Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Moulin De La Geneste

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Site Reviews

Camping Moulin De La Geneste
Moulin De La Geneste
Condat Sur Ganaveix
Limousin   (Browse area)
19140
Tel: 00 33 555 98 90 08
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 25, 2 chalets, 2 bell tents, mobile home + 1 wagon
Open: 1 April - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 38 Reviews
                10/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LukeWoodhead 1 review from this member

We had an fabulous 10 days here in August camping with our kids aged 4 and 7. What a simply amazing find. Brilliant safe campsite if you have young kids. Ours loved the fairy garden, canoeing on the little lake and chasing the inquisitive kittens around!

Steve Sharron and Harvey have created a wonderful place. Generous pitches, great facilities and simple peace and quiet. Owls were calling every night, the tapping of nuthatches in the dawn was our alarm clock, a friendly hedgehog blundered into out table while we sat enjoying some local wine!

There are plenty of nearby lakes for swimming and cooling off. A cold stream to paddle in on-site.

Fresh bread and croissant deliveries to tent door every morning. Steve and Sharron also host a curry night once a week. It really is very friendly!

It was a wonderful place to relax and let nature take over. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunflowers6 4 reviews from this member

I cannot express how much my family and I love this site. This is our 3rd year running visiting and it gets better every year. Unbelievably beautiful surroundings, excellent facilities and amazingly accommodating staff. The kids spent hours safely wandering around feeding the animals and helping brush the ponies. They thrived with the new found freedom this site was able to give them and we managed to get a few minutes to relax and take in the peacefulness of the surroundings. This year was the first year our kids have been old enough to stay up late enough to attend the curry night. It was amazing! The food was wonderful and thoroughly enjoyed by both adults and kids. Excellent value for money and a fabulous time had by all (maybe a little too good judging by our headaches the next morning!) I would recommend this site to anyone who wants to relax and be at one with nature. We only left the site twice, once to visit the caves in the dordogne (ask the owners to book a time for you or do it on the internet to avoid horrendous queues though) and once to visit the nearby swimming lake and beach. We were never bored and had the best holiday once again. I can't wait to return!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheBicks 6 reviews from this member

We have come away from our third visit to this site. We have previously reviewed it and given 10/10 however we're regretting that because we now can't give it any more!

This site is just perfect for us. A quiet, small, family friendly site with charm, character and wonderful owners. More has been done to improve the site since our last visit and it now has another facilities block, a few larger pitches and a marquee for Sharron's weekly curry nights to name but a few.

If you want your children to be able to play in the woods and out with nature but within the confines of your campsite this is the place to go. We couldn't imagine camping in France without starting our trip here. Thanks Steve, Sharron and Harvey for a brilliant stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Nook 2 reviews from this member

Our third stay at this wonderfully peaceful and idyllic site. My first review some 3 years ago was somewhat reluctant as I didn't want too many people to find out how brilliant the place was. Quiet forest surroundings with acres of woodland for walks (and playing if you're a child) and a lake for boating (free boat and canoe provided) and fishing for a very small fee. Walking through the grounds you come across several seats one beside the river(perfect for sitting and reading)and then the animals; goats, pigs, miniature shetland ponies, chickens and a guinea pig. Fresh bread delivered to your accommodation in the morning. What more could you want. Site owners Sharon and Steve were always on hand and no problem was too much for them. We again rented the static VIP mobile home which was everything we wanted. In fact the whole experience was as good as our previous visits and we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simon444 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for ten days in late September, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Site was very quiet, with perhaps only half a dozen other guests. Pitch was shielded by shrubs and of a good size. The toilet block was elderly but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The site is within a wooded valley and very pretty. We particularly enjoyed the wildlife. Nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts will be in there element here. There are numerous opportunities for swimming in lakes locally. We were given a leaflet with several motor tour routes by the Tourist Information Office, and would recommend following 2 or 3 of these as an introduction to the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsClemo 2 reviews from this member

Well, a year on and we finally got to return to Moulin de la Geneste.

We stayed for 2 weeks this time, and despite having had 10 nights there last year, we still found there was more than enough to do in the surrounding area, and still more to do than we had time (it was a struggle to get our two boys (4 and 6 years old) away from the site)! I talked endlessly in my last review of the campsite so thought I'd just say that it is still as magical as ever, even with such special memories from last year, it didn't disappoint (something I was slightly worried about on returning this year to be honest).

There have been a few updates around the site since our last visit, but only improvements, nothing to detract from the wonderful 'back to nature' feel.

If you are visiting the area do make the effort (and hour or so drive) to the caves at Padirac. Amazing! Definitely book tickets in advance at peak times though - we had to book a week in advance to get 2 adults and 2 children in at the same sensible time.

Sharon's curry nights have grown significantly (she catered for 52 people the week before we arrived!), but are still as delicious, and not to be missed.

This is SUCH a wonderful site for children and just the best place to forget everything you left behind at home - it makes looking at alternative campsites virtually impossible - I'm not sure anywhere else could ever live up to la Geneste.

We'll be back again next year for the campsites 50th anniversary celebrations. Roll on August 2015!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl+mark 1 review from this member

Cannot find the words to express what a wonderful 2 weeks we had at this friendly campsite. Stayed in a beautiful chalet built by the owner Steve. Every morning was a pleasure to wake up to open our door onto the decking area where our fresh bread and croissants had been delivered. Looking out between the trees onto play areas for the children, we see very little of our children for 2 weeks! Whether they were exploring the site, playing on the lake in their boats although they usually ended up in the lake! and they found a new hobby fishing.

There is plenty to do and see nearby or stay on camp for a relaxing day. The owners Steve and Sharon keep campers very well informed of anything going on in the local area and if there is something you are looking for Sharon will find it for you!

Sharon's curry night is a must, we were lucky enough to get 2 during our stay! Brilliant hosts and fantastic food, an enjoyable evening to get together with others on the site and the locals.

We can't wait to return and cannot recommend this site enough.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlesfletch 2 reviews from this member

What can I say. This is an amazing site with good facilities that my wife and children were all very happy with. The site was clean and well maintained. The children loved the two Shetland ponies and as for the adventures in the secret garden bits! We hardly saw the children when on site. Curry night, held once a week was brilliant, we did two of them whilst we were there. At all times site owners were helpful, chatty, generous and listened to anyone who wanted to talk. The area surrounding the campsite was lovely and Steve and Sharon were always helpful to give support and advice when having days out! Local town was great and had plenty of amenities. The owners have a sensible and planned expansion but not to go too big and keep its almost farm like feel. I did not want to leave!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunflowers6 4 reviews from this member

Our 2nd time here and we stayed longer this time. The weather wasn't great but that didn't stop us having a fantastic time. So much to do on site, the children lived the farm, rowing on the lake, petting and brushing the ponies and of course the play park. Steve and Sharon are so friendly and welcoming and even remembered us from last year. The site is set in amazing surroundings and close to swimming lakes and the dordogne for extra trips out. Can't wait to come back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaun328 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this site and I can only praise the camps owners on what was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The site itself is well kept and tidy. The toilet/block although a little dated is kept very clean and tidy, as was the play area. Its great for kids, as is the forest for exploring and the lake for fishing & boating. The pitches are good sizes and vary in shade. I could go on for ages about how good it all is, but the best way to find out is to visit the campsite yourself. The only warning i'll give you is, don't follow a sat nav unless you really like a challenge, make sure you have an up to date map!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2788 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019