Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flesk Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Kerry > Flesk Caravan & Camping Reviews

Flesk Caravan & Camping
Muckross Road
Killarney
Co Kerry
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 64 663 1704
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frankm 1 review from this member

 Excellent owner and excellent site

Great for travelling the ring of Kerry and all the local areas, fantastic location

Site very tidy and clean

Near to a great number of good hotels

At the moment no pubs open so no music

Hoping for better times for next year! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 13 reviews from this member

 Visited for 3 nights as part of tour of Ireland. Great position for both town & national park with easy cycling or walking to both.

Well kept site with great views - best from top of site. Reception staff helpful & advised to choose a pitch on arrival. Clean & well maintained facilities however only 2 out of 5 showers in ladies in working order throughout our stay. 1e coin required for shower which we found typical in Ireland. Why no shelf/seat in shower cubicle to put belongings on?

Big campers kitchen available with sinks for washing up.

Booked 'Ring of Kerry' bus tour at reception with pick up at site. This transpired to be a shuttle into town & disorganised transfer to coach with queue to purchase tickets. Tour stopped at several points of interest but found these geared to coach trips & money spinning! Lunch stop was dismal with us hearded past nice seating into school dining room type seating. Food on offer was poor but no alternative available. As we left another bus load were being hearded in!

Killarney is a lovely town with a variety of places of interest. We discovered a '4th of July' parade was being held and had a great evening watching all things American rolling through the town centre. Also enjoyed traditional Irish music in a couple of bars.

Cycled in national park to Torc waterfall - worth a visit.

Would love to return to this area as we felt we only scratched the surface and would definitely stay at this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

 A great place to stay - walking distance to town, on cycle route to National Park - closest campsite to the town centre. Reception helpful and pitches well spaced with all main facilities in the centre of site. Showers by token - not always that hot but ok. Wifi weak. We booked a tour of the Ring of Kerry with pick up from the campsite taking us down into town. On reflection we could have walked and booked at the tour operator's office in town and saved some money.

Chinese take away and restaurant next door and a garage nearby for local provisions you have all options you could want. Cycle hire also available next door if you don't have your own.

Overall, would come again as there is so much you can do on foot and cycling in the area! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynus 21 reviews from this member

 Had a 4 night stay at this lovely site. Warm welcome at reception with facilities explained and advised on where we could pitch our tent. There are separate areas for tents and caravans. The facilities are beautiful. Look very new and were always constantly spotless. The showers were 1 euro but lasted for 7 minutes so plenty of time. There is a kitchen with freezer for icepacks and also a laundry room and a lounge type area.

The site is in a great location. Fantastic for cycling - there is a cycle path straight opposite the site that leads into the national park.

It is approx 20 minute walk into the centre of Killarney but with several pubs on the way also. There is a pub next door to the site where we had a drink. The food looked nice but we didn't try it. We did visit the Chinese restaurant next door to the site and this is highly recommended. The food and service there was great. The views from the site are awesome if you get the nice weather.

We had good nights sleep answers not bothered with noise from either the road or pub.

Very definitely we would re visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philjtaylor 7 reviews from this member

 I agree with the other reviewers that this is a very good site. It also seems to be the only Killarney site with very good food - next door in the hotel bar. It also has a shower room/toilet for people with disabilities. This does not seem to be as common in Ireland as in the UK and Europe. It is a busy and somewhat crowded site but has a pleasant atmosphere. We didn't go into the town but it was as close as the other sites with several alternative eating places on the way, including the Gleneagles Hotel which has a cash machine and internet points. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tocapero 1 review from this member

 I was surprised that nobody has reviewed this site yet, as it is rated a 4* by the Irish Caravan & Camping Council. We were attracted primarily by the site's location - there is a cycle path just across the road which leads into the National Park, but it's still fairly close to Killarney town.

If you want somewhere that's good for cycling with kids, it's absolutely ideal (There's also a bike hire operation adjacent if you don't bring your own).

Pricewise, the site is probably on a par with most of the better Irish sites (ie expensive compared to UK sites).

When we arrived, we found there were two tent areas: one at the front of the site, intended for backpackers and bikers, which is close to the main road, and would probably suffer from some traffic noise.

We opted for the general tent area, and pitched right at the back of the site, so traffic noise wasn't a problem, but it was a bit of a walk to the toilet block.

Motorhome owners should note that there are only a limited number of gravel sites, and we witnessed two big motorhomes park on the grass, only to get well and truly stuck after a rainy spell. (Rain? In Ireland? Who would have expected it?!)

The toilet block was excellent - ample in size, cleaned regularly and thoroughly, with plenty of hot water even during busy periods. The 1 shower token gives about 6 minutes of hot but non-adjustable water.

There is a campers kitchen & dishwashing area, complete with communal freezer. There is no shop on site, but a garage & convenience store within walking distance has basic necessities.

There is theoretically free Wifi courtesy of the adjoining hotel, but you need to sit on the bar terrace to stand a chance of getting a signal.

The hotel offers bar meals, but we didn't avail of these, so can't comment. There is also a Chinese restaurant/take away adjacent to the entrance which we did try, and found to be very good.

For eating out though, special mention has to be made of Quinlan's Fish & Chip/Seafood bar in the town centre which is truly outstanding, with a menu which includes Sea Bass, Lobster, Crab & Squid - all fresh and cooked to perfection!

Overall, we reckon that this site has more pros than cons, and we would definitely consider a return visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roadhogg 9 reviews from this member

 This was our third stay on this site & we shall stay here again this year so that has to say something about it.

Location is superb just a mile from centre of Killarney with Mucross house & national park just across the road.

Facilities are modern & very clean & although there is no designated children's play area it is a very child friendly site where they do not object to children cycling, playing football or generally enjoying themselves.

We found the staff to be helpful & friendly & although there is no restaurant on-site the pub next door does excellent bar food & the town has a huge variety of restaurants along with all the major supermarkets. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flesk Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Flesk Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Co Kerry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement