Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Juniper Hill Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Juniper Hill Caravan Park
70 Ballyreagh Road
Portstewart
Londonderry
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT55 7PT
Tel: 028 7083 2023
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sama 6 reviews from this member

Had our first visit to Juniper Hill this year and can see the results of the work done over the winter - toilets have been given a face lift (re-painted) and some of the pitches near the toilets have been levelled.

Will be back as the views and vicinity to Portrush/ Portstewart make our stays so enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jwd80 1 review from this member

This site is one of our favorites, and personally, my year is incomplete without going here at least once per year. Let me explain why! On first glance the pitches on the hill appear slanted, therefore many of them require the assistance of bricks for the corner steadies; which staff kindly provide beside the electric. Depending on were you book, some of them are reasonably flat. The slope might seem like a problem to some campers, but looking at this issue more closely, one discovers that the GLORIOUS VIEW of the sea crashing against the rocks, the boats coming and going, the lights of Portrush, or the beautiful sunsets with views of Islay, would all probably not be visible if all the pitches were 'flat'. Although many sites have superior pitches with no leveling required, there is something totally satisfying to the accomplished camper who can make some adaptions to the slightly imperfect conditions, then to sprawl on the front seats, with the feet up, staring at such a gorgeous sight, which I always loathe to leave when my time is up. Hence the reasons this park can be popular at times, especially for the front row pitches. Even if all the front row pitches are taken, if you book along the back fence you can usually still see the view above the caravans due to the slope.

Maintenance is reasonably good with the grass well kept, the toilet blocks are slightly dated but clean and well maintained. I really miss the shop, and hope this will be rectified some time in future. The kids park is adequate for amusing a child, and the grassy area is extensive for youngsters playing football. Site wardens are helpful and pleasant. TT racing?, you might fancy a grand stand view from your caravan on the front row (if you are lucky to get one). Juniper Hill is only 2 miles from Portrush and its amusememts, walks, watersports and great beaches. Overall a great park for the Touring Caravan.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shelley321 1 review from this member

My husband and I stayed at Juniper Hill touring site last week, booked in for 4 nights but left one night early.

There have been some changes recently. There now are 2 site wardens in place of Eric Evans who had been a Very efficient warden there for years. They no longer require 10 deposit on arrival for the barrier swipe card.

The council have made each pitch fully serviced with water and electric since 2015. Last week because of the rain our pitch was water logged. We required approx 5 metres of waste hose to take the water from the waste outlets to the drain! The site is hilly and some pitches still require blocks under the corner steadies.

The shower/toilet block was cleaned in the morning by a young male. I saw him around 8. 30am. He mopped with a very wet mop and didn't dry them afterwards. The facilities weren't cleaned to my satisfaction.

The best thing about this site is the brilliant view out to the Atlantic Ocean but it is usually windy when we stay here. The site is exactly one and a half miles from both Portrush and Portstewart it is a lovely walk from the site into both.

Unfortunately there is no longer a shop on site and no caravan spares available.

The children's playpark has been repainted this year and good for young children but a magnet for teenagers late at night. There is CCTV cameras covering the site. Wifi only works up to 150 metres from the office.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LIMC 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic location with great views over the Atlantic Ocean. The site warden is extremely friendly and helpful, taking great pride in his job.

The site has been recently upgraded and the facilities are good. At the time of our visit the grass was a bit mucky, but I'm sure this will be fixed out off season.

Shower facilities are good and are cleaned twice every day.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sama 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time. We were given a warm and informative welcome by the warden when we arrived who also gave clear instructions on how to find our pitch. The site is well led out although some pitches are better than others. Whilst all are fully serviced, some are on a slight slope which means grey waste cannot be connected directly to the drain as it is above and behind the caravan. The site didn't feel overcrowded, is within walking distance of Portstewart/Portrush, quiet at night and has great views over the coast. Toilets were clean and plenty of hot water for showering (cost 20p).

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swiftowner 13 reviews from this member

Been quite a few times to this site. Very friendly staff in the office. Great views from all pitches up on the hill. Online booking allows you to pick your own pitch. Toilet block is large and copes well at busy times, cleaned regularly. Great play park for the kids. Lots of statics on site, but tourers set at top of hill on their own. Will definitely be returning this season.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family of 5 campers 2 reviews from this member

The campsite is well situated between Portstewart and Portrush. It is very close to Portstewart although we cycled to Portrush from the campsite quite easily with our youngest who is only 6 years old. There is an underground tunnel which takes you to the opposite side of the road from the campsite which is good as the road is very busy. You have to pay a 10 refundable fee on entering the campsite for a key card for the main gate. This will be refunded upon safe return of the key card when you leave,

We had a tent pitch beside the wall close to the main road and children's play area. This site is on a slight hill although we had no problems pitching our tent or using a camping table on it. The site is very windy although we were not too bad as we had two wind shields with us anyway. The children's play area near the tent was handy during the day as you could keep a close eye on the children whilst cooking the meals. The down side of the children's play area was the noise from it at night time. It was very noisy due to children still playing in it well after 11. 30pm right up to 12am and on one occasion my husband had to speak to them due to them messing around and screaming directly outside our tent. The children found it very difficult to get to sleep as a result of this! The first two nights we stayed nobody went to speak to the children in the play area but on our third day, after very little sleep, we asked the night warden to speak to the children playing in it after 11pm and to ask them to leave to enable the children to get a better nights sleep. The night warden did do this at 11. 15pm exactly and this helped a lot and everyone got a better nights sleep, The night warden is there to keep the children away from the play after 11pm and to keep an eye on the whole site using cameras. He did however stipulate that it is very difficult for him to enforce the rule that the children/teenagers do not use the play area after 11pm as they run away when they see him through the tunnel, which takes you to the opposite side of the road, beside the play area and then come back again when he is not there.

The toilets and shower block is very clean although you have to pay 20p for a 5 minute warm shower which we didn't mind as they are very clean. The toilet block is closed for an hour in the morning and night time to get cleaned. I did find it disappointing that there are no plugs in the toilet block to use a hair dryer to dry the children's hair if it got wet or you washed it in the shower. However, there is a plug in the games room situated beside the front gate if you want to use a hair dryer. There is a small kitchen area also which is also very clean with hot water to wash your dishes.

At the front entrance there is a small shop along with a games room. The games room has a table tennis table, you need to bring your own bats and balls, and money operated pool tables. The cars driving through the site do travel very slowly and carefully which is good if your children are playing or riding on their bikes etc.

Overall, we found the facilities very good although we definitely wouldn't stay there again due to the high noise level at night time. My husband and kids didn't get much sleep and everyone had an early night when we arrived home which is unprecedented! Please note our rating would have been ten out of ten if there hadn't been the excessive noise problem from the play area at night time.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wee Tinks 2 reviews from this member

Is a large and busy site with many statics but would stay in again. Aside from statics there are 80 touring pitches with electricity, 5 tent pitches without electricity. Eric the warden checked us in and out and is incredibly friendly and helpful - a credit to the site.

You pay a 10 deposit on arrival for the pass card for the barrier and get this back at check out. We were confused driving in and out (despite this actually being marked on the road) - going in and out you actually approach the barriers on the right hand side of the road. Exiting, the right hand barrier opens automatically when you approach. Use your pass on the way in in the right hand lane.

We stayed in a tourer at the far end and it was all grass pitches (the Top Field touring sites) but we had no problem with that. Luckily we arrived early on a Friday so were able to drive straight onto our pitch as the pitch behind us was empty. By evening time the entire area was chocca and we wondered how difficult it would be to reverse onto our pitch as there are vans behind you on the grass and vans in front across a single lane road. Obviously do-able as others did but would probably be difficult for inexperienced tourers like us.

There are hard stands for tourers at the gates (across from the office) known as the Paddock sites. Between this and the playpark is a tent area. Great if you have kids but I imagine it could be noisy so close to the park for those without kids looking peace and quiet.

A lot of the sites are on rather steep slopes so vans need to be levelled with breeze blocks. Luckily we were on the flat - sites T55-T64 were fine amongst others. The ones at the very far end - T34-T40 - seemed to be on the slope if I recall correctly. The owner will keep you right on this and as a far as I know provides you with blocks depending on what pitch you are on. I'm sure if you were inexperienced like us and wanted a flat pitch you could ring the site and ask.

Amenities are basic but in good order and have all you need, although hand soap at the sinks would be great and would save the bother of trying to remember to carry your own over every time the kids needed the loo! Showers warm and always available any time I went over. Cost 20p for 5 minutes which was grand. Separate sink and toilet cubicles. All fairly clean but could be cleaner and I would like to see a mop and bucket of disinfectant left like Ballyness do so you can give them a scoot over after use (but that's just me).

At the entrance to the site there is a small Mace shop for the basics and a games room. Great for teenagers to hang out (they were very well-behaved I must say) but I tried to avoid it with my 5 and 8 year olds as they just wanted to put all my money in the vending machines (Pringles, stickers and those awful plastic toy kinds you get nowadays)and the teddy bear machine. Also football table, pool and table tennis.

The playpark is fantastic! Seriously. One of the best. I prefer a smaller, quieter site but the kids are so taken with the playpark I know we'll return to Juniper Hill many times. I will try for a hard stand beside to the park next time as we were quite a bit away from the playpark at the grassed touring area (site 56). Granted, it was only a short walk but a bit of a nuisance when the kids are wanting to go back over to the park for the 117th time that day :-D

Next to the playpark is a tunnel which takes you under the busy road to a small shingle beach, rock pools and a great coastal walk (great for dogs) - it runs along next to the golf course. Some large drops down to the rocks so take care with toddlers. Some areas have steps so would not be suitable for wheelchair users. Really beautiful views.

The site is on the main road between Portrush and Portstewart but the site is fenced, safe and secure and we had no bother from traffic noise at all. Within easy walking distance to Portstewart. Walking distance to Portrush but we didn't attempt it with two wee ones with tired legs on this occasion.

Portstewart is great especially for children. On the promenade there is a fantastic sandy playpark. Beyond are amusements e. G. Bouncy castles, go-karts and water Zorbs, etc. You buy tokens for these at a booth next to the cafe - be warned it can work out quite pricey (2 for bouncy castle, 4 for Zorb) but a great way to spoil the kids.

Morelli's sit-in diner serves nice food and yummy milkshakes and ice-cream sundaes. Don't be put off by the huge queue - they take your order and get through it very quickly.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

Situated on the famous Causeway Coast, it's 1 1/2 miles to Portrush one direction and 1 1/2 miles to Portstewart the other direction. So you can easily walk to either, along the main road or along the coastal path.

It's a large site catering mostly for static units, but there are about a dozen hard-standing pitches with EHU near the entrance, and another large grassy area at the top of the hill. This tends to be the busier area.

It's a council-run site, and you can book online, but it's best to book early during the high season as it's a very popular site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Linny18 3 reviews from this member

Situated of main rd between portrush and portstewart means it handy access to both.

Tents are pitched closed to entrance and play park which is great for families with small children.

Small shop and indoor pool tables available on site, toilet and shower facilities are excellent you pay 20p for 5 min shower.

There is a tunnel under the road for easy access to cliff walk which is beautiful.

Only drawbacks we faced were being so close to sea front made it very gusty while erecting tent so we had to move fast and also to drive car onto green beside tent. Had to go up high kerbs as there was not enough proper ramps (some people had parked their cars across the few small ramps there were).

Would definitely revisit this site when next in portrush.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019