Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De Falaise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Falaise > Camping Municipal De Falaise Reviews

Camping Municipal De Falaise
Rue Du Val D Ante
Falaise
Normandy   (Browse area)
14700
Tel: 0033 02 31 90 16 55
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbie204 1 review from this member

 A pleasant site tucked away close to the town centre, a handy stop over for a couple of nights to visit Caen. Nice layout with dramatic views of the castle. Ablutions aged but very clean, locked through the early hours. Staff delightful. Town picturesque but quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sssnake 37 reviews from this member

 Cheap site in a pretty enough town 40 minutes south of Ouiestreham. Flat pitches with impressive views of William the Conqueror's birthplace. The town has decent bars and places to eat, nothing impressive but good value for money.

Toilets and showers are basic but clean. No complaints.

Nothing special here, but cheap, clean and conveniently located, what is not to like? 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

 What a truly beautiful setting and a well maintained and value for money site. We arrived when reception was closed but there was a note on the door saying 'today is a good day - choose your emplacement and come and see us when we are open' Every emplacement is a decent size and has mature trees providing shade. The views of the Castle towering above the site are really spectacular - I loved it. A five minute uphill walk into Falaise for all you require bars /restaurants/ shops/boulangerie /great fishmonger. Absolutely loved this place.

Only downside - a couple of the gents loo's were a la Turque but generally facilities were shared so no problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely small site in the centre of Falaise & immediately below the impressive chateau. Pitches a bit tight for a twin axle caravan but we managed. Toilet/showers a bit dated but they were cleaned twice daily & so were always clean & tidy. A word of caution when you first use the showers/sinks especially first thing in the morning they are scalding hot. You have to run them for several minutes before they can be used, dangerous for children! There is a TV room above reception with free WiFi. The site was quiet & peaceful throughout our visit. We arrived early evening & reception was closed so we found a suitable pitch and paid the following morning. No problem. The chap on reception was very friendly and spoke enough English for us to get by. He was extremely helpful booking our dog in at a vet in the town so she could be wormed etc before our journey home to England. An excellent stopover site just off the motorway or for visiting the local area for several days. We stayed just the two nights. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helen707 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights in August. It was fairly busy but still plenty of room especially for those not wanting hook up. If it was full I think it would be a bit of a squeeze. The pitches are of a reasonable size, enough for caravan, awning and the car. Has a nice friendly feel to it, we liked the Chateau sitting up above the site, which is tucked in below it. Soon found a spot to walk the dog off the road above and enjoyed strolling around Falaise with all its history. Supermarkets and fuel on the outskirts and a vet for the dog worming and paperwork. Lovely drive around Suisse Normandie, well worth a visit. It is a bit pricey at 27 a night for 3 of us with hook up, but all the facilities are clean and well organised. Watch out for the powerful showers, the first blast can be scalding, but they cool off after a couple of goes. Wifi in the very nice lounge above reception was useful and popular in the evenings, a good supply of books and information in there too. A good site for a few days or en route stop over. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here while travelling south. Its very near the motorway and easy to find. We found the reception friendly. Toilets and showers were old but clean. The atmosphere on site was quiet and peaceful. The playground was small, so there's not much for children to do. There is however, a new water park a short drive away with indoor and outdoor pools, slides and an area to sit out, play football, etc. Ask at reception before you go as they will give you a voucher for 2 for 1 adult and free child entry.

The tennis courts are great and as another reviewer said, the manager doesn't seem to mind campers using them without booking in the evenings.

Another reviewer mentioned a bread van calling in the morning, this didn't happen while we were there, although the boulongerie was only a few minutes walk up the street.

We really liked Falaise, there are some beautiful houses and other buildings. There's a fishing lake a short stroll from the site with some very impressive mature weeping willow trees. The town makes a interesting place to wander around. We didn't visit the chateau, we'll leave that until next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 281 reviews from this member

 This Municicipal site is ok for a couple of nights, but s bit overpriced (about 17) for what is on offer we thought. It's easy enough to find but beware the sharp turn to the left at the entrance which comes up suddenly. If you need to reverse, it's on a one way street so this is easy enough to do.

The facilities are fine and there are tennis courts adjacent which can be used once the locals have finished their games.

It's not far (about 12 miles) to the area called Suisse Normandie which is very picturesque, has rocky cliffs and the river Orme running through.

The town itself is nice enough, all the usual smaller French town shops and a decent SuperU at the roundabout on the way into the town. We didn't really like the site very much though, the castle looms over it rather gloomily. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KevinMac 1 review from this member

 An excellent site which we have now been to a couple of times. Pitches are well spaced out, it is never very busy, at least in June.

Toilets are basic but clean. Free wi-fi in the tv and reading room behind reception. No bar or shop but you don't need them as the shops are so close by.

Very close to the nice town of Falaise, just a few minutes walk away. Much of it was bombed during the D-Day landings and been replaced with some rather bland buildings. You can visit the castle where William the Conqueror's family lived. They are still renovating it but it is very interesting.

For those with a dog, especially those returning to England, then the nearest vet is just out of town near to McDonalds (the original one,in town,closed in 2009). It's brand new, the vet speaks excellent English.

Just one word of warning. The gates are locked at 10.00pm each night. We had been to a bar in the town to listen to some music. Fortunately been quite fit (and slim), we managed to squeeze through some railings into the site. We would definitely recommend this site as a stop over or to spend a few days here but families with children may not find enough activities as the site is quiet and peaceful. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizex 28 reviews from this member

 A delightful little site, ideal for an overnight stop or a longer stay. The campsite is right below the battlements of the very imposing castle of Falaise and our pitch had a marvellous view of the castle in the morning sun.

This site has a very 'French' feel, there is a little library / tv room with free wifi and tennis and table tennis are available. A bread van comes every morning with fresh bread and croissants.

The town of Falaise is within walking distance (a nice walk) and there are several cafes and restaurants. We were enchanted with Falaise and found the shopkeepers very friendly.

William the Conqueror was born in the town, but the castle if of later date. It is well worth a visit. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De Falaise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De Falaise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Falaise      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4416 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement