Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rhyd Y Galen Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Rhyd Y Galen Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Rhyd Y Galen Caravan And Camping Park
Bethel
Snowdonia
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 1UL
Tel: 01286 650216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bananarama 9 reviews from this member

We booked this site to be near Caernarfon which we wanted to visit. The warden was friendly and helpful. Our pitch was very big and level. The park seemed to be mainly seasonal caravans with a separate camping field, and all was fairly quiet during the day.

However, the website claims to have "top quality facilities" which they definitely were not. The showers worked ok, but they were not clean (black grouting) I think the most they got was a quick mop out with the very old dirty looking mop. I found a couple of the toilets dirty with no toilet paper.

The website also gives the impression of wonderful views, but unless you are right at the top of the site by the gate (all seasonal pitches) there are no views at all. There did not seem to be any rules about noise at night. There were two big groups gathered outside their seasonal caravans on both nights we were there making quite a bit of noise well into the night, and children whizzing around on their bikes in the dark too.

While none of these things are a desperate problem, we didn't really enjoy staying there and left a day early. Disappointing.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RCoops 2 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant campsite, the warden Joe works really hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay. It is in a great location, is a very peaceful site and we loved being able to have a campfire each night. We would stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neo10367 4 reviews from this member

Had 4 nights here and I think it mainly for tourers. The site is clean and maintained well but its on a slope with the camping area at the bottom where it is flat. When we arrived it must have been raining a lot for a few days because the area was all boggy and squelchy under foot but it was peaceful and secluded.

The toilet/shower block was modern and clean (apart from spiders and webs on the ceiling) but was a good 2 minute walk to them and even further for those not on EHU - not good when your bursting in the morning (would be an idea if they put potaloos in the carpark) Also take a good torch as even though there are lights on the pathways they are not very bright. They do allow dogs but there were no poo bins (I didn't see any) so you have walk to the top of site where all the rubbish goes and nowhere to walk dogs off lead. Overall not a rubbish site but not for us and won't be going back

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fieldoftents 1 review from this member

Went there end of july, very nice site went on electric hookup with water tap. Plenty of room and private, in area of trees and bushes. A quiet site but there is an area for children to play games. Toilets very clean and a place to wash and iron clothes. Would recommend the site for those who like a quite clean holiday. We will visit again. The only draw back is that it caters mostly for caravans, but tents are very much welcomed.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mick ward 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site. wardens very helpful and friendly. wish I could have stayed longer. My child is disabled and needed oxygen equipment delivered to site which arrived before us, the warden looked after it until we got there then kindly delivered it to our pitch. On our last day just as we were nearly loaded to leave the warden appeared to collect the oxygen equipment, what a gent.

Would recommend the site to anybody. toilet blocks clean. loads of hot water. the views are great. nothing bad about this site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emg2014 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fabulous 4 nights at Rhyd y Galen. We found the site very well-maintained, toilets/shower blocks immaculate with great hot water supply, same for the pot-wash area. Although there are 6 or 7 tent pitches, we were the only ones there so could choose which we preferred. Very quiet except for the birds, from 4. 30am onwards - not unpleasant though. About 10 mins drive to Carnarvon for Morrison's/Asda etc. Well located for great day trips - we did Beddgelert, climbed Snowden and went to Beaumaris on Anglesey whilst there plus a stop in Llandudno on the way home. Ordered an Indian takeaway for delivery from Y Bedol (5 mins up the road) one night, very nice! Would definitely recommend this site as a good base for this beautiful part of North Wales. Liked the fact that each tent pitch had its own water and elect point so minimal trailing cables etc.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: G0vii 3 reviews from this member

Spent three nights at this site and wish we could have stayed another week. The individual, secluded tent pitches were excellent. They all have their own Water supply and electricity hookup. The peace and quiet we experienced was amazing.

The wardens were very helpful and pleasant.

The toilets and showers were immaculate.

The resident caravan owners were friendly and always acknowledged my wife and I.

There isn't a shop on site but there is a shop/post office in Bethel which is a two minuet drive from the site. The owner is very friendly. I went there for some milk but they had sold out. She gave me some milk from her fridge rather than see me go without as it was late ish on the Sunday night. Not many would do that.

It's a five minuet drive to Cearnarfon. We spent most of one day enjoying this beautiful place and castle. North Wales is full of places of interest and beauty to cater for all ages.

It's not too hard to imagine the toilets / showers could be a bit slow to access during high season due to the fact there are only two cubicles and two showers in the mens' block but when we return, and we will, it will be during the off peak period.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JandMFamily 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from Rhyd Y Galen where we spent a week with our friends who were also in a touring caravan. Starting with the positives; the camp was lovely, the pitches are large and fully serviced. WiFi is free, the camp and toilets are well maintained and clean. The location is great for exploring the area.

Unfortunately, there are a number of negatives; the camp was very busy towards the end of our stay, so only one small block of toilets and showers meant that there were queues to use the facilities. There was no real play area for the children, although there was a shed with some table top games but you had to pay for some of these.

We also had other issues; the wardens aren't on site at all times, so when we arrived, we had to call a number to get access through the barrier and then had to find our pitches. One of these was already occupied by a tent, so we had to wait four hours for the wardens to contact the tent owners and get them moved off our pitch. The wardens were less then helpful and there seemed to be a definite bias in favour of the seasonal caravans. Our children were asked not to use their scooters in certain areas and were told they couldn't use the equipment in the shed from dusk, however this didn't seem to apply to children that the wardens knew by name. We were also told that we were too noisy one evening, when it was one of the seasonal vans making the noise, it just happened to be that we had our lights on when the warden arrived.

Having said all this, when we spoke to the office staff, they couldn't have been more helpful. Our issue was with the two wardens, who spoilt the holiday somewhat.

We will return to the area, but not this camp.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Plee57 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week at Rhyd Y Galen, Bethel, Gwynned. There were 3 adults and a dog in our party. The site was very clean, we chose to be in the secluded area. It was very peaceful and pretty. Electric hook up, tap and drain were on each pitch. Toilets and showers were extremely clean as was the washing machine and ironing room. The warden was very helpful. The weather was very warm, I think we were lucky. The site is near to many attractions and the views were spectacular. We will certainly go again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubvanfan 1 review from this member

On entry to the site we were greeted by a security barrier which prevented us gaining access to the site. There was a warden's caravan right next to it and handy telephone numbers to ring if the warden wasn't there. We were allowed to choose any pitch we liked. All pitches have plenty of room with their own water tap, electric hookup and light. The toilet and shower blocks were spotless at all times of the day and night. A really handy facility was the wash room which included a washing machine, tumble drier, iron and ironing board. Dish washing facilities were always clean and tidy. Children were well catered for with a games shed and small play area. There is also a large dog walking area through the fields. There is a small shop in Bethel as well as a pub which delivers meals to the site. All in all, a great weekend and we will be back.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3433 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder