Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trewince Farm Touring

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Trewince Farm Touring Reviews

Trewince Farm Touring
Trewince Farm
Portscatho
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR2 5ET
Tel: 01872 580430
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henleyfamily 2 reviews from this member

 Small, quiet, with stunning views of the peninsula. If you want to get away from it all this is a wonderful place to do it.

The pitches were generous and flat, the facilities were well maintained (and even though only a few - plenty enough for everyone even in mid-summer) and the family were very friendly and helpful. This is simple camping at its best.

We really liked all of the Roseland peninsula and particularly the nearby national trust maintained Pendower beach, totally secluded yet with its very own pop-up tea shop and facilities. Walkable from site if you were happy for a bit of a stroll, and also with good parking.

Be prepared to drive if you want to explore, or get your walking boots on as we saw loads of great footpaths - you can even walk down and catch a small foot-ferry across to St Mawes although we didn't get time to try it. And we'd recommend the King Harry chain ferry for getting across to the Falmouth peninsula. It cuts a bit off the journey and is also really good fun. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Levoh 16 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site in a lovely location on the beautiful Roseland. The approach road is quite narrow so care is very necessary. Pitches are very large so there is no feeling of overcrowding. It is a very quiet site and is very well lit at night. The only downside would be the amenity block which, although spotless and there were no problems with queuing during our stay, I think I have to say would struggle to cope during busy periods. A very pleasant stay which we hope to repeat soon. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Doinitinit 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Trewince Farm early afternoon having called the evening before to check that they had room for us. We were met by one of the sons who was very friendly and as we debated how many nights we might be staying, suggested that we pay on a daily basis which we did, but after the first 3 days, we then paid for the next three in one go. The fact that we originally planned to stay for one or two days, but ended up with six says it all really! The site is kept well, very clean and tidy with clean and adequate amenities. 2 toilets, 2 showers and 2 sinks in the ladies. A place with hot water for pot washing, and an area for recycling/rubbish, also places for waste disposal. My only small criticism is that the push button showers weren't quite hot enough for me. This is a working farm and the cows were the cleanest and prettiest I've ever seen, and the cutest calves!(Don't think I'll be eating beef again though!) Great location with a track leading down to an area with couple of benches and great views over the creek. We used this for our morning and evening dog walks. You can also walk down the road to lovely Towan Beach ( dog friendly with a great tea van serving home made cakes etc) and walk the coastal path round to St Anthony's Head or the other way to Portscatho. You can also take a path off the site down to the creek and there are then lovely walks around the creeks, through the woods and across the field to Portscathough where a lovely pint of Rattler awaits at the Pub there! Rays grocers sell everything imaginable including fresh bread and pasties after 12 noon. We were told the food at the Plume of Feathers is excellent but didn't try it ourselves. Another day out is to walk down through the woods to the little ferry from Place over to St Mawes and you then can take another ferry to Falmouth if you wish or a bus back to Portscathough and walk back from there. All in all this is a lovely site in a great location, very peaceful and scenic. If you like walking and/or have a dog, this is the place to go. We will return! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

 This site is about 1 mile from Portscatho, on the right hand side of a left hand bend. Lanes are narrow though there are passing places. Owner is friendly and walks you to your pitch, which are very big. They're on grass and for motorhomes generally flat and well drained, with electric.

Toilets are in a block with washing up area, freezer room for tent campers, washing and drying room as well.

The toilets have only 2 wc and 2 showers, could be a crush peak season. Showers are of the clear plastic closed door type. It means you have to get in the shower, while it warms up! However it warms quickly to a fixed safe temperature, which gives a healthy blast. Good duckboard outside and all very clean.

If you like walking then go out of the site, turn right, down the road to Towan beach, safe bathing. You can walk to Anthony Head also. Go out of the site, the way you came in and Portscathough has some nice establishments. You can also walk the coast path.

This is a nice site and we will certainly go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chancer1 5 reviews from this member

 Very good site, well spaced out, good toilets and showers.

Quite busy when we were there but never had to wait for toilets or showers.

Great area to visit - quiet but plenty to do and see.

We made the most of our FAL mussel card on the ferrys and bus's.

St Mawes is close, a great coastal town. We hired a boat for 1/2 day from the harbour and went as far as we could up the Fal estuary (great fun). Also a must is St Mawes bakery on the harbour run by Pat & Jane, the pasty, s are the best I have ever had (took 6+ home with me).

Also visited Trebah gardens - wonderful. They have there own beach where part of the American D Day troops embarked for Omaha beach - God bless em.

One thing I would like to see on the site is a separate ball park (it grates after 6 or more balls have hit your tent within 10 mins).

I mentioned this to the owner who said people had complained about it before but more people with children prefered it this way so they could keep an eye on the little horrors- sorry there children.

Also Wi-Fi would be a plus as the missus had Corry withdrawal symtoms (there is a Cafe next door with Wi-Fi).

Minor gripes - I hope to be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 We phoned again on spec and decided to try this site out. They had spaces and also had electric on offer so we opted for that.

The site is basically one large field on a slight gradient, so bring chocks or two pillows! They offer electric pitches around the edges and non electric around the top field. We paid 24 for the night for 2 adults, one child, one dog and electric, which we thought was quite expensive.

Facilities consisted of 2 showers and four toilets plus sinks in both the womens and mens and there was a separate washing up area with plenty of free hot water. They also offered two freezers and a washing machine and dryer.

The site is surrounded by field and fantastic walks all around St Mawes including up to Dunnet Head for some stunning views of the Mouth of the River Fal, which was filled with boats of all shapes and sizes enjoying the great weather and sea breeze.

The site is located in St Mawes and is pretty easy to get to with the ferry to take you to Falmouth not too far away in the car.

In the local village is The Royal Standard pub where we went for a meal and a drink. The price was 360 for three glasses of wine, two ciders, a lemonade, three main meals and one dessert. The food was ok, my steak was lush but the spaghetti bologonaise was a bit bland, however it was edible. The lasagne was very greasy, but again ok. Friendly locals and staff though.

The walk to the pub is about a mile along the road which is not too bad, it is mainly downhill on the way there and took us around 20 minutes.

Overall this is a very quiet site and after 11pm not a sound was heard. We may come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Singingbee 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights in mid June, it was wonderful!

The campsite is near the end of the Roseland Peninsula and the view are stunning.

The site was quiet, no more than 6 pitches were occupied at any point.

I was camping in a tent without EHU but I was given a beautiful (EHU) pitch at the end of the site that overlooked the sea. To open the tent up and see the view in the morning was sheer bliss.

The quiet, remote location of the site meant that there is no light pollution, the sunsets are a wow and at night you can see the Milky Way.

Plenty of wildlife too.

The dark isn't so absolute - there are lights at the emergency points and there are lights on the toilet block to guide you for those 3 am visits!

The facilities are great - lots of bins (and recycling), freezers, washing machine (didn't use), washing up station and plentiful loos and showers. They're kept very clean.

My only niggle was that there was no temperature control on the showers and the water was quite hot.

Location is perfect for walking, beaches and relaxing. I enjoyed a lovely walk to Place (nr St Anthony Head) and caught the ferry to St Mawes and Falmouth. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tommy50 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an amazing week staying at Trewince Farm. Original plans were to stay one night and move on, but found so many interesting walks in the area we made a week of it. The views from the campsite are something to behold. And the facilities are well looked after and spotless. The owners are friendly and obviously enjoy having campers stay with them. My mistake was not getting an ordnance survey map of the area to make the most of the numerous footpaths in the area. Would thoroughly recommend this to someone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle and looking for a small friendly site. A site we will most likely return to at some point. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 We wanted to explore the Roseland Peninsula as part of our latest cycle camping tour but had reservations about the campsites - they all looked very expensive and not really catering for people like us. After a long tiring day cycling up the infamous Cornish hills, we decided to check into Trewince Farm, and were so glad we did.

What a relaxed pleasant campsite! It's also beautifully kept and spotless. We didn't get to see the shop or facilities other than the shower block, but we were happy with what we saw. This is a quiet location and we got a good night's sleep.

The Roseland Peninsula is stunning and surprisingly unspoilt. Before finding the campsite, after leaving the King Harry Ferry, we visited Tolverne with the Smuggler Cottage restaurant (closed) and stunning views - definitely worth the short diversion, and the Royal Standard pub in the village of Gerrans looked inviting but we were too tired to stop.

We also spent some time on beautiful Towan beach which is only a short distance from the campsite. We would have loved to spent more time exploring this tranquil corner of Cornwall, and Trewince would have been the ideal location to do so. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 This site was recommended by friends and it didn't disappoint. The site seemed to have a chilled out Cornish hippy feel to it which was nice. The owners are very friendly and attentive, and work hard to keep the facilities immaculate. The pitch marking post I demolished was rapidly repaired (sorry)!

The Roseland peninsular is a delight and has its own character with lovely villages, beaches and excellent access to the coastal path.

If I have to make any minor criticism I would say that the amount of showers and toilets could lead to queues if the site was full - there were no problems when we were staying. Wifey says she'd have liked the showers to be hotter but don't read too much into that because she's rather strange.

Top place and we'll definitely return. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trewince Farm Touring child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trewince Farm Touring?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Trewince Farm Touring dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement