Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crofton Hall Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Thursby > Crofton Hall Certificated Location > Reviews

Crofton Hall Certificated Location
West Park
Crofton
Thursby
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA5 6QD
Tel: 01697 343 615
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Frank60 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site large pitch wall and hedges on three sides Toilet and showers couple of minutes walk away, very clean and water hot.

Very disappointed with cafe, asked lady in the cafe about, 9. 30 did she do Breakfast, on the Sunday oh no she said don't open till 12, , pm

Certainly missing a

Trick. Excellent walk around large fishing lake. Twenty give minute drive to Keswick 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 696 reviews from this member

 Superb CL with massive pitches in an old walled garden, all separated by high hedging so totally private. Fabulous setting around the stables and orangery of the former hall.

Previous reviews still stand but there is now also a cafe on site at the old stables (not cheap but fairly busy). You can do pottery and glass blowing at the relevant units, or buy cheese from the cheesemaker.

The loo /showers are in courtyard opposite the cafe outdoor seating which didn't seem ideal. Only a couple of minutes walk from site at most but would be better in same area as CL.

No contact with owners as paid in advance - email with everything we needed to know before arrival so more than happy with that.

Loved the peace, no noise other than birds.

At 22 per night with unmetered electric, loos/showers and water on every pitch its an absolute bargain for such a beautiful site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 Large pitches in a large CL. Incredibly peaceful. You have plenty of space. No plots are overlooked, electric and water on the pitch but not grey water drain. We booked pitch 2 which at the time of booking was in a corner under the wall and was booked as would be a sun trap.

Due to water logging the CL has moved the pitch to a new location. New immature hedge etc. But perfect for evening sun and not overlooked. Will be great in a couple of years when the hedge is grown. Although hard standing check your levels.

Owners friendly. The good bits - massive pitches, very quiet and private. Easy from the motorway, but watch the directions. Do not approach from the arch. The google map directions in the link on the website take you that way despite the site telling you to take the other road.

The less good bits - I prefer an elsan point with a screen around it. The dump point was a bit open for me. Due to covid the shower and loo were closed. We are happy to use our van facilities.

Check the CL is actually where you want to be, its not in the Lake District. We took trips to the Solway coast, Buttermere and Siddaw, Keswick etc. All 20 minute + drives.

The local walk was overgrown and we abandoned it. The fishing lake is nice for a little walk, our dog is now terrified of geese. A visit to the cheese and the chocolate shops is essential. Lovely products. Recommend Johns Plaice fish and chip takeaway a couple of miles away.

Overall a lovely week 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Guider 15 reviews from this member

 My 4th visit to this site and still my favourite C. L. When I travel from Devon to this area I don't look for anywhere else. Having tried a few this is my 1st choice every time ; I think its a gem that few have discovered. The pitches are huge, private and the quietest site I have stayed-on. There is a fishing lake across the road and a small chocolate and cheese making unit close by. The showers are about 100 meters away and also an under cover table tennis table which you could use if it rains. All in all a great site that is ideal for the northern lakes like Keswick or visiting Hadrians wall or Carlisle. Once tried you will see exactly what I mean. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithard 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with large pitches and excellent facilities though on a wet morning it is bit of a trudge over wet, when we were there, rather long grass, The facilities are excellent. The price equally so. I think the signing could be better. We almost overshot the turn into the camp and only by chance saw the Caravan Club sign. It needs to be moved nearer the point where one turns in. This is the first and only site where we had no contact with the management. This we found strange. Will not return but not because of the site itself. It is fine and handy for a range of places of interest. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 22 reviews from this member

 I stayed here a few times between October 2015 and June 2016 during a brief flirtation (now ended) with a caravan rather than the usual tent. Fabulous site - a huge area for just five caravans, each with hardstanding and some hedges to provide privacy, each also with its own water tap as well as hook-up. It's a great location in an old walled garden, though as others have noted the toilet/shower block is a bit of a walk away, but absolutely fine once you get there! The owners are very friendly and helpful. I just wish they took tents!

The location is ideal for a trip to Carlisle, or to the Lake District in the opposite direction - I favour a route to Keswick via Caldbeck and Mungrisedale. The towns of Cockermouth and Whitehaven are both worth a visit, and even Hadrian's Wall is not too far away. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

 A superb location, as long as you note the directions, easy to get to, but heed the warnings re the narrow arch!

A blackboard welcomes you with your pitch number on turning into the huge site. Massive French like pitches with lovely seperating hedges await, freedom of how you pitch. The walled garden is a tranquil sun trap and full of wildlife.

Cracking facilities notice board and information point in toilet block a short walk away with keypad access. 4 quality showers with good space and storage for clothes would be good for family holidays, male and female toilets in a well kept block and to high standard.

Good walks from site with fishing lake across the road, a busy fishing spot but tranquil and wildlife aplenty. Longer walks available too. Good roads to Coast or Northern Lakes for trips out, and good local shops, with Cheese and chocolate shops in walking distance.

Well kept grounds, freshly cut before our arrival

Claire friendly and helpful, we will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Guider 15 reviews from this member

 This caravan club cl is ideal for the area. The pitches are huge, have their own water and power;but not your own grey water waste. The site is well away from roads and the quietest I have ever visited. Shower/toilet facilities are about 150 metres away but superb. There is also a small chocolate making unit near and worth a visit. Also a cheese factory. Both do not produce noise. The owners are dog friendly and you can walk your dog close by. Finally Claire who runs the site is extremely friendly and will help in any way she can. Cost per night 15 or 95 per 7 days. Its situation is 25 miles from the Lake District national park and offers quiet and affordable caravanning ; but with the fells close by. It is about 7 miles from M6 so close for an overnight stop-over. It will be very well used and was voted no2 CL IN 2012 by the caravan club. They only take a max of 5 vans but they may eventually build a facility for tents; as they diversify. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anjo 13 reviews from this member

 This site is laid out very nice within the walled garden as described, the pitches are of an extremely good size each with EHU & its own water supply at a very reasonable cost for our stay at 13. 50 per night. The usual managers were on holiday themselves during our visit and therefore someone was standing in for them calling at site to make sure you were pitched and ok and to collect payments, very nice and friendly chap.

The grass was nicely cut short in in good condition.

This site could very easily take more vans instead of staying just as a 5 van CL site.

A nice touch of a large table tennis table C/W equipment available to use, this was under cover so good if the weather isnt fine for your stay.

The bad bits ;- We didn't mind the toilet block been across a yard at all, however we would have preferred them to be a little better looked after and the showers to look inviting, we didn't bother using the shower and preferred to use or own as so uninviting so I cant comment on the water temp etc.

We cant say that the toilet cubicles were like they were because the usual managers were on leave, as sitting on the loo (throne - as it was the jubilee weekend) you see a movement from the corner of your eye not that far from the top of your head - this was a cobweb hanging down from the ceiling, so I don't believe this appeared just over a few days while the manager was away on holiday. Other cobwebs about not only this one,

There are 2 wash sinks in the family bathroom area which are ok but would benefit from a small worktop by the side of them for you to put your wash things onto. In this room was also a notice board, unfortunately not much on it re any info on the local places etc, we actually collected some from a nearby tourist information and when we had looked at what we wanted we put these on the notice board in aid to give information to others following us to the site.

Two plastic boxes were in the room offering you the use of some children's games and a book exchange, which is a nice idea.

Carlisle is about a 15 min drive away, and Silloth to the coastal edge about 30mins drive.

Adjacent to site is a cheese farm - unfortunately this wasn't open during our visit- this could have been as it was the jubilee bank holiday weekend, so unable to comment on its contents / prices etc.

They are several disused out buildings in the courtyard to the family bathroom which I'm sure in time can be made nice buildings and maybe incorporate a little tourist information room.

Across the lane is a fishing lake, we have two little dogs to walk, we were warned that the fishermen can be a little funny with you when walking around the lake, don't like any noise as it scares the fish away for them, we do always try to consider others, on this occasion the fishermen by not letting our dogs off the lead walking around the lake and trying not to talk too loud, we didn't have a word said to us or a problem from the fishermen their at the time.

Walking the dogs - coming out of the site as though you were going to the toilet block but turn left up the lane is a nice walk for you and the dog, there is no walk way but this is a very quite lane and very little traffic while we walked up this lane several times, this lane leads to dead-end / fields passing a few resident house's

Lots of flat lanes around the site so would be an ideal place for nice easy cycling.

All above said we probably would visit this site again if in the area, but would like the family bathroom area to be a little better looked after, while appreciating some old equipment ie showers they can still be kept in an inviting condition and toilet cubical free of lookers on which may be in the cobwebs. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2+2kids 8 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to Crofton, and our second visit to a CL site.

The site is a huge area of lush grass, surrounded by trees, Victorian walls and barn buildings. The pitches are large and have their own EHU/Water. The Family Bathroom is slightly off-site but still only 1-2mins away from your van. They are relatively basic but still great for CL facilities.

The only negative is that the lighting in the toilets is on a timer so always make sure you switch on before you use them because if they are already on you can be plunged into pitch black if they go off too early! Also, avoid taking showers in the dark as the shower lighting goes off quite quickly too! Showers were lovely though! This may change though as I think this site is definitely a work in progress!

The site Manager is extremely friendly and arrives in the evening to make sure you are settled in etc.

There are full recycling/disposal facilities in the corner of site with automatic lighting at night and canopy for cover.

The pitches are all grass and can become very moist in rainy weather which can make manoeuvring quite difficult, but I think if you were to get stuck the site Manager would come and help you out!

The surrounding area is very nice but walks don't seem to be very good if you have children due to lack of paths and busy farm traffic.

If you like night times in a caravan you will be in your element with fantastic star-gazing on clear nights and various nature noises, the owls are almost musical!

There is an Orangry on site which is very picturesque and can be used to bbq or, if you take a ping-pong set you can use the table tennis table! The kids spent hours pottering in there! There is a large hill in the middle of the field surrounded by young trees, I would advise to keep any children/dogs off this however as it does have some rather sharp refuse in which could cause a nasty injury.

Shopping facilities are 2-3m away, we always used the car. We got takeaway fish n chips from 'John's Plaice' which was a few miles from the site towards Carlisle and they were lovely! Would definitely recommend.

I hate to say this, but a negative of this site were the bushes behind the caravan pitches. They were absolutely covered in wasps and butterflies, they were very busy on the plant however, so didn't bother us much but if it was summertime and you had your door/awning open they could become pests.

Even with some negatives we still loved this site and will definitely be back on a regular basis! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Crofton Hall Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crofton Hall Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crofton Hall Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thursby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement