Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Shepherds Rest Inn Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Alnwick > The Shepherds Rest Inn Certificated Site Reviews

The Shepherds Rest Inn Certificated Site
Alnwick Moor
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 2AH
Tel: 01665 600956  or  07731 771370
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 10 tents & 5 caravans
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Drewetts 3 reviews from this member

The bar staff were friendly and helpful. The site itself was rather bedraggled, dodging the nettles to access the toilet and shower.

Weeds growing in what could have been a nice area, the grass was long to pitch a tent on, but it had rained a lot.

Time table for food in the pub was unreliable but they did compensate by giving us free chips!
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kim s 3 reviews from this member

This site is small and basic. One toilet and shower but kept very clean. Good location to local shops and touring the areas attractions.

Pub on site. Owners very friendly and if any problems will sort them out willingly. I will certainly return for a visit.

This site has mixed reviews, however I think if you understand before arrival that it is very basic you wont have any complaints.

We loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobmcduk 1 review from this member

We arrived on Friday 7th July 2017 for a 3 night stay at the campsite, we wanted to camp here because of its proximity to Alnwick Gardens and Alnwick Castle.

The site is small and the facilities are basic, but they are very clean and they work, the site very kindly supply wooden chocks to level up our campervan, so once connected to the electric hookup and levelled we went for a drink in the pub.

Suzy the landlady couldn’t do enough for us, when we arrived, it was the day before the 3rd Rugby Test Match between the British Lions and the All Blacks, and we asked if there was anywhere with Sky sports where we could watch the game the next day, Suzy said that the pub had Sky Sports and agreed to open the pub from 8:15am on Saturday so that we could watch the match, not only that but Suzy also cooked us a very nice full English Breakfast which we ate during the game, what great service!

The Pub is very friendly with lovely staff, great locals and good pub grub. There is about a 15 minute walk into the town of Alnwick, the walk back is a little more challenging as the Shepherds Rest is at the top of a hill.

Overall, because of the friendliness of the Pub, and the proximity to Alnwick, we will definitely be camping there again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karenrowat 1 review from this member

A small campsite with very limited choice of pitches for tents - we ended up pitched next to a large metal container with views of a campervan!

The road is quite busy and right next to the campsite. Facilities were adequate. Where this site really let itself down was that there did not appear to be the usual 'no noise' after a certain time policy.

Children were still running around at midnight and other campers drinking and being noisy made it impossible to sleep.

A very disappointing stay I certainly would not recommend staying here if you value peace and quiet!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GarnetLiz 18 reviews from this member

This site is ideally situated for a visit to Alnwick Castle and Gardens being a 20 minute walk from the town centre. Other than that the site has little to recommend it. It is bordered by a road on one side (busy during the day but quiet at night) a motor repair garage on another, the untidy back of the pub on a third, and on the fourth, which would otherwise have a nice view, was a metal shipping container. The site appears to have become rather neglected. Many facilities were broken or damaged in some way; the sink in the toilet had a broken tap, the shower room had an undulating floor and damaged cubicle (the missing door propped up against a fence outside and a replacement curtain in place of the door). The grass hadn't been cut recently, fences were propped up and there was rubbish lying around. We left after one night, having booked for two and would not recommend or return. When we left (at 11. 15 in the morning) we couldn't find any members of staff to speak to. At least it was reasonably cheap!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobskate 3 reviews from this member

Only wanted an overnight stop but to be honest underwhelmed. A small field attached to a pub. Facilities just about ok. Combined loo and washbasin cramped. (Had to ask for the key. Was not proved when I checked in) Could not find the shower. Nobody around to ask. Rubbish disposal overflowing. Very expensive. I asked about buses into Alnwick. Didn't even know if there was a bus.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tranny1 4 reviews from this member

This site was awful. We picked it as it had good facilities, was CCC approved and we could have a drink and maybe eat there, close to Alnwick. Not a very warm welcome and £20 for 1 night (EHU £2 extra) quite expensive, but too late to find anywhere else. The place was strewn with litter, food and junk such as old window frames, pub signs and doors. We cleared some of it up and bagged it as it was so bad. The toilet and shower are in garden sheds which would not be a problem, but there was no loo paper, soap or towels and only cold water. The site adjoins some kind of car scrap yard so our view was of a rotting vintage car of some sort. We left as early as we could without using the shower (no idea if good/bad, hot or cold) or pub and it was a sad end to a great tour of Scotland and Northumbria, where we stayed in some superb campsites which I've given superb reviews and phoned one owner up to thank him personally. We also stayed for free at a pub car park and enjoyed a nice meal and a few drinks with the very welcoming owner. I don't like giving bad reviews, but took the time out to warn people it's obviously not what it was. We will not be returning here!

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: FindlayMR 1 review from this member

The site is conveniently located to walk into Alnwick town which is very beautiful and historic. As you leave the car park turn left down the lane and you can walk across country into Alnwick coming out by the castle. The facilities at the campsite were adequate, clean toilet, shower and chemical toilet disposal point. Suzanne the pub landlady was very welcoming to me and my two Border Collies, the pub served a good real ale unfortunately I arrived on Tuesday which was Brian the chef and manager`s night off, however Suzanne did offer to cook something for me. The following day I went in the pub to use the free Wi-fi and have a pint as the weather awful and met Brian who was extremely friendly and welcoming. That night my brother & his wife joined me for dinner and it was top class, beautifully presented and great value for money. I would recommend a stay here and treat yourself to some excellent pub food, I will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ninkynonk 2 reviews from this member

Small, friendly site at the top of a hill just out of the town centre with basic but well kept and clean shower and toilet facilities. All pitches have electric and the site is a mix of grass and hardstanding pitches. Alnwick is just a short walk away and worth exploring if only for the castle and gardens that feature in the Harry Potter films. The walk back is up hill so you get your exercise and can rest afterwards in the pub with either a drink or meal or both. The food is very good and reasonably priced. We would recommend this site and will be staying again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dolly Daydream 1 review from this member

We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely clean and quiet little site. It is a 15 minute downhill walk to Alnwick town centre. (A bit harder walking up the hill but good exercise) and it is an excellent base for exploring beautiful Northumberland. Bambourgh Castle, Holy Island and Seahouses are easily accessible and Alnwick Castle just a 20 minute walk away.

The site is right next to the pub and you should really go in and have a drink as Bob, the owner, is extremely friendly, helpful and you cannot fail to like him. Joined in with the locals on quiz night and had a good laugh.

His food menu is not easily visible as he will prepare something if you tell him what it is you want and it is locally available the day before.

Facilities are a bit limited, one toilet and one shower located in garden sheds - but they do the job and are clean and functional. There are also the toilets in the pub if necessary.

We had a lovely time, thank you Bob.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Alnwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019