out of his way to help. We relocated our unit onto another plot for our 2nd week and they were very understanding as for the reasons why we needed to do that.

The shop is very well stocked and many items were actually cheaper than at the Supermarket in St Martin. Croissants and baguettes are cooked on site but the croissants in particular can sell out, and they are not replenished. The take away is excellent with themed nights running through the season.

Cycle hire was very popular as it is best to leave the car on site if you are able to cycle. The tracks are very good even though some of the signage is not quite accurate.

The swimming pool is very good with a sliding roof to make the best of the weather. It was very popular with children especially.

The wash block only had 6 unisex urinals, other than the few at the pool area and had 9 showers, which seemed quite low considering the number of possible campers there at any one time. However we only had to wait for the toilets once each in 2 weeks and never for the showers. The facilities were very clean.

The site is very popular with the Dutch and French, with the Irish, Belgians and Brits being fewer in numbers.

If we were to go again we would definitely reserve a specific plot assuming the site layout had not changed, but it is difficult to select a plot off plan without having been there before.

In summary it was is a very pleasant campsite and very well located. We enjoyed it's central location and direct access onto the cycle paths. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philippos 2 reviews from this member

 It's about time this site got another review. It is popular with British and Irish tourists, but not overly. It is a mix of static & emplacements. The pitches vary in size we were on 115 which was plenty big enough for a 4mx6m tent and our car.

The toilet/washing facilities are good, and their is token operated washing/drying machines. Shop is well stocked, take-away is good (and a cold Stella). Nice to have fresh bread/croissants etc in the morning. The pool is excellent, having a sliding cover so if inclement you can still swim (kiddies will love it) and it's heated ! It is buy a main road so expect some road noise, but nothing excessive.

So to the main attraction - the staff, they are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble if you have a go at your pidgeon (or fluent) French - go on try it ! It is a 20 min walk or 5 minute bike ride to La Flotte & St Martin is also close. 16 Euros was a bit steep to cross the bridge, but we only did it once - La Rochelle is a bus ride away 10 Euros40 for 2 return. A lovely spot Enjoy ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dannimac1204 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite off a main road. We were in a pitch close to the main road and you could hear it, but not to the detriment of the holiday. Pitches are marked by boulders with the numbers of the pitch but there is nothing separating you from your neighbours.

Unfortunately we did have quite nosey neighbours so there was no privacy from that - having said that I don't think high hedges would have made a difference in their case! Pitch offered shade and sun as desired and it looked like most pitches were the same. No hard standings, all grass pitches, all fairly level. Wifi on all pitches, and free too. We had a pitch with water too and I think most if not all did have that too.

Facilities were absolutely spotless and the pool was lovely and a welcome relief from the heat. The shop was okay, maybe not the best, but there is a intermarche if you turn left out of the campsite and there is a Carrefour express on your walk in to La Flotte. The campsite staff were very helpful.

The take away was brilliant. La Flotte is a 20 min walk away if like me you cannot cycle - cycling would be a fraction of that time. You have to cross a main road and there is minimal shade if going in the heat of the day so go early or late. La Flotte itself is a lovely town (make sure to go past the harbour to the beach which is stunning). The Ile de Re is beautiful although I found that almost all the towns just looked exactly the same.

We were only going to stay for 3 nights but extended to six because we liked the campsite and Ile de Re so much - that tells you something in itself. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MollyC 1 review from this member

 The site is accessed via the toll bridge from La Rochelle. The cost of this is 16. 50 euros. Free if you walk or cycle not that we needed to go off the island. When we arrived there were bikes everywhere and it all looked a bit manufactured but after a few days we got used to it.

The campsite is off a main road which unfortunately you can hear from the site. The site itself is very small and has around 80 pitches, Ours was small and crammed in although a couple of other pitches looked okay. There are no boundaries around each pitch so you get to know your neighbours (good or bad!).

However, the pool is small but clean and well maintained. The toilet block and washing up facilities are excellent and very well maintained. There is a small shop on site with fresh bread and pastries which is open early for breakfast. Also a pizza/takeaway which we only used for side orders but they were nice. Cycling is good although from the site you need to cross the main road. Some nice villages with harbours.

We enjoyed it in the end although it was not really what we were expecting. One final thing the owners are great and very friendly you see them cycling around the site checking on things as well. Safe site for kids. Nothing much in the way of entertainment in the evening which we did not mind but you could hear the next door site again good or bad depending on how you look at it.

Hope this helps you decide on your next trip. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Grainetiere child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Grainetiere have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Grainetiere?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping La Grainetiere dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near La Flotte En Re      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement