Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rimmer House Motorhome Stay Over Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Rimmer House Motorhome Stay Over Site Reviews

Rimmer House Motorhome Stay Over Site
Bank Head Lane
Bamber Bridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR5 6YR
Tel: 01772 336 043
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Msf1970 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night in a motorhome as part of a Lands end to John o'groats cycle ride.

The whole site is laid in block paving and there is electric hook up to all pitches ( about 8 or 10 I think). There is 1 toilet and shower.

Jim is a great chap, the only site rule is no stress! He even allowed us to use one of his lock ups to store our bikes overnight.

You even get a £5 voucher for the local pub, the hospital inn, which serves excellent food.

This makes a great night stopover.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bmwman13 1 review from this member

Stayed at Rimmer House recently during a country wide trip.

Although the owner was lovely and gave directions on the phone, which were easy enough, I decided to use the sat nav which took me right too it. When you arrive, the first thing you notice is the magnificent Stone walls, which apparently took 3 years to build. I can believe it, they are wonderful!

We pulled up and went into the office and spoke to the owner who couldn't have been more helpful, offered us a cup of tea, then directed us to the stopover, where he then came and showed us all of the facilities. Which are sparkling clean! It was lovely jumping in the shower after that long drive as well.

He also gave us a £5 voucher for a local pub, well when I say local, literally 2 minutes walk away.

Rimmer house is right next to the M61, which may sound light a problem, but it really isn't, you can hardly hear it at night, I got a lovely nights sleep.

All in all, I WILL be staying at Rimmer House again and would certainly recommend it.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SlowTravels 5 reviews from this member

Stayed twice at this site, on the way to the lakes and on the way back.

The site has excellent hardstanding with power and water close to the pitch, its easily accessible from the motorway and close to bamber bridge.

The site is clean, tidy and well laid out, Jim has done an excellent job and fully completed the hardstanding area before moving onto extending it, nice to see since it would have been too easy for him to partially completed all of it.

The hospital inn is close by and does excellent food but does not welcome dogs, not an issue for us since the dog stayed in the van. Jim also provides a £5 off voucher for the pub which makes it an ideal meal option.

The taxi firm is located near by and the trip to bamber bridge was cheap, the bus stop to Preston is located by the pub and provides a good service.

Highly recommend this site for a stopover or extended stay in the area.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mannin 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights, and will definitely return.

Jim is a nice guy and nothing seems too much trouble for him.

The whole place was frozen but he helped us with water Etc with a kind word and a smile.

Banbury Bridge was just a short taxi ride away,and we found a couple of really friendly pubs.

Not a long stay site really but great for a quick stopover, and as stated before we will certainly be going back there.

£10.00 per night was great Value for money.

Recommended stop over.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 29 reviews from this member

A first class stopover with excellent hard standing, electric hookup, toilet and shower facilities. You are also given a £5 voucher for the local pub which is the hospitality inn and is less than 5 minutes walk from the site.

Jim is always on hand to greet and direct you and the £10 stopover fee is real value for money. The site is easy to find and ideal for the local motorway network. I had a 5 hour drive from swansea and onward the following day to york so the location was ideal.

The site is purely a stopover with no play area etc. But well worth the visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Traveling seniors 3 reviews from this member

Phoned this site to ask if we could stay for 3 nights to enable us to visit the Preston area. Jim phoned us straight back to say it would be no problem and also told us that there were major road works outside the gate to advise us to take a different route. The site itself is an ongoing project of Jim's and it is sort of in the style of a Spanish/Mexican Hacienda. As stated in the web site all hardstanding for 8 units. Electric hook-ups and water taps for each pitch. No facilities for children but is ideal for a stop over for long distance travellers or to visit the surrounding areas.

There is only one shower unit and wc at the moment but maybe more in the pipeline. Chemical disposal point.

Extremely close to the M61, M65 and M6 motorways for travelling North or South. There is some noise from the motorway but only a steady hum that blends into the background after a while. It was no problem for sleeping.

The Hospital Inn is only 200 yards away serves really excellent cuisine prepared by a chef not a pub cook but reasonably priced. The sirloin steaks are to die for (especially with the £5 off voucher given to us by Jum.

Jim is a must meet character - a gentleman in every way.

We only live in Manchester and this is a superb site with a bus stop outside the Hospital Inn to get to Preston to use their bus station to travel in all different directions.

Whilst we were there an Italian family stopped overnight travelling from Scotland to London. They said how convenient it was for them.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: FLICK8 7 reviews from this member

We found this site from UK campsites and will definitely use it again. We were on route to Harwich for the ferry and found the owner Jim so helpful. The place is spotless and he gave us a voucher for an excellent pub the Hospital Inn whose food is brilliant. The shower before travelling was great and we will recommend the owner to everyone looking for a stop over. It is within easy reach of the motorways, and has room for 8 motorhomes. I have to add that it is the first ever place that we have stayed with our 2 kids, where the owner asks your name and shakes your hand, very friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Joanb1 1 review from this member

My husband and I needed to attend my graduation ceremony in Preston and as we were travelling down to Snetterton the following day we needed somewhere we could park our motor home not only overnight, but also for most of the day of the ceremony. I found Rimmer house on the website and liked the look of the place.

First contact with the site was via e-mail where I asked questions relating to the site. I received a prompt reply from the owner, who answered all my queries. The next contact was by telephone and I found him to be pleasant and polite.

The entrance to the site was impressive with stone built walls and the site itself was clean and well cared for. We received a good welcome from the owner who directed us to a hard standing with electric hook-up.

It was imperative that we got to Preston by a certain time for my graduation ceremony and the owner even took us into Preston himself so we got there on time

Although we didn't use them there are toilet and shower facilities and a pub nearby serving food. The site is near the motorway which is ideal as a stop over. There is some noise from the motorway,but this didn't stop us having a good night's sleep.

To summarise excellent customer service from the owner , value for money, a clean site with electric hook up and a pub nearby. Who could want for more? We will certainly stay there again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pidnem 1 review from this member

We stayed at Rimmer House on Good Friday 2nd April 2010. We were looking for a one night stopover en route back to the West Country from Scotland, after contacting several sites all were either fully booked or requiring a minimum of 2 nights stay. An Internet search revealed Rimmer House at Bamber Bridge near Preston Lancs, specialising in Motor-homes and RV's there are eight hard standings with electric hook up and mains water.

Located just a few minutes from the Junction 29 of the M6 the site is very convenient for the M6, M61 and M65.

A quick email revealed that there were pitches available and we had somewhere secure to overnight.

Being close to the M61 there is some road noise however we managed to have a very good nights sleep.

The site owner, Jim could not be more helpful he has developed an excellent facility here and deserves to be successful in this venture.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sadler50 2 reviews from this member

Thank you to Jim who couldn't have done enough for us this weekend. There were 2 adults and 4 children and a dog in our party. For a good clean and tidy place to stay overnight, this motorhome stayover has everything you need at a good price. We will definitely go again. We honestly cannot think of anything bad to say about this stayover.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019