Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Naturesbase Holidays Tyngwndwn Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter > Naturesbase Holidays Tyngwndwn Farm Reviews

Naturesbase Holidays Tyngwndwn Farm
Cilcennin
Lampeter
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA48 8RJ
Tel: 01570 471795
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: April, May June,july, August, September, October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildcamp23 1 review from this member

Quite simply a magical campsite. Great facilities such as warm showers and good washing up area. Kids play barn. But the real magic is the ethos here. Children can feed the animals with the wonderful hosts Gyles and Alison and run free amongst trees and flowers. The location is stunning with amazing beaches and dolphins nearby. At night the stars come out and life feels pretty good. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Prys 1 review from this member

Naturesbase offers an unique camping experience that combines a real connection with nature set in a beautiful wild garden along with all the practical facilities that a modern campsite can offer. Gyles and Alison, who manage the site, strike the perfect balance between communality and privacy. The various organised activities (animal feeding, bush craft, pizzas / singalong) are terrific fun for children and adults alike but are never pitched as a compulsory – join in or chill out in your own large secluded pitch as you see fit.

I would have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever recommending this site to anyone looking for a tranquil camping experience in the countryside, but the stimulus on offer for the kids (big and small!) is what makes this site truly special. Gyles and Alison are terrifically confident and engaging with children; it was so gratifying to see our own children learning to build a fire from a spark and it is an experience I know will them stay with them forever.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kate Wilkinson 1 review from this member

I cannot fault the site, it was fantastic. We stayed in one of the lodges. It was perfect the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful once it got started. It had a creat rustic feel and was immaculately clean. The cooking facilities on the veranda were great. We got to cook in the fresh air, but it was sheltered and dry.

The cooked breakfasts were tasty and great value. Alison's chocolate brownies were to die for! Although we didn't need to use the communal facilities I checked them out for this review. They were spotless, they were kept clean by Alison. But perhaps more importantly the other campers made a real effort to keep everywhere clean. This was due to the real community feel that Giles and Alison have created at the site. You had a sense of belonging and the kids all played together in play barn and the kick about field.

I had a reflexology from Alison, which helped me to relax and wind down from the hustle of every day life. My daughter enjoyed reading through all the books in the communal library and both kids enjoyed going to the small shop to buy pocket money treats and marshmallows for the campfires (which are actively encouraged).

My youngest loved to feed the animals every morning. The pigs were my favourite and the always came over for a scratch behind their ears. We did the bushcraft course and had a fantastic time. The weather was drizzly but that didn't dampen our spirits, in fact it added to the authenticity. The kids will treasure their sugar slugs sticks for many years to come. Plus it inspired us to go blackberry hunting and den building when we got home, the kids loved it.

The location was great, remote enough to be quiet and rural but 30 minutes away from some beautiful beaches. We saw dolphins in New Quay harbour and when we went on or boat trip (we went with the marine conservation people and had a really informative trip). We did the walk around Devils Bridge which was tough terrain and not suitable for buggies or the infirm. We also visited the Red Kite visitors centre (they feed the birds at 3pm and it is worth timing your visit around that).

We had a brilliant family holiday and are already talking about returning next year!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnperrem 3 reviews from this member

A little late posting this review, 6 months late! However the site was that good that I felt it was necessary to post.

This was our first visit to this site. We were looking for a small, authentic campsite that would allow us to spend some relaxed quality family time together and Naturesbase certainly delivered. This site is tucked away about 10 minutes from Aberaeron in a tranquil farm setting.

A smallholding with a genuine consideration for the environment; from the carefully managed beautiful pitches, (each with their own fire pit, separated from one another by tall meadow grass) to the chickens, sheep and pigs kept on site. The site is well managed by Gyles and Alison who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and accommodated. During our visit It seemed apparent that not every pitch was used, allowing time for the pitches to recover. The facilities are clean and and never busy.

The ethos behind the site is an appreciation of nature and sharing this with others. Gyles has a background in education and this shows in his ability to interact with the children during his morning feeds of the chickens, pigs and sheep, which the children love to help with. Once a week Gyles fires up the wood fired pizza oven and you can gather in the courtyard to create your own pizza, these really were very good. This was then followed by an optional campfire sing song. I recommend Gyles' penguin song!

For those not wanting to camp there are the lodges, which looked good. In addition there is the opportunity to hire the safari tent that comes fully equipped.

If you want; a peaceful campsite that's: child friendly, environmentally responsible, great night skies for star spotting, campfires to toast marshmallows by, swallows and bats swooping overhead then

I would highly recommend this site. All the other campers I spoke to were equally impressed.

As a rule we never revisit a site, as we like to try pastures new, however, we are determined to book again in a couple of years.

Keep up the great work Alison and Gyles.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hen Bop 1 review from this member

We have Just returned from our amazing camping trip at Naturesbase. Firstly I should say that this was the best camping trip we have been on. The site is different to anywhere else we have been to and we have been to some sites which we love and often return to. Naturesbase just seems to have something special that is hard to explain. It has a back to basics feel about the place but also has a converted barn with a seating area and toys for the kids. A cooked breakfast is also offered in there twice a week which is amazing and good value. Gyles and Alison are the owners and creators of Naturesbase and even though they never seem to stop working they are genuinely warm, helpful and seem to have time for everyone. I could go on all day about what Naturesbase offers but it is pretty much covered by other reviews and their own website. The best thing to do is go there and experience it for yourselves.

Some of the highlights were,

• Pizza evening with a communal campfire – great night and good way to meet other campers.

• Kids feeding the animals with Gyles every morning, they loved it.

• The whole relaxing feel of the place.

• Fire pit on every pitch.

• Gyles showing me (The big kid) how to light a fire with flint.

Our kids (3&4) loved the place and made some great friends, you could see them settling in and growing in confidence every day. They could run around freely and along with the other children invented a fairy house in a wooded area which they visited daily. They were genuinely sad to leave and can’t wait to go back.

If you are the type of family that loves the outdoors and a back to basics feel then give Naturesbase a go, embrace its values and you will love it.

The Davies Family (Pitch 9).

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leigh McGough 1 review from this member

Just got back from a lovely week staying at Naturebase with my wife and 2 boys (aged 3&5). The boys loved the farm - feeding the chickens and pig each morning and enjoyed exploring the site.

The site is well equipped - nice showers and always had hot water for washing up. Indoor and Outdoor play barn kept the boys entertained in bad weather but what made it special was the community spirit on site - eating pizzas together on a Tuesday evening and then cooked breakfast in the Barn on a Monday and Friday. Such a luxury when camping.

Lovely site and will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kcamper 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week on this small site. It is great for children, allowing them to play and make friends in a safe environment. The pitches are a good size, but you are quite close to other pitches. The site operates a strict no noise policy after 10pm, which most campers adhere to. You have a firepit, which is great for cooking over campfire. There is a great indoor and outdoor playbarn and woods and stream to explore. The toilets and showers are kept very clean and showers are warm. There was always hot water for washing up. We stayed in safari belle which was lovely. Loads of room and very cosy, cooking tent was well equipped. The site promotes a community spirit & we met some lovely people. However, there are a couple of negatives. The site is in a village and there was some noise from neighbours - man was hedge cutting with industrial trimmer on Sunday morning directly behind our tent, so no quiet breakfast. Another is building something and there was noise from dumper truck & mini digger for most of the day, which made us leave the site. There are also a lot of dogs around which barked throughout the night. However, these are out of the owners control and they work really hard to make this a special place to stay. There are some lovely beaches nearby and places to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kyoto49 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the last week in July, possibly getting the only sunny week we'll get this year and had a lovely time.

The site is exactly as described, very large recently mown pitches incredibly well spaced out, in a nice well-sheltered field. While we were there they were 'full' which meant 4 other tents on our field!

Facilities were always clean, and although there were only 2 showers and 1 ladies toilet we never had to queue. There is also a compost loo and family bathroom with a toilet in.

My daughter made some great friends, and really enjoyed the sense of freedom this safe little site allows. No electronic gadgets were seen for the week, just lots of exercise running round with her friends, playing on the tyre swing and visiting the horses nearby. We enjoyed the weekly campfire and pizza making evening very much.

This site is a sense of old fashioned camping in the nicest possible way, a cheery wave to your neighbours across the field, children playing traditional games (hide and seek etc) in a beautifully safe environment. Cars are not allowed on the camping field, but wheelbarrows are provided. Each pitch has a car parking space.

If you like remote, quiet sites, with no EHU, no cars on site, peace from both the surroundings and other campers, then you'll love this site. If you are addicted to all things electric, then this is not the site for you!

Unable to comment on how the site would hold up in the rain, but there was an indoor games room for children to play in, and an indoor eating area.

Lots to do in the area, beautiful beaches, walks along the Ceridigion coastal path, Red Kite spotting, castles, just a lovely area to holiday in really!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jason Yaxley 1 review from this member

Wow! What a lovely place to stay! Location was superb only 15 minutes to nearest town by the seaside, giving you a country sea side feel. The hosts Giles & Alison were a Gem and so helpful and welcoming. Lovely people and they took pleasure in helping us enjoy our special camping holiday.

The facilities were great! V clean toilets and showers hot water, washing up area & plenty of space for us and the children to play.

The place had a real warm feel to it as the hosts made an extra effort to help us feel relaxed, with things like flowers on our table (We were in a Safari Tent) extra long matches for the cooker, tea candles, bed linen, pots pans, storage containers, dishing liquid, sponge/cloth, tea towels, cushions, it goes on. You don't normally get this at a normal holiday park. This was far from it! It is fairly green site with a natural feel. The hosts offer a cooked breakfast 2-3 days, a pizza night made in their very own clay oven with a sing a long and games around a camp fire for the whole family to enjoy! I would definitely recommend this camp site for families young and up and we would definitely go back there again. The big plus apart from all that was already mentioned, was the fire pit. We had our own camp fire every night (lucky with the weather!) and so close to a heap of beautiful places and walks to go to take in the real beauty of Wales! 10/10 from us! From The Yaxley's

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blessings 4 reviews from this member

What a great site! Plenty of space for each tent in beautiful meadows. The toilets and showers were very clean, with lots of little touches around (jars of wild flowers everywhere!) The reflexology that I and my husband had from Alison on site was brilliant, and really set the tone for the weekend. The children (4 and 8) loved feeding the animals, and making their own pizza's in the handmade outdoor oven with Gyles, as did we! The barns on site are great for when the weather is a bit damp, with toys and games for all. The little shop ideal for basics, (alisons flapjack is heavenly!)There was lots of info to hand on things to do, we spent a day at the royal botanical gardens of Wales, about an hour away, well worth a visit if you like that sort of thing. Plenty of good places to eat in nearby Aberearon. Definitely hope to go back.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lampeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019