Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Juniper Hill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart > Juniper Hill Caravan Park Reviews

Juniper Hill Caravan Park
70 Ballyreagh Road
Portstewart
County Londonderry   (Browse area)
BT55 7PT
Tel: 028 7083 2023
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Slaght 1 review from this member

 Washing facilities were so clean. So glad to see soap dispensers now installed.

Shower, toilet, sinks were immaculate.

Very impressive.

Fantastic too, when have a large family that showers are 20 pence! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julieh 1 review from this member

 Totally love this site had 2 visits over the last 2 months.

Staff very friendly an I well kept site.

Toilets and showers very clean. I will be going back again. Really pleased with this site.

Beautiful views of the beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steph1945 6 reviews from this member

 Large site, grass pitches, lots of space, lovely views of sea and sunsets, windy.

Helpful Receptionist, a bit expensive at 25 in May, and 20p for a shower, but all very well kept and clean.

Road could be noisy at busy times. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sama 7 reviews from this member

 Had our first visit to Juniper Hill this year and can see the results of the work done over the winter - toilets have been given a face lift (re-painted) and some of the pitches near the toilets have been levelled.

Will be back as the views and vicinity to Portrush/ Portstewart make our stays so enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jwd80 2 reviews from this member

 This site is one of our favorites, and personally, my year is incomplete without going here at least once per year. Let me explain why! On first glance the pitches on the hill appear slanted, therefore many of them require the assistance of bricks for the corner steadies; which staff kindly provide beside the electric. Depending on were you book, some of them are reasonably flat. The slope might seem like a problem to some campers, but looking at this issue more closely, one discovers that the GLORIOUS VIEW of the sea crashing against the rocks, the boats coming and going, the lights of Portrush, or the beautiful sunsets with views of Islay, would all probably not be visible if all the pitches were 'flat'. Although many sites have superior pitches with no leveling required, there is something totally satisfying to the accomplished camper who can make some adaptions to the slightly imperfect conditions, then to sprawl on the front seats, with the feet up, staring at such a gorgeous sight, which I always loathe to leave when my time is up. Hence the reasons this park can be popular at times, especially for the front row pitches. Even if all the front row pitches are taken, if you book along the back fence you can usually still see the view above the caravans due to the slope.

Maintenance is reasonably good with the grass well kept, the toilet blocks are slightly dated but clean and well maintained. I really miss the shop, and hope this will be rectified some time in future. The kids park is adequate for amusing a child, and the grassy area is extensive for youngsters playing football. Site wardens are helpful and pleasant. TT racing?, you might fancy a grand stand view from your caravan on the front row (if you are lucky to get one). Juniper Hill is only 2 miles from Portrush and its amusememts, walks, watersports and great beaches. Overall a great park for the Touring Caravan. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shelley321 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed at Juniper Hill touring site last week, booked in for 4 nights but left one night early.

There have been some changes recently. There now are 2 site wardens in place of Eric Evans who had been a Very efficient warden there for years. They no longer require 10 deposit on arrival for the barrier swipe card.

The council have made each pitch fully serviced with water and electric since 2015. Last week because of the rain our pitch was water logged. We required approx 5 metres of waste hose to take the water from the waste outlets to the drain! The site is hilly and some pitches still require blocks under the corner steadies.

The shower/toilet block was cleaned in the morning by a young male. I saw him around 8. 30am. He mopped with a very wet mop and didn't dry them afterwards. The facilities weren't cleaned to my satisfaction.

The best thing about this site is the brilliant view out to the Atlantic Ocean but it is usually windy when we stay here. The site is exactly one and a half miles from both Portrush and Portstewart it is a lovely walk from the site into both.

Unfortunately there is no longer a shop on site and no caravan spares available.

The children's playpark has been repainted this year and good for young children but a magnet for teenagers late at night. There is CCTV cameras covering the site. Wifi only works up to 150 metres from the office. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LIMC 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location with great views over the Atlantic Ocean. The site warden is extremely friendly and helpful, taking great pride in his job.

The site has been recently upgraded and the facilities are good. At the time of our visit the grass was a bit mucky, but I'm sure this will be fixed out off season.

Shower facilities are good and are cleaned twice every day. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sama 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for the first time. We were given a warm and informative welcome by the warden when we arrived who also gave clear instructions on how to find our pitch. The site is well led out although some pitches are better than others. Whilst all are fully serviced, some are on a slight slope which means grey waste cannot be connected directly to the drain as it is above and behind the caravan. The site didn't feel overcrowded, is within walking distance of Portstewart/Portrush, quiet at night and has great views over the coast. Toilets were clean and plenty of hot water for showering (cost 20p).

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swiftowner 15 reviews from this member

 Been quite a few times to this site. Very friendly staff in the office. Great views from all pitches up on the hill. Online booking allows you to pick your own pitch. Toilet block is large and copes well at busy times, cleaned regularly. Great play park for the kids. Lots of statics on site, but tourers set at top of hill on their own. Will definitely be returning this season. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family of 5 campers 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite is well situated between Portstewart and Portrush. It is very close to Portstewart although we cycled to Portrush from the campsite quite easily with our youngest who is only 6 years old. There is an underground tunnel which takes you to the opposite side of the road from the campsite which is good as the road is very busy. You have to pay a 10 refundable fee on entering the campsite for a key card for the main gate. This will be refunded upon safe return of the key card when you leave,

We had a tent pitch beside the wall close to the main road and children's play area. This site is on a slight hill although we had no problems pitching our tent or using a camping table on it. The site is very windy although we were not too bad as we had two wind shields with us anyway. The children's play area near the tent was handy during the day as you could keep a close eye on the children whilst cooking the meals. The down side of the children's play area was the noise from it at night time. It was very noisy due to children still playing in it well after 11. 30pm right up to 12am and on one occasion my husband had to speak to them due to them messing around and screaming directly outside our tent. The children found it very difficult to get to sleep as a result of this! The first two nights we stayed nobody went to speak to the children in the play area but on our third day, after very little sleep, we asked the night warden to speak to the children playing in it after 11pm and to ask them to leave to enable the children to get a better nights sleep. The night warden did do this at 11. 15pm exactly and this helped a lot and everyone got a better nights sleep, The night warden is there to keep the children away from the play after 11pm and to keep an eye on the whole site using cameras. He did however stipulate that it is very difficult for him to enforce the rule that the children/teenagers do not use the play area after 11pm as they run away when they see him through the tunnel, which takes you to the opposite side of the road, beside the play area and then come back again when he is not there.

The toilets and shower block is very clean although you have to pay 20p for a 5 minute warm shower which we didn't mind as they are very clean. The toilet block is closed for an hour in the morning and night time to get cleaned. I did find it disappointing that there are no plugs in the toilet block to use a hair dryer to dry the children's hair if it got wet or you washed it in the shower. However, there is a plug in the games room situated beside the front gate if you want to use a hair dryer. There is a small kitchen area also which is also very clean with hot water to wash your dishes.

At the front entrance there is a small shop along with a games room. The games room has a table tennis table, you need to bring your own bats and balls, and money operated pool tables. The cars driving through the site do travel very slowly and carefully which is good if your children are playing or riding on their bikes etc.

Overall, we found the facilities very good although we definitely wouldn't stay there again due to the high noise level at night time. My husband and kids didn't get much sleep and everyone had an early night when we arrived home which is unprecedented! Please note our rating would have been ten out of ten if there hadn't been the excessive noise problem from the play area at night time. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Juniper Hill Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Juniper Hill Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Juniper Hill Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Portstewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in County Londonderry

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement