Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Tirley > The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site Reviews

The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site
Haw Bridge
Tirley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 4HJ
Tel: 07811 535239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David reay 1 review from this member

 Stayed 2 nights on the way down to Devon. The site has just reopened with new owners and a full refurb.

All pitches have Electric, water and drainage which is great especially during these times of Covid and preferring to use our own facilities. Lovely helpful owners and well kept pitches.

The pub is currently closed getting refurbished not likely to reopen until next year but there is a pub along the river about 30 mins pleasant walk.

Some traffic noise during the day but heard nothing during the night. Central for visiting Tewksbury and Gloucester.

Well worth putting on your list. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elsiepatricia 9 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our two nights here which cost 24 with EHU. Road was slightly noisy in the morning and evening but must say didn't notice after a while and not at all at night. The toilet/shower was very clean, roomy and plenty of hot water. Pub food very tasty would recommend the seafood pie and steak pie with very tasty pie crust and proper pie not just with a lid on. As suggested before somewhere to wash up would have been handy. Sarah and the staff were lovely and very helpful and amazingly smiley. We used the site to go to the motorhome show at Malvern just 13 odd miles away. Recommended strongly 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr Patient 17 reviews from this member

 A well kept site behind a super pub sited beside the river. We walked into Tewkesbury, ninety minutes, got a bus back. Lovely town with many interesting old buildings.

The pub is excellent, great beer, good food. Twelve pounds a night gets you hookup and access to a spotless shower and toilet. The landlady is lovely and her bar staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 58 reviews from this member

 Just back from a FANTASTIC time at the Hawbridge. 12 per night all in - that's 2 adults, dog, campervan, EHU. Great value!

The site is right next to the pub and a stone's throw from the river, and there is a dog walk along the river which is really handy. Even though it looks like you should get a lot of noise from the road, we really didn't hear anything. There is only one toilet and one shower and they are in the same cubicle - I can see how this might not be enough when the site is full. They are spotless though, and the shower looked really roomy. One suggestion I would like to make is that a kitchen sink with hot water is put in somewhere, I really don't like having to cart my dirty dishes home with me.

I didn't get time to sample food in the pub. They do have quite a spacious outdoor area with play area for children. We stayed on a Sunday night so it was really quiet. Ideally placed for the M5. Definitely going to come back here one day! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Homerdog7330 2 reviews from this member

 I'll start this by mentioning that I rarely leave a bad review of anywhere and would always give someone a second chance normally However, as there are no recent reviews on here for this site I thought I'd share our experiences. Booked for 1 night (Friday) after seeing owner advertise all over Facebook. Arrived at around 4pm and pub was closed with sign saying open at 5. 30. Had we been told this when booking over the phone the day prior we wouldn't have come so early. As there was no one around we had to sit and wait.

To be honest, if I'd not booked I'd have left and gone elsewhere. From the outside the place looks extremely run down. I understand they are new owners but there is little cost but time to clear weeds, mow the grass, remove the tall weeds from the gutters or even clear the thick cobwebs from all the fences on the patio. All of the picnic tables had old, loose flaky paint.

There is only 1 toilet and shower and they are in the same room. If you are self contained and have our own toilet this wouldn't be so bad but we had to wait while a family of 5 all showered one after the other.

The main rubbish bins on the car park looked like they'd not been emptied in weeks and there was smelly rubbish all over the floor and no where to put our own rubbish.

Once they arrived and opened the pub we went in to eat. The menu was handwritten and photocopied. Whilst this in itself was not an issue at all it all added up to the overall feel of unprofessionalism.

The pate starter was fine. The baked brie wedges had been deep fried so long there was no longer any brie in them. The salad on the plate looked like it was days old and browning.

When the waitress asked if everything as OK I explained the brie wasn't good and she responded with a giggle and I am sorry. Not her fault but clearly untrained. While waiting for the main we watched another tables send food back. One lady had curry and rice. When she told them it was cold they asked if she just wanted the rice microwaved or all of it ! Although I am aware they will just microwave it, it is unprofessional to tell your customer this. The scampi main course was inedible. It was so greasy that just putting your fork in it resulted in fat squirting out everywhere. The burger had obviously been left standing while the scampi was cooked as the cheese had turned to rubber. After complaining about the starter got us nowhere we didn't even bother mentioning how bad the main was and just left the pub.

I wish the new owners all the very best but not once did either of who appeared to be the owners say so much as a hello or ask how dinner was etc etc. A smile goes a long way in making people want to come back. I wouldn't go back here for a year or so 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Efinjohn 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped here while having a little tour of glos/worc area

Must say a very pleasant stay with the camping area very clean and cut well. The play area and seated area also well

Kept with dogs welcomed on leads. The pub itself was also clean and inviting (although never had a chance to check out the food as it was a wed) had a warm welcome by the landlady

But sorry to hear she would be leaving soon to take on another pub in Cheltenham. As said toilet/shower dated but clean. On a downside a young couple turned up with a caravan and managed to spoil the whole night noise still at 0400 with a dog running loose and messing on the grass then abandoning there children in the morning to do whatever including taking off nappys in camp area. It was time to leave.  


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Samwillis 25 reviews from this member

 A great pub campsite with all the facilities for emptying and topping up fresh water. Key available from bar for use of toilet and hot shower. Shower room could do with a bit of a spruce up but otherwise no complaints. There is plenty of space on your pitch for motorhome/awning etc and it is a pleasant riverside/countryside setting. Great walks along the River Severn in both directions. Only a few miles from Tewkesbury if you need a supermarket/shops. Pub serves food every day except Wednesdays and is open lunchtimes and from 5. 30pm in the evenings and it has a great garden. Stayed 2 days but would definitely stay longer if we return to this area again. Great price for all the facilities and location. For those with kids, there is a playground in the pub garden. Free good WiFi available all over the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Taffy5 8 reviews from this member

 This is a proper camp site at the back of the pub. The site is very well kept with short grass and the pitches are fairly level, although we needed to use low ramps on our pitch. It is screened from the road but there is a bit of traffic noise in the day time. There is a nice pub garden and a playground for young children. Views of the river from the front and lots of footpaths around about. It's 5 miles from Tewkesbury and there's a bus stop opposite the pub (bus a bit infrequent in school hols, or you can walk the whole way along the river. Pub serves food every day except Wednesday, with a carvery on Sunday. We didn't see the owners at all but the young bar staff were friendly and polite. Dogs are welcome but have to be kept on leads. Chemical disposal is good. Current price with a hook-up is 11. 50 or 9 without PER PITCH with no extras for dogs, awnings etc.

The shower room/toilet was a big disappointment. The single loo is in the same room as the shower so its hard to use it in the morning, it might be tricky if you didn't have your own facilities The shower was shabby & could have been cleaner. The shower floor is covered in old tiles which have been painted over in dark red paint, but the paint is peeling off and there is some mould - so we gave it a miss. The plastic hose fixed to the drinking water pipe had some sort of red mould in it so we removed it to use it.

Overall a pleasant site but just needs a bit of TLC. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tallsmall 8 reviews from this member

 We hired a motorhome for 5 days and this was our 2nd stopover.

Firstly the price is very reasonable. Unlike some other pub stopovers this is a proper site - not just their car park.

As it was winter we parked up on the track in the middle of the small site and connected up to electric hook up. There were no other campers so we had the site to ourselves.

I paid in the pub and observed a warm welcoming atmosphere, being a Sunday evening it was the only night that food was not being served, this was ok as we had plans to cook in the motorhome. However on another night I think the food would have been worth a try and the children's menu option looked very good value.

The pub is adjacent to the river and there a public footpaths on the banks.

The views from the campsite are across open fields. On one side is the road through Tirley which meant there was some traffic noise but not enough to disturb us.

We didn't need to use the shower/toilet facilities so can't comment, we did need to fill with fresh water and there were plenty of taps for this. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carabee 5 reviews from this member

 The site was good, the owners very welcoming and pleasant. Food at the pub was excellent and very cheap, Sunday Carvery the best.

Good area for touring, and brilliant walks along the River Severn. The only minus, the toilet facilities which are sparse(only one shower/wc) and a bit run down. That said the price reflects this and we would happily go back. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Haw Bridge Inn Certificated Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tirley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement