Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bont Fechan Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth > Bont Fechan Farm Reviews

Bont Fechan Farm
Llanystumdwy
Criccieth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL52 0LS
Tel: 01766 522604
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annwar 1 review from this member

 Nice site owner very welcoming.

No facilities other than a tap which we don’t mind but feel this should be reflected in the price.

It is now £15 a night. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andyla 1 review from this member

 A basic site in terms of amenities, but the kids love it. The river through the site is lovely and the kids enjoyed playing in it during the warm weather.

We’ve been twice now, and we’ll be back again. Such a lovely place, and cheap to boot.

Thanks again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: JAMMI 8 reviews from this member

 My family were staying at a site 0. 6 miles away that wanted £93 for me to stay 5 nights. The 5 nights here cost me £25.

This was a base for me as I intended to spend time with my family. This site had all I needed. The toilet block is a little ramshackle but it is clean and it works. Most times there was toilet paper but I took my own just in case. I often smelt bleach in the mornings so the toilets are cleaned regularly. There were bins to dispose of your waste and recycling bins also.

There is some noise. The site is next to the main road but also extends well back from the road. There is also a neighbouring food factory that emits a low-level noise. I am a very noise sensitive person but I could tolerate the noise at this site. A lot of the noise was masked by the noise from the adjacent burbling river.

This is a good site that I will return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenar23 1 review from this member

 Really friendly owner, very cheap rates so was very basic (which is what we wanted), but did have fridge/freezer and hot shower (it was across a busy road though)!

Allowed camp fires so didn't even mind the lack of electric. Lovely river besides and close to towns and beaches.

Would definitely stay again! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastwalker 46 reviews from this member

 This site is cheap. It is about the opposite of glamping, but suited me and I would use it again. If all you want is some grass, a tap and waste disposal this is for you.

The site is on the main road from Criccieth to Pwllheli. Look for 'Bont Fechan' signs on the bridge over the river and signs for the associated (flower) nursery on the opposite side of the road to the camp fields. You may be advised to drive into the campsite and then walk over to the nursery to book in with the owners- the road is busy and fast. The owners are very pleasant and obliging.

The site is 3 small fields with some rough grass around. There is a very basic toilet block/ disposal site where the fields adjoin. Cold water only and no electricity- torch required at night. The sinks and toilets got a daily clean but it ain't posh- bring your own paper. The 20p shower (and another loo) are at the nursery so that means crossing the road again (I'm serious, watch that road- the traffic comes at a fair rate round the sweeping bend).

Surprisingly, once on the site the traffic noise is drowned by the burbling of the river and a bit of noise from the food plant nearby, but nothing to speak of.

This is a good place from which to explore the area. Criccieth (2 miles) is actually a quite pleasant old fashioned small resort with prom, beach, a castle and a chippy. The art deco cafe on the front is straight out of Poirot. Pwllheli (5 miles) is the place for shopping with supermarkets.

There are pleasant areas once away from the bottleneck through roads- beach and marina etc. The rest of the Lleyn peninsula has some quite lovely spots. Everyone likes the Whistling Sands, which squeak under your feet. Simple things. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mega123 1 review from this member

 This is a brilliant site for the money( £8 a night 2 adults 2 kids)

This site has a stream running around it amazing for keeping the little ones entertained.

Staff are so friendly and will help in anyway possible.

Superb location as only 2 mile into criccieth and only 10 minutes in the car to Porthmadog (black rocks sands is nice)

Toilet block is basic but always kept very clean(what do you want for the money) the shower over at the farm house is very good and only 20 pence for 4 or 5 minutes.

Second time we have been to this site and will being visiting again asap. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenb18 1 review from this member

 We have been coming here for the last 10 years, the sight is basic but clean, the owners are fantastic and will help you if needed.

The stream is great for paddling on a hot sunny day, you can have a small camp fire in the evening when it gets cooler. Behind the owners house is a path to the beach, takes about 20 minutes but its a great walk for the kids.

On site is a toilet block with cold water washing facilities, drinking water taps available throughout.

Shower across the road in the owners garage 20p(Bargain).

Prices are fantastic and haven't changed at all £6 per tent for 2 people and £1 extra per person.

Overall a lovely clean quiet site, we will be coming here for many more years. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hfernee 2 reviews from this member

 Very basic, spacious, fantastic location, and cheap.

Drinking water taps, toilet block, shower across the main road, fridge freezer for anyones use also. Camp fires allowed, dogs on leads welcome, friendly owners. Fantastic shallow river and rope swings.

No price increase for 2012. (£6 for a tent and 2 people per night, £1 per extra person). We have been 3 times. Lovely walk to the beach takes about 20 mins and is very rural and peaceful. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mchadder 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very basic and quiet campsite.

On the main field there is a toilet block with simple washing facilities. (Take your own toilet paper!)

Over the road in the garage of the farmhouse is a shower that costs 20p for a few minutes on the meter. It is not the cleanest in the world, so if you are not willing to rough it a bit then I wouldn't bother.

Facilities aside the campsite is amazing. Lots of space for ball games etc. We have never seen the site over crowded. We have been going to this campsite every year for the past 12 years so it must be doing something right.

Lovely stream that runs around the camping field, that is normally shallow enough for kids to paddle in. (May be a bit deeper after all this rain!)

Lovely footpath walk down to the coast, which is a couple of miles round the back of the farm house.

The campsite allows open fires which is great when sat out on a British evening! They do ask where possible that you re-use the existing burn't patches.

10mins drive from both Criccieth and Pwlhelli so ideally situated on the Llyn peninsula. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bont Fechan Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bont Fechan Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bont Fechan Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Criccieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement