Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping As Cancelas

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Santiago De Compostela > Camping As Cancelas Reviews

Camping As Cancelas
Rua Do 25 De Xullo, 35
Santiago De Compostela
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 981 58 02 66
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 16 reviews from this member

There is an easy way into the campsite, keep on the main road keeping the As Canzelas shopping centre on your left, at the next big roundabout, first exit up the hill, and follow the signs. Sat Nav took us a fiendish route. The campsite is behind the superb shopping centre, a shoppers paradise! It is about a ½ hour walk to the cathedral, and the other sights within the lovely city. We spent half a day finding our bearings, but enabled us to enjoy the city more the next day. There is a lovely Sarela river side walk through the city, La ruta del Sarela, not clearly signposted unless you are on it. There is only one river through Santiago de Compostela but it is well worth having a gentle stroll, we started in the university quarter. The site is well laid out again pitches separated by trees. A lovely site, used by pilgrims and tourists alike.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gainfield 14 reviews from this member

Site is particularly handy for visiting Santiago, bus stop is a short walk and buses are fairly regular. Half the site was cordoned off (for refurb?). Not a site I would attempt to take a caravan to, a bit tight even for my 6. 3mtr motorhome. Did not sample the food on site, menu looked a bit pricey, across the road is a shopping complex with lots of food outlets. Facilities were good although not heated, it was very cold in late March. Site instructions given at check in were not very clear, but it is not a large site so soon managed to find what we needed.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DB57 6 reviews from this member

Weather very wet and windy but even though well stocked with trees no problems encountered.

Good location for visiting Santiago, walkable or regular bus service a two hundred metres away.

Shower block modern and good.

Relatively expensive - on account of the location and demand.

Only sour note was on paying the bill by card having entered PIN and being offered choice of paying in Euros or Pounds owner snatched the terminal from me and pressed the pound button - Have never experienced this elsewhere. (I don't think this makes any difference to how much he gets paid but it does worsen my exchange rate)

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roy gallafant 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights in May 2017.

On arrival the reception were very friendly & helpful. We were told to find a pitch and inform them pitch number. The ascent up to the pitches was very steep(but I never saw any vehicles having problems). Our pitch was flat, some sun, water adjacent. From the outside the toilets/showers looked a bit run down but once you went inside they were spotless and modern. There is a very good restaurant on site, you can also have bar meals. There is a bus into town and the bus stop is about 400 metres from site. We drove into the town and parked at the Cathedral car park with no problems. There is a big shopping complex 400 metres from site. Besides the cathedral it is very convenient for sightseeing in the area. There is a swimming pool on site but we didn't use it.

Really nice site would recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crwydryn 62 reviews from this member

Excellently situated for visiting Santiago de Compostella which is a reasonably comfortable walk away. The bus to the centre is 200m away and costs 1 euro. We only stayed the night but found the facilities good with shower/washing facilities modern, clean and the water hot. Electricity @ 5 euros quite high but free good wifi counters that!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site for 2 nights for a visit to the city, with our 3 teenage children. The reception was very friendly and welcoming and we were given a map and information about the bus and walk into the centre. We were told we could pitch where we wanted and found a large pitch beside water supply. On the second day we moved to a more level pitch, which was tricky to find. The pitches vary in size but there was plenty large enough available for out 8m motorhome. The toilet blocks were very good large and kept clean, good shower facilities and toilet roll in the toilets. There was a swimming pool which my children used and they said it was very good. We walked into the city centre which took about 20 minutes down hill and of course uphill return. There is a huge new shopping Mall right next to the site, which has an equally huge Carrefour Supermarket in it, very handy for provisions. The morning after the first night, I saw 2 old cars were parked on a pitch with no tent or caravan. Then I saw that they were full of Gypsies, who had come into the site at night and they then left having used the toilet facilities and water, left rubbish and presumably not paid. There was no barrier to the site which would prevent this happening. I did inform the reception of what had happened. They did not return the second night.

I would recommend this site as it is very convenient for visiting Santiago De Compostela.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonsfan 1 review from this member

As previously reported, access to the pitches was steep but not too demanding. Pitches are compact but adequate. Our main criticism is that only one toilet/shower block open although the site was quite full. Nice bar/restaurant. Swimming pool looked well kept but we didn't use it. About 15 minute walk into the old city, bit steep on the way back but fine if you're moderately fit. Bit overpriced but its the only site in Santiago. The city is lovely.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

We choose this site on the day as we got off the ferry and drove into record breaking snow, so in an effort to beat the snow we drove along the coast to here.

Sat Nav wanted to take us up a very steep road to access the site, but on phoning they helpfully gave us the proper way in which was much easier.

Site was virtually empty but it still cost 26 Euro for the 1 night.

Toilets and showers were immaculate, but they are all open aspect and really, unless you were brave too cold to use.

Site is terraced, some areas quite steep, so some pitches not accessible for motorhomes or caravans. Because the site was so quiet we parked the night on one of the access roads as I didn't want to go off the tarmac, onto damp/soft ground, as there were no hardstandings.

Almost next door is a big shopping mall with numerous restaurants and cinema. Which was perfect for a walk and something to eat and drink after a 'memorable' drive.

If you wanted to explore the town this is ideally located.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

There are three campsites in Santiago but we had been put off this one because the guidebooks say there's a steep ascent on entering the site and the pitches are small. We tried the other two sites and they were both closed, so we ended up at As Cancelas after all!

We needn't have worried as we coped well with the steep ascent and found one of the few larger pitches. However, this is a very busy site, even in early May, so things might be more difficult in high season.

The site is quite large, is steeply terraced, and has very good shower and laundry facilities. There's also a bar and restaurant, though we didn't use the latter.

There is a bus stop for the city centre a couple of hundred metres from the site, but we opted to walk into town as it's downhill, but got the bus back. Santiago is a fascinating place, full of history and interesting architecture,ranging from medieval to baroque, and thronging with pilgrims.

There is a pilgrims' mass in the Cathedral at noon every day which is well worth seeing, but for sightseeing purposes a return to the Cathedral at a quieter time is necessary!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019