Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Crake Valley Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Crake Valley Holiday Park Reviews

Crake Valley Holiday Park
Water Yeat
Blawith
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8DL
Tel: 01229 885203
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 5 Reviews
                9/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wolla 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 6 nights at this lovely site, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by the new owner Danny and had a large area to pitch our 2 tents. We were the only tents there for the first 4 nights so it was wonderfully peaceful (except for the little people we had taken with us, and the crowd of friends they made from the statics at the top of the site). Plenty of space for the kids to play football/explore.

There is only 1 toilet and 1 shower, which are a short walk up the hill near the statics and cabins. These facilities are basic, but clean. Come the weekend when the campsite was full (due to a mini heatwave - yes, in the LAKES!) there was often a queue for the loo, however a very short queue, and I didn't have to queue at all for the shower.

There is a washing up room with a large freezer for ice packs etc, and a washing machine and tumble drier, plus 2 sinks.

The camping field is surrounded by trees, so is fairly well sheltered. The ground is quite hard to get the pegs into so don't forget your mallet.

Coniston Water is a short walk (across main road and then through the woods) from the site, and there are a few lovely spots for swimming.

We hope to return to this site next year - it was a hit with all our party. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msfoto393 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a two night break at Crake Valley. As previously mentioned this is a small site up to a maximum of six tents (no hook up).

The Site is well maintained and very clean, in addition to the campsite there is also about nine statics. There are cleaning facilities with fridges and a iron.

There is also a shower/Toilet block, all clean and well maintained.

The only down side (a small issue) is that due to the size other campers tents will be in close proximity.

There are no particular facilities for children though they tend to explore the bushes and trees that surround the site.

Conniston lake is approximately 400 yards away and Conniston about 5 miles by car. A lovely little site. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

 Great little site, room for 6 tents, 1 toilet and 1 shower (free and lovely and hot) both clean, you also have the use of fridge and freezer including spare freezer blocks, great washing up facilities, they even provide washing up liquid and handsoap. Trust me this is luxury compared to some sites around all this for £17 per night. The owners were friendly and not intrusive at all, also on site some cabins and caravans, but again as its a small site no noise and all quiet at night time.

Just across the road from Lake Coniston with some lovely walks and pubs and shops are only a short drive away. Even the sheep on this site are friendly, overall a fab weekend away on a lovely safe and clean site and will definitely revisit in May when it reopens. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shed16 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Crake Valley the first week of the holidays, it was a mums and kids break. What a brilliant site, it was ideal! The camping area held 6 tent max, which was filled by us. The kids could play and we felt they were safe. There was a little stream, trees, etc, which occupied them for the main of the time.

It was a short walk or drive from Lake Conniston which was ideal and not far from Hawkshead.

There were 2 toilets and 1 shower which were in good condition. There was also a laundry room (washer/drier), with washing up facilities (instant hot water) and fridge freezers available to use.

This camp site may not be for everyone wanting an action packed holiday but if you are looking for a quiet site, this is ideal. It suited our needs 100% and I will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meg_Z 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week's stay at Crake Valley, we were very impressed. The site is small, maximum six tents, and we were the only tent at the site almost all week.

The facilities are very good, one toilet and one shower but both kept very clean and the hot water is instant, plentiful and free. There is also a laundry room with double sink, and a fridge for the use of campers which was very much appreciated. There are lots of leaflets for local attractions available which we found useful for planning our holiday.

The site is very easily accessible from the road but is far enough away to be safe and quiet. It is well drained and sheltered, we had a very wet and windy week but had no problems with the ground becoming waterlogged.

The site has access on to common land and a small stream, but still felt secure enough for our one year old son to toddle round with some freedom. We were regularly joined on the site by a few sheep, too. The walk to the edge of Coniston Water is short and joins the lakeside at a lovely little bay, ideal for a paddle.

We had Sunday lunch at the Church House Inn in Torver, a busy but friendly pub and great food. For shops, Coniston is the closest Spar-type shop, and Booths at Ulverston is probably the closest supermarket.

All in all I'd say this site is a great base for a holiday. It isn't in the mountains, nor is it a big site with shop and playground but it is a good quiet little site with friendly owners and well kept facilities. We would definitely visit again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crake Valley Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crake Valley Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crake Valley Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder