Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Clos Castel

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Raids > Camping Le Clos Castel Reviews

Camping Le Clos Castel
Le Clos Castel
Raids
Normandy   (Browse area)
50500
Tel: 0033 02 33 17 23 61
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We called in on spec for a couple of nights. We were given a warm and friendly welcome by the owner and had our pick of pitches as no-one else currently on site.

We did find the road noise intrusive, it's a fairly main road and lorries thunder up and down all day, even into the evening and early morning it was very noticeable.

Pitches are a medium size on gravel - grass areas next to pitches are spotted all over with sand due to to mole holes. 16amp electricty on pitch, wifi only available around the other side of the house where you can sit and use.

There are two loo/shower rooms - both well kept and the showers piping hot water with good pressure. A washing up sink outside the loos but no laundry area that we saw.

There isn't a motorhome service point, and a hose wouldn't reach. There is a chem disposal and a grey water drain, again over by the loos.

The site is well place for visiting places such at St. Mere Eglish and Utah Beach. Caranten is 20 minutes away and has several supermarkets. There is also good shops at the small town 4. 5 km from the site.

For us, the site is beginning to look a bit shabby and un-loved. Dead plants in pots, the large concrete area covered in moss, the picnic bench is desperate for paint job - small things that could be improved in a day or two.

We paid €20 for 2 adults incl. Electric and showers. Its certainly well place for travel to and from the ports and open all year.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adrian06 29 reviews from this member

To endorse previous comments. Added advantage is that site is open all year, which is rare in this part of Normandy. Tidy site, gravel hardstandings a bit tight on width for access without treading on the myriad of mole hills in the fine sandy soil! Great san facs with lots of hot water etc. 4. 5 kms to nearest village, but it has everything. Newest family member, 'Jazz' the most gorgeous border collie pup made the visit perfect! Delightful owners who will help out if needed.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen Robo 6 reviews from this member

My partner and I spent a week on this quiet little site at the beginning of August. The owners were great, very welcoming with lots of advice and literature about the area including tourist spots, shopping and restaurants. They were also very knowledgeable re: the local history.

The site is tidy and the shower/toilets were immaculate with lots of hot water, the pitches only had hook ups, no water or waste. The site is on a busy main road but we didn't hear any traffic noise, the downside being that you're not within walking distance of anything, the nearest villages are about 3 miles either way. We accidentally set our van alarm off one afternoon and Steve (owner) came straight out, which was really reassuring.

The D Day beaches and museums were all within an hours drive and the nearest town Caratan was 15/20 minutes away and was very charming with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants including a lovely walk around the port.

An ideal site for visiting the area or as a stopover, we will definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bofs 61 reviews from this member

Just to endorse the other positive comments about the site, the area and especially the extremely friendly and accommodating owners. There is easy access to the site from the main road, round the back of the owners' attractive property, leading to the 6 level, well laid-out hard-standing (a real bonus for a site open all year round) pitches, with plenty of grassy areas alongside and around them. Although there was some road noise, we did not find it intrusive, either through the day or overnight. There is no playground, pool or entertainment, but for couples or families who prefer a simple, quiet, well-run and maintained site, this is ideal for either a short stopover or a longer stay to explore the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevieshutts 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights and plan to return in the future. Well managed and run by very helpful family owners, we (including our pooch) were made very welcome indeed. The site only has 6 pitches, but the field is spacious and well set up with hard standings and hook ups. The facilities are simple but clean and functional. There is also a bar facility, which is very pleasant, friendly and inexpensive - we don't usually bother with this sort of thing, but we thoroughly enjoyed a couple of drinks here. The site owners (Hazel & Steve) couldn't have done more to help us and made for an excellent few days. This site is thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnestock 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from Spain but will come back for a longer chance to explore the fascinating area. We did go to Omaha Beach and Bayeux. The site is simple but well set out with excellent facilities. The owners are charming and extremely helpful. The only downside for us was that the waste dump is set up for caravans and it was not easy to access the fresh water tap as the ground nearby was too soft. Another tap and a motorhome friendly waste dump would make this a first class site.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Lovely little site that we would agree with previous reviewers is friendly, well placed for the Normandy attractions and well kept.

Showers are piping hot and very clean, the site is kept very tidy and stored caravans are tucked away at the back away from the site. There is some road noise but fades away during the evening.

There isn't a motorhome dump and you cant fill up from the tap with a hose as its too far from the pitches, not the end of the world though as we filled up with containers of water into the tank.

Wifi wasn't available on pitches but we were kindly offered use of the guest area to log on and check email etc.

The area is well worth a visit, we could have spent weeks visiting all the attractions, which we were surprised to find all still open late in the year.

A lovely little site that we would happily visit again - the owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clazzap 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a lovely week at this beautiful site. We changed our arrangements at short notice to extend our trip by one day, and this was accommodated easily and happily by the lovely owners. The site is kept immaculate, and there is always plenty of hot water. All the other visitors on site were very friendly which made for a really pleasant stay with a relaxed atmosphere. The owners are really down to earth and nothing is too much bother. Our sons spent a lovely final night in the bar and enjoyed a game of pool in the barn. For travelling to enjoy Normandy, this site is a must. We will be recommending to our friends, and will be returning again for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazyladyuk 1 review from this member

Fantastic find, gem of a site, lovely warm welcome from Hazel and Steve. Small site like uk cl or cs site with toilets, free showers and electric. Went as a group with dogs. Will be returning. Reasonable prices. Will definitely be going back. Owner booked vet for our return journey which was big help.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamiJones 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site, with a warm welcome and excellent clean facilities, we have just returned from a two week holiday, this is the first time we have taken our dogs to France so we were worried about vets appointments but all this was arranged for us by the owner along as was our 1 night stay in Calais prior to out ferry home. Nothing at all was too much trouble for this lovely couple, very much appreciated thank you, hope to return soon

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019