Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping De Vaudois

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Roquebrune Sur Argens > Camping De Vaudois Reviews

Camping De Vaudois
Cd7
Roquebrune Sur Argens
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83520
Tel: +33 4 94 81 37 70
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 110
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addle12 10 reviews from this member

Stayed 7 nights in July.

Pros: well run clean and tidy site with small swimming pool well located for Frejus and local towns and beaches. Made welcome. Some families here. Spacious flat sandy / dry grass pitches. Some quite shady. Good wifi. Lovely showers and unisex toilet block. 2 washing machines, never busy. Quiet and civilised. Lovely breeze from nearby countryside v welcome in mid summer. Family run. Madame will get you a snack if you want from small snack area if you order 20 min in advance but food nothing special. Can order baguettes for morning.

Cons: pool only open 10-12 and 2. 30-6. 30 so closed 12 til 2. 30 - just when we wanted to go! No shade at poolside at all. We realise we would have preferred a site with pool open all day and a etter site cafe / restaurant. If site owners could provide parasols round pool and leave it open all day and improve the snack bar it would be so much better.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spender58 2 reviews from this member

We spent two weeks here in June and would have stayed longer had the weather not delivered unbearable temperatures for our dogs! The site is clean, tidy, well organised and friendly. The camping areas are of a good size with adequate shade if you want it. The showers are clean and hot, the toilets are clean but you need your own loo paper, the washing up and clothes washing facilities are adequate. The swimming pool isn't elaborate but it is fine, there is a snack bar and your baguettes and croissants can be ordered from reception. The owners are friendly and helpful.

This isnt a site for children but it was perfect for us and we genuinely wish we could have stayed longer. There is every chance that we will return next year. The only downside was a little bit of noise from the road (D7) but it didn't worry us in the slightest.

Overall the site was excellent and very good value.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Main destination, sandwiched between 2 overnighters in each direction.

Paying full whack (No ACSI Card or other such saving scheme!)

Turn up on spec without booking, but with fingers crossed!

Stayed Sat 3rd Sept to Weds 14th Sept

Cost:

All in. Pitch inc. EHU - 2 x adults, car on pitch, taxes etc. = €183. 92. Asked for €180 for cash!

I make that €16. 36 for each of the 11 nights.

Their website’s ok, I suppose, but not exactly eyecatching, so first off, I offer a massive thanks to the two reviewers below, because without them, I’m not certain we would have gone here.

Ultimately, it proved to be “Just our kind of site”!

A Very friendly welcome. Madam was out tending the flowers in front of reception when we pulled in just after 3pm on the Saturday, so we were met with a big smile before we even had chance to get out of the car! Due to the reviews, I wasn’t surprised when she quickly called for son Phillipe, so we could converse in English!

We were invited to stroll around and take our pick of the available pitches. Back right was almost full. All the rear row (larger pitches) were taken. About 3 of the second row (which were shorter pitches) were vacant. All were flat.

Back left was a little less occupied, with probably about 10 or so pitches available. Again the rear row were longer, but not quite as flat here. Due to our total set up length, we opted for one of these, and sat our tent on a bit of a hump, leaving enough room for our awnings in front. (Total 7. 6m plus guylines). When we were out on our bikes, we parked the car in front, so pitch length maybe 12m?) When in attendance, we parked the car on the adjacent vacant pitch, so we could be nosy!

We were on the side nearer the road, 4 pitches in (Pitch 7). Yes, you can hear the road at times, but certainly wasn’t enough to bother us in any way.

There were enough big tall trees to allow everyone a chink or two of shade, without putting the whole site under a dark and gloomy shadow. We do like the sun, but it was hotter than we are used to (mid 30s) so we had the best of both worlds on that score.

Most touring pitches were 80% bare earth, which we are far from used to, but was expecting, of course, coming this far south for the first time.

From the first minute, we could tell we’d picked the right site. Lovely atmosphere. Quiet and respectful, relaxed, but not stuffy or stand-off-ish! Plenty of smiles and “Bonjours” as we settled in, and throughout the whole stay. No sign of kids at this time of year, so very much an adult only feel, even though it isn’t. A multitude of nationalities were evident. The Dutch were just about in the majority, but a vast array of reg plates nicely spread out! One caravan had a hitch cover emblazoned with the name of the nearest caravan dealer to our home. About 3 miles away! Small world, eh! LOL!

A few came and went, for a night here, or a couple of nights there, but a good number were there when we arrived. And still there when we left! I guess it’s not the sort of site you want to rush away from!

There are a good number of statics/chalets on site, many of which seemed to be residential. They had their little gardens and terraces/decking etc. All different, all quaint, all tastefully colourful, and all well tended. Didn’t notice 2 identical statics. We liked that! The site as a whole definitely had character.

The loo block was unisex. Showers, wash cubicles, WC’s and a row of open wash basins. All spotless at all times. No loo seats or paper, as expected. There was soap though. Just the one bottle by the open basins, outside the WCs. Hot water was from 7am to 10pm, from memory. Never a hint of a queue, of course.

The pool and surrounding stone tiled terrace/lounging area was equally spotless. Loungers a-plenty. 10am to 6pm, I believe. Nothing special or exciting. Just a basic rectangular pool in the sun, in full view of the main entrance/reception, but it served its purpose to perfection, so no complaints here.

There was wifi in the communal areas/around reception, and a few nice looking comfy seats to go with it. Didn’t use it, so can’t comment on its reliability.

There were signs up near reception hinting at various snacks each day, and an open plan style covered snack bar area, so all still up and running. It was usually madam that was hovering closely by, if you needed anything. We did partake in the odd ice-cream, and there are a few leaflets/maps etc too. We didn’t take advantage of the daily bread deliveries, but they are available for those that prefer.

Cycle paths in both directions straight from site, which we took advantage of almost on a daily basis. Whilst out and about, the whole area was busier than we are used to, be that pedestrians, cyclists or traffic, but I guess that’s the nature of the cote d’azur. Not sure we’d have enjoyed the area as much in August, but not too overpowering in September, as hoped.

As alluded to in previous reviews, the whole site was always spotless. The foliage and plants always being tended to, all in full bloom, and for us at least, the atmosphere throughout the site, morning, noon, and night, was nothing short of perfect. For us to be camped on a hump. On bare earth. It had to make up for that somehow. And it most certainly did that!

I’m a little worried this review isn’t quite exciting enough, but then I guess we weren’t looking for excitement in the true sense. We were looking for relaxation. A chill out site, with neighbours and surroundings to suit, and for that reason, I’ll be rating accordingly!

. And if I ever bump into either of the previous reviewers, the first drink. Or three. Are on me! I owe you!

Cheers!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

Following in the footsteps of some well known members of UKCS who have submitted glowing reviews, we visited here expecting great things. I'm really sorry to report that, although a nice, friendly site in a location convenient for the coast, it wasn't really our take on a long-stay site. We stayed for just three nights and then moved on.

First, very few of the pitches are level and they are all, at the end of a long, hot summer, bone dry. This meant that, during the thunderstorm on our second night, our pitch flooded, causing our SIG to float like a waterbed because of the pitch undulations. With the torrential rain came the mud splattering up on our canvas. I realise no site can guarantee good weather but, un-level pitches do create a problem when the rains do come (and boy, did the rain come down while we were there!).

This is a good, basic site, with a small pool and just x 10 sun loungers. I realise that most campers will venture out from the site and head for the beaches but, with just 5 people in the pool, it looked full!

There are lots of privately-owned statics on site, all nicely kept. The site is basically split into two halves, the side nearest the road having larger pitches but with some road noise. Some of the pitches have half-hearted hedge boundaries, some not.

The thing I wasn't personally too keen on was the barbed wire on top of the tall boundary fence. I realise this is attributable to site security but, to me, it felt a bit like Colditz, rather than promoting a holiday vibe.

The sanitary block, finished in a nice shade of 1950's turquoise (I don't mind that at all, am just being flippant!) was fine, and clean. No loo roll supplied but then, the rate for staying here means you can afford to bring your own. The thing we weren't too keen on is that the hot water for the showers is turned off at 10pm. Which isn't great if you decide to stay out until late and fancy getting freshened up before getting into bed. Especially if you've stayed out at the beach. Sand in beds, in tents, isn't nice, let's be honest.

We didn't have children with us and didn't see very many on site at all. There aren't any child facilities, so I'd say this is more a site for older people who are simply using it as a reasonably-priced base to explore the area.

We were overcharged by 10 euros when we paid the bill, but Monsieur was apologetic when we noticed it, and paid it back pronto. Genuine mistake, methinks!

Would we return? We found a nicer site in the area for not much more money, so probably not. Nothing wrong with the place, just a little too basic for my longer-stay holiday tastes.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Francais 3 reviews from this member

Firstly thanks to Stuart for mentioning this campsite in one of his posts.

This was our second visit to this campsite, the first being July 2014, we were on the campsite for 15 nights, and as Tent campers we appreciate the level pitch's, which are of a good size with easy to peg ground mostly grassy, all nicely hedged with plenty of shade.

The communal toilet block is kept spotless, and is a credit to the owners.

The snack bar is more than adequate for our needs, as we mostly do our own cooking, but it is nice to get a portion frites to go with what ever we are knocking up ourselves.

Wi-Fi only down near the snack bar, in 2014 we were given a dedicated pass code, but for 2015 the Wi-Fi provider has changed, and a generic pass code was posted at reception, but the connection was hit and miss, but usable.

For those packing a satellite Dish, our 1m Dish worked fine for Sky News and London Radio, but the full bevy of Freesat Channels, would be there some days, but not others, x-pats who live in the area are now using 1. 2m dish for Freesat and I can see why.

The Pitch's all along the South perimeter of the campsite, provide a totally clear line of sight to the satellite.

In 2014 we had the bikes, and there is a safe cycle lane, all the way down to the beach at Saint-Aygulf, no more than 3 miles at a guess.

St Tropez is just 45 mins by car, and there are always spaces at the huge car park next to the harbor, about 10€ for a days parking.

No animations whatsoever at this campsite, which makes it like heaven, the swimming pool is kept immaculate and is plenty large enough, and was a lovely experience when the day time temps were hitting +45Deg C.

All in all an outstanding campsite, and is now my favourite of all time.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

Popped in to see what had changed and ended up staying 17 days.

Madame is still rushing around from sweeping up leaves at 7. 00 am to cooking some frites at 9. 00 pm. The place is as spotless as before.

Only downside is that son Phillipe had persuaded them to use CoffeeSpot wifi, which although free is painfully slow and they had pushed up the ACSI price to 14 euros.

The permanent farmers market at the top of the road is as good and as popluar as ever, but the Cooperative Vinicole in Roquebrune is now a block of flats.

The best wine en vrac is now at La Motte

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

We arrived here, intending to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 14.

The small site is run by the family owners and has been for 30 years. There is intense pride in everything they do. The immaculate sanitaires, which Madame cleans 3 times a day, have many personal touches like smiley face shampoo holders in the showers. The water is generally hot.

The pitches vary, some near the play area are enclosed by mature hedging and others, under the pine trees are more open. All have 10amp ehu

There is a large covered area near the reception where everyone did their wifi and eat the chips that Madame's grandson would do on a Thursday evening

There is a large heated swimming pool and boules pitches.

There is no evening entertainment laid on but we all seem to congregate around the long communal table. ( boring for teenagers!). The site is secured at 10. Oo pm by a fort knox type electronic gate.

Nearby in Frejus there is a large Carrefour, about 5 kms away. Roquebrunne, , itself is about the same distance away in the opposite direction. It is very easy to cylcle into either place. There are also many fine walks on Les Petits Maures which give you views of the whole coast from Cap Antibe down to St Tropez.

For the first time in all our camping years, we bought a bunch of flowers for Madame when we left.

And by the way, it was only 12 euros a night


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4160 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019