Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Rouge Gorge

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > St Laurent Sur Sevre > Camping Le Rouge Gorge Reviews

Camping Le Rouge Gorge
Route De La Verrie
St Laurent Sur Sevre
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85290
Tel: 0033 0251678639
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 93
Open: 01/04 Until 04/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: White Rose 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights to visit the Puy du Fou on route from Caen to the Ile d’Oléron.

It’s ideally placed for that, just 10-15 minutes away by car, a short stroll from a lovely village, on the edge of woodland. It’s a very relaxed predominantly French site (though English is spoken by most staff at reception), facilities (separate women’s entrance/men’s and disabled all under one roof) were always clean, though there could be a bit of a queue for toilets/showers at peak times. Our pitch was part-shaded - our car and caravan are big and we would have struggled to fit our awning on - though we did book late at peak season and I’m sure they’d have found us a bigger pitch if we had booked earlier :-) It has a covered heated pool with outdoor seating and jacuzzi, snack bar with free WiFi, children’s play area with trampoline/bouncy castle/zip wire. We booked directly with the campsite by email as their website said we could only stay a minimum of three nights when we were looking to book - on email there was no mention of this any they were happy with two nights.

We’ll definitely go back next time we visit the Puy du Fou.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisinhove 8 reviews from this member

We chose this for a seven night stay mainly due to its proximity to the fabulous Puy du Fou historic theme park. (Go there, it's fantastic!).

The site feels typically French, mostly French occupied, amazingly family friendly covered pool, good, clean facilities, not far from Cholet's supermarkets, and a small one in the nearby village. Kiddies playground with ground level trampoline seemed popular amongst it's intended users. The pitches all seemed in good order but aren't huge, however, and some aren't at all well sited, but ours was lovely - partly shaded, tucked away, room enough for our Klondike (didn't need the tarp, but it may have fitted) - Mrs declared it her favourite site so far in France.

Cholet's a bit dull, but has an 'outlet village', Nantes (0. 75 hrs) is delightful, La Rochelle (1. 5hrs) stunning, Parc Oriental (0. 25 hrs) beautiful, and various charming towns and ruined chateau within a 0. 5hr radius so plenty do do for a week or so.

We had a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 69 reviews from this member

Back for a one nighter in summer weather.

Comments as before.

We did use the restaurant this time, was closed in April. Wouldn't really recommend. Pretty basic fast food.

Good for an en route stop or Puy du Fou use.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 69 reviews from this member

We stayed here to have work done on our caravan in Cholet (the nearest large town). Pleasant rather than a 'must visit'. As others have said, this site is absolutely ideal if you are visiting Puy Du Fou. We didn't, but will return when we eventually do!

It is a very pleasant site with large pitches and several chalets.

The undercover swimming pool is good at this time of year, as is the jacuzzi style tub beside the pool.

The owners were friendly and helpful.

The ablutions are pedestal style, no seats (my favourite/most hygienic!), paper supplied. Showers are great. Male and female sections. All modern and well kept.

The local village is pleasant, though not 'plus belle village' category. There is a great restaurant on the way out towards Cholet. L'Hermitage. Very well worth while for a celebration or just a good meal out in lovely surroundings and with charming service.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Agbreen 4 reviews from this member

I'd just like to re-iterate the previous reviews. The site felt nice and quiet, although the pool got busy later in the afternoon. The park was excellent for the kids (large ground-level trampoline, slide, zipwire, bouncy castle), and 2 toilet blocks adequate (the water could've been a wee bit hotter, mind you). Ice blocks for 1euro in reception, very reasonable wine and apple juice prices in the bar, with special events such as moules frites night and visiting wine stalls, etc. The reason we stayed there was its proximity to PUY DE FOU (which is absolutely amazing for a couple of days). This meant we could go in the morning, return late afternoon to the site, then head back for the 10.30 show. Tickets at reception are the same price as the advance booking facility (but the advantage that you don't actually have to specify which dates you want to go on). Staff at the site were friendly, and a 5 minute drive to the supermarket was fine. Online booking facility was simple to use, and payment with credit card accepted. Pitches seem to be variable in size (our tent fitted in fine, but with our extension out, it might have been a squeeze; other pitches were huge).

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Territwo 2 reviews from this member

What a little gem of a site.

The owners and their son were very welcoming and helpful, and spoke very good English, although we did try to converse in French as much as possible.

The site is very well laid out, and we were offered a choice of about 6 pitches.

The toilet and shower block was lovely and clean, except for once when a large group of school children arrived and when they had all showered it resembled a swamp, it would be a good idea to supply a mop and bucket to enable people to clean up after themselfs.

The pool was fabulous, heated slightly too, which was great unlike some sites that are like getting in an ice pool.

The children's play area was tucked away in a corner away from pitches, which we thought was a good idea.

Just outside the site there are two suggested walks through woods that are lovely.

The walk into the village is easy, where there is a pizzeria, bar, boulangerie x2, and a small supermarket also.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of two weeks, and would recommend this site, and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Puy Du Fou.

Site was very reasonably priced and well maintained with clearly defined spacious pitches. Within walking distance of a small town with supermarket and 24 hour fuel and only 10 minutes drive from Puy du Fou (campsite reception sells Puy du Fou tickets for EUR 4 less than Puy du Fou sell them !)

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beej 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights this summer while we were visiting Puy du Fou. The site is conveniently located about 5 miles from Puy du Fou. Camping Le Rouge Gorge has approx 100 pitches including some chalets and mobile homes.

Facilities on site were good. Easy access to pitches, all grass, from tarmac roads. Toilets were very clean but were quite small. There are 2 toilet blocks on the site. The swimming pool was clean and had easy access including a small toddler pool.

There is a snack bar/bar on site with a limited menu but reasonably priced good quality food and drink. Bread and breakfast items need to be ordered from the site reception the day before.

We found a very good boulangerie in the local town which also has a small supermarket and 24 hour petrol.

Would use this site again


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Laurent Sur Sevre      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5580 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019