Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Tavistock > The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8JA
Tel: 01822 481731  or  07544 307183
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nextexitjon 1 review from this member

 Had a great stay at the campsite! It is ideally located between two prime spots for DH mountain biking in the southwest.

Not too far from Tavistock for local amenities and city of Plymouth is less than an hour away. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Raymarg 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a campsite, nice choice of large pitches with glorious views of the Devon countryside and especially the Dartmoor Tors. Campsite is kept very clean and tidy, well cut hedges and grass, home produced eggs, sausages etc available. Lovely to have chickens and ducks walking around, good dog walking area doown to see home reared pigs. Nothing is too much bother for both the owners. Toilet/shower facilities were always clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drjbc 66 reviews from this member

 No campsite can be ideal for everyone but, with a 2-year old to amuse, this one suited us perfectly. Besides the little girl, we were four adults with a campervan, car and a tent. We all fitted earily into the large 'family' pitch we were given, grassy and enclosed all round by hedges.

Our toddler loved it from the moment we arrived, with chickens wandering round the site, a small playground, space to fly a kite, and (best of all) being shown the animals and of the smallholding by the owner. The bees made a particular impression. Incidentally, the owners put out their own bacon and eggs to buy with an honesty box.

For adults, there's free wifi and this general area's excellent for walking (on Dartmoor and in the Tamar Valley) and for cycling on dedicated paths. That said, we wouldn't recommend walking or cycling directly from the site; it needs a short car trip first. The country roads bordering the site are quite busy - not noisy enough to be a problem in a van, but could be in a tent. So it's worth checking the site plan on the website to see which pitches adjoin the road.  


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Siren 2 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant campsite with very friendly and obliging hosts. The site was well maintained and clean. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt at home. The view of the country side was breathtakingly and the area very quiet, we slept soundly all night. The toilets were clean and although we didn't use the shower it also was clean. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gypsycrafter 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this park several times and always got a welcome reception. The park is small, well kept and has good clean facilities. When our grandchildren visit, they love the farm animals and play area. It is a very quiet site and has reasonably easy access to towns in the area. The beaches are a few miles away but still give access to a wonderful day out. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eldever 3 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely campsite, friendly welcoming owners, clean toilets/showers, hot water plentiful, their own produce for sale, and the most fantastic view of Dartmoor, over which if you're lucky enough to be facing the right way, you can watch the sunrise - it was beautiful. The local area is picturesque and has a lot going for it with regard to places to visit; the nearest shop is a couple of miles away in Gunnislake. The site is situated between two roads so there was traffic noise but this didn't really bother me. The only problem is the price - it's terribly expensive - £23 per night (with electric and a dog); I was going to come down this weekend but by the time I got there on the Friday night it would be gone 7 and with having to leave by 11am on the Sunday it would cost £46 for what amounts to more or less one day! I think this is too much for a tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kernowcamper 2 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite as an excellently placed base to do some cycling of the local trails. The trails don't leave directly from the campsite but they are not far away. Also very close to Morwellham Quay (although not walkable to from campsite on the local trails as their website claims) and Cotehele. We stayed in the camping field; fantastic view! I wouldn't bother staying in the hedged off pitches, especially at £2. 50 a night extra.

The road is rather close so you do get some traffic noise but wasn't too bad.

The toilet facilities are a bit sparse; one toilet and one shower for the ladies unless you use the disabled facility. There was never a queue, but then there were very few campers staying.

The kids loved the small playground and area to play football and the ponies, pigs and chickens were lovely to have around.

The sausages and bacon from the pigs were fantastic, and the owners were very helpful in supplying us with more when they ran out.

My biggest gripe was the price: for two adults and three kids it cost us £30 a night! That's £15 a pitch and £5 for each of the kids. This is really steep for a campsite with so few facilities in June.

Although it was a lovely site I'm not sure I'll go again just because of the cost. I want to go back to the area because there's loads more I want to do up there but I will look to see if there is somewhere cheaper I'm afraid. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mollcampers 4 reviews from this member

 Visited in June 2013. Chose this site as it was best positioned for our biking holiday and the Moors. Brilliant site! Cannot fault it! Like the idea of it being a small site with plenty of room and hedged off pitches for privacy. Showers and toilets clean. Fresh bacon, eggs and sausages with an honesty box went down well! There was a shed to store our bikes and a bike wash. The animals were great, we were welcomed every morning by the chickens and the dogs. We SHALL return! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fireydiva 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first caravan holiday ever and we chose this park because it is very close to friends of ours in a neighbouring village. The pitches are spacious and hedges between them make them nice and private. The facilities were adequate - one shower and one toilet in the ladies' block and I understand the same in the men's. There is also one, large family/disabled shower room with two showers and a toilet - I used this one as the site was very quiet when we visited and the single shower in the ladies block wasn't big enough to stop clothes getting wet when hung on the back of the door.

On our first visit (we went back in September of 2013) there were pigs and ponies in the field which was nice, although I didn't see them on our second visit.

The owners were pleasant although we didn't see very much of them because there is no reception - you call a mobile number when you arrive and somebody comes to meet you. Access is easy and although it is sandwiched between 2 roads, traffic noise wasn't a problem. There is a dishwashing area which we didn't use, and a washing machine which I couldn't make work.

There is a dog exercise area but it's not enclosed and you're asked to keep your dog on a lead in it - I have no problem keeping him on a lead in the park itself but in a specific exercise area, I was hoping it would be enclosed and of lead exercise would be permitted.

It's a nice site - we went twice last year and are considering a return visit this year - but it is quite expensive compared to another local site we used this year which had much better facilities for the same cost. The main advantage of this site for us (apart from its proximity to our friends!) is that it hasn't been crowded when we've visited meaning that it's nice and peaceful and there is a dog exercise area, albeit not ideal. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rob88411 1 review from this member

 Just got back from three days podding in August bank holiday weekend 2012. Never been podding before and we loved it! The site is small, family run which gives it loads of charm. The owners are friendly and helpful.

The pod is warm, clean and dry as you would expect with the added convenience of two plug sockets with a lamp and oil filled heater. It was hot a couple days and torrential rain the other day so we experienced the site in all conditions; leaning out of the warm dry pod in the rain to cook was not only comfortable but added extra charm.

The shower block is well equipped; two toilets + showers for male and female which were cleaned regularly, a pair of sinks for washing up, mini fridge restocked daily with their own eggs, sausages and bacon which you paid for using a honesty box (I thought was a lovely touch and something I donít see often), a washer and dryer you can pay for and a freezer to freeze your ice packs.

The site also had outdoor washing facilities for your muddy walks and an array of recycling for the conscientious camper. They also have a small number of pigs, chickens, cows and their own dogs; we enjoyed relaxing in the pod watching the chickens and dogs quietly running around exploring.

We would both definitely recommend this site, we were very happy and we look forward to staying here again! 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tavistock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43097 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement