Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping De L Ill Colmar

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Horbourg Wihr > Camping De L Ill Colmar Reviews

Camping De L Ill Colmar
Allee Du Camping
Colmar
Horbourg Wihr
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
68180
Tel: +33 03 89 41 15 94
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 29/03 To 05/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wanderer 50 reviews from this member

The site is beside a river and has easy access into Colmar by bus, bike (bike lanes most of the way) or walking (about 30mins). Colmar is well worth the visit and reception gave maps to guide us around.

Reception was very friendly and spoke English. The pitches seem to vary, ours was long and thin with very litle room for an awning, also the grass had been rough cut and just left on pitch. Next door pitch need an extra long cable for the electric point plugin.

Toilets and showers near the bar were nice and clean and modern (we did not visit the other block) but fresh water was only available from the wash-up sinks etc which we were assured to be drinkable, no separate standpipes as far as we could see except for the MH service point which is near the entrance. There is a heated swimming pool, WiFi available at the bar area but the bar was closed till July.

2 points to be warned about, if you use an ACSI discount card, that ends at the beginning of June, also when we were there, Reception closed from 11 till 2 at lunchtimes and there was a huge queue to get in by the time they reopened.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sumitra 23 reviews from this member

We found this a pleasant site and a comfortable base for seeing Colmar. The pitches are of a very average size, the facilities we found were clean and usable. The staff were pleasant and there was a pleasant small swimming pool. There is a motorhome point and if you are staying there go to reception when you are ready to use it and you get a free token. It was fine when we used it. Good bus service into Colmar and a very large supermarket about 10 mins walk away with a small bar/cafe. There is a large chemists there which sells Hills pet foods which may be of interest to people like us who has a dog who relies on this.

Overall a good base for seeing Colmar but book ahead if it is a bank holiday because it can become very busy then.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Delboyarapaho 5 reviews from this member

We found this site just OK. It is very difficult to get a good pitch as many are on a road with little or no frontage and certainly no room for a awning. Those which do have good space around them are in the open area where the tents are placed and little or no shade and quite a run for electrics if unlucky, the facilities at this site are just ok, could really do with a spruce up as they are dated. The main block is ok clean enough but could be cleaner but the mid site block was constantly flooded with water on the floor and communal. Really in need of modernisation so always use the main block no matter how at to walk. The pool is nice but can get crowded. The main thing we could not believe was that there was nowhere you could get fresh water other than manoeuvring bottles under the washing up taps, set to cold or the single motorhome service point at the exit but if you stayed several nights in a Moho you would be getting low and have to move just to fill up. This is a poor feature and I was particularly concerned that the moho service point also take the toilet waste and all you can smell when you open the door is poo and piss. How clean is the fresh water I have to ask, particularly when I open the door and the hose is dangling in the waste hole? (Don't tell the wife!) we class this site as ordinary and the staff are typically uninterested other than getting to their 2 hour lunch break. Don't arrive between 12 and 2 they are at lunch. That said the manager did help us get a good pitch (15 to 25) by the riverside are the best locations book in advance) but only after I wrote a member of staffs name down for my complaint. Always busy the site is well placed to visit colmar but having done it the once we would avoid a second time.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme Priest 1 review from this member

The site was very open plan for the tenting area down by the river and the grass was very long. The trees were rather small and did not give much shade which is quite important when you are staying in a tent. The toilet block was very clean with plenty of hot water. The site is located close to the town of Colmar and within easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 33 reviews from this member

We were very disappointed by this site. The staff were quite surly and we were directed to camp in the 'Grande Prarie' area which was a piece of rough land in the front of the site near the river that was very uneven with a few random electric points and that looked like it was subject to very frequent flooding. As storms were forecast we complained that it was unsuitable and were reluctantly reallocated a pitch on the top terrace that was flat but not very well kept or attractive. Despite claiming 3 toilet wash blocks the nearest facilities to our pitch were closed and the next nearest were in dire need of renovation. Although there were water points throughout the site none were working and the only place we could find to fill up with water/empty the chemical loo was at the motorhome service point at the other end of the site and that had to be paid for. The restaurant and bar were closed during our visit so we cannot comment on them. It would appear that the site is under new ownership and there were pre-erected tents new cabins being built. Hopefully the facilities will be improved as well. As it was we cut short our stay as we were so disappointed. Having said all that the site was very convenient for visiting the lovely Colmar by bus or bike and a large supermarket nearby.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that this site is now under new management. The previous reviews were written quite some time ago when the site was run by the local authority. It is now run by Camping Indigo and has seen many improvements and complete refurbishment, as well as completely new staff etc

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taffy8078 6 reviews from this member

Arrived here and first impressions were favourable. Lovely flower lined driveway and helpful staff on reception. They pointed out our pitch and how to get there and off we went. Unfortunately that was it, as previous reviewer pointed out the site is terrible. There are 3 toilet and shower blocks but these are in a terrible state of cleanliness and repair. What looked as a good site turned out to be a nightmare and we moved on after one night even though we had booked 2 nights. Don't get me wrong if this site was looked after it could be a lovely place.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells 27 reviews from this member

This is NOT a site we would recommend! We booked months in advance for six nights and ended up, on the third attempt, on a pitch just big enough for the caravan & awning (which we needed because the weather was dreadful, although of course that wasn't the sites fault!)

There are four shower blocks only two of which were open. The main one (and the best) is furthest away from the main site, the other one was poor to say the least (broken locks on toilet doors, light bulbs out, blocked sinks etc).

There is also a lot of road noise from the motorway, both day and night.

The restaurant looked OK but we didn't actually use it.

The area is nice with lots of interesting little towns dotted around and it was also close enough to go over to Germany & Switzerland.

The only interesting thing about this site was the stork which visited every evening!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colourdmd 2 reviews from this member

The site is currently being upgraded with 16amp power, new site lighting and modernised toilet blocks. These should be complete by the end of June.

The showers seem a common design in France with poor hanging space but plenty of hot water. Pitches are grassed and not always short grass and fairly close together. There is a small playground for under 7s but the river is one edge of the site so kids need to be watched. The on-site restaurant closes Mon/Tue evening and attracts customers from off camp and is of reasonable standard, No on-site shop but Aldi is 100m to the right of the site exit with LeClerc a gigantic supermarket 500 m away to the left.

The nearby motorway can be heard but it depends on your pitch as to how loud. Colmar is a delightful town a 30 min walk or the bus from the camp entrance.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Horbourg Wihr      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Lorraine - Alsace

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019