Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rye Hill Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Rye Hill Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Rye Hill Farm Certificated Site
Slaley
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE47 0AH
Tel: 01434 673259
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 plus 3 tents
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Celiamae 2 reviews from this member

Small site in field next farm house and buildings. Grass pitches were very wet when we arrived as the weather had been poor and the pitches at the lower end were quite soft. We pitched upper middle which was fine. Site is high up so we caught a lot of windy weather.

Toilets and shower were both clean and well organised. Very quiet with views across local woodland and farms. It's nicely positioned to visit Hexham, Corbridge and other Roman sites.

Beware very narrow bridge with steep approach unsuitable for caravans on road to Hexham. Do not arrive from that direction! We had an excellent walk from Corbridge to Hexham and another round Derwent reservoir from Pow Country park car park to picnic area on far side and back.

The cafe at the centre near the dam is only machine coffee with prepacked sandwiches, cakes, crisps etc. No hot food. There is a nice community run shop in Slaley where we bought local beer, yoghurt and eggs.

Also very pleasant charity run vegetarian cafe in Hexham near Abbey with delicious lunchtime food, Hextol Tans Cafe, St Mary's Chare. Recommend.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: SleepingPaul 2 reviews from this member

This is just the place to go when you want quiet, an excellent view, and neat facilities.

For everyone who wants to eat out: The Traveller's Rest just down the road serves food to die for! We've stayed there twice now and are sure to come back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Poohbabyxx 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend at this peaceful site. Lovely location and a lovely site. Toilet, washing facilities and shower on hand, which are well kept. Friendly chickens and farm dog but be careful as the dog will get into awning and eat anything lying round which didn't go well with our dogs. Good facilities for the kids including a little bowling alley built into a shed. We will be returning for weekend breaks as often as we can

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Edinburgh to london 6 reviews from this member

Really nice little site with lovely owner, thank you Elizabeth. We enjoyed the peace and location of this site. Beautiful setting with farm animals, cute friendly lambs in next door field. Lots of walking around the area and lovely views across the country from the campsite field. Really enjoyed our 2 Day stop over thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annachronie 1 review from this member

We are a group of six families that celebrated our children's 2nd birthday at Rye Hill Farm last weekend. We camped there for one night and couldn't have asked for a better location: a beautiful field sheltered by some trees with views over the surrounding countryside and hills. The farm's sheep, dogs, chickens and cat added to the charm and entertainment of our kids as did the little playground with logs, slide and tyres. The toilets and shower were clean and close to the campsite. Would definitely recommend staying there & we will try and come back!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenturner 7 reviews from this member

Just back form this site.

It was lovely and peaceful with a friendly welcome. The site was very very quiet, perhaps due to the time of year or the weather (it rained pretty much all the time)

Because of the amount of rain and the very soft field, people were asked not to take their cars onto the field. I think this is a great thing! Being in a tent you can sometimes feel a little vulnerable with cars driving around.

Just a wee note that there is now a separate toilet as well as the Toilet in the Shower room.

I was staying here whilst attending an event in Newcastle and it suited me perfectly, very handy to the A69 but far far away from the road noise

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Agree totally with previous reviews - a very peaceful and well kept CL. The camping field has all grass pitches and there 8 ehu. There is also a water tap and a chem disposal on the site.

The toilet / shower room was really clean and well kept with plenty of hot water. Lots of chickens wandering around the site, plenty of sheep too but to be fair no real noise from animals at all.

There is a pub across the field - not too far too to walk - 10 mins across the field or 15-20 down the road.

The site if 3 miles from Hexham, a lovely little market town. There are lovely shops and eateries and the buildings are beautiful. Would recommend a visit to Hexham if you are in the area.

We paid £16 for 2 adults with ehu - this is a lovely CL and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minniesmum 3 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site on a farm one mile from Slaley Village where there is a shop that sells provisions.

Friendly hosts, chickens wandering around the farm and on the grassed area.

Large pitches, unmarked; but some with electric hook-up.

Immaculate shower and toilet/sink; the only criticism would be to have these separate; as if someone is taking a shower there is no access to the toilet.

Quite a remote location; nice if you are self-sufficient and don't want to go to the pub as it isnt really walking distance.

Only 5 miles from Hexham where there is a fab Saturday market selling seafood, veg, eggs, etc.

I will def. Return as its very peaceful here. No road traffic other than other guests and the odd tractor.

There is a children's play area with ropes, trees, slide.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ML123 1 review from this member

Lovely rural site with amazing views. Very friendly hosts. One toilet shower, immaculate and very well fitted. Shower is great size and could easily provide space for family

Wash time with young children

Grass site with electric hook ups and visiting chicken.

Grass verges either side of the Tarmac single track farm lane approach which is great for walking dogs, which well behaved and leaded are welcome.

Will definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suecursonuk 2 reviews from this member

This is our third visit here, we love it! A peaceful rural site with large grassed pitches with electric hookup on a working farm. A nice walk (one and half miles) into Slaley to call into the shop or the pub. There is a pub down at the bottom of the fields too. The friendly owner also has a B&B part so you can book an evening meal and eat in the dining room if you want. Immaculate large shower and toilet/sink; but a separate loo would be a bonus. The views are amazing and its a short car journey into Hexham. There is also a Play Barn with Skittle alley and games for kids and a small open air play area. A great little site!

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019