Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of De Lilse Bergen Camping**** And Recreation

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Lille Gierle > De Lilse Bergen Camping**** And Recreation Reviews

De Lilse Bergen Camping**** And Recreation
Strandweg 6
Lille Gierle
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: 0032 14 55 7901
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 485
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Br 4 reviews from this member

Always a winner with us. It’s our 4th time on the campsite but first trip in the camper. It’s got everything for kids, fabulous modern clean facilities and lovely surroundings. The plots are spacious for tents and the motor home places thoughtfully done with plenty of space, electrical hook up and water for each camper with an ease to drive in and out. The lake is amazing with playgrounds and water slides. The beach is sandy and swimming good. Good sport facilities too.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Preston Dave 11 reviews from this member

Had another 10 fantastic days holiday at De Lilse Bergen. The Reception staff all staff speak fluent English and allowed us onto site early. Pitches are all a good size and we had plenty of room for the six berth caravan, awning and room to eat/sit outside. The pine trees act as a great canopy. The children enjoyed swimming/ playing on beach equipment including zip wire and wooden/ metal/ rope climbing frames. Someone has put a lot of thought into designing this child-friendly water play area. There was just so much to do for the children; they were spoilt for choice; all very child friendly play areas both in and out of the water. It never felt over crowded despite the huge number of site users and day visitors. Also, free team sport areas/courts Basketball, Football, Boules, Tennis and Table-Tennis and the beach areas were well designed and maintained. The huge lake had some relaxing walks around it and water sports on it for a reasonable charge. All areas of the park were very clean at all times, despite being extremely busy. Staff were always out and about ensuring the grounds and play equipment were maintained. The toilets and showers were very well kept and the newer blocks closest to reception area even had children's toilets and baby changing facilities. You have to load a 'credit' card to pay for the showers. We think it would have been better to have included this in the overall daily rate, as there was a refundable deposit already on the card but this was not a major problem. The on site shop is quite expensive, but there are Lidl and Aldi Supermarkets in nearby Gierle and Lille. There are also footpaths, cycle paths and 3 circular Mountain Bike routes commencing at the entrance to site, so bring your bikes or hire on site! We rarely return to the same site again, but made an exception with this one. Only gripe was that some reception staff were not as helpful as they could be, promoting this sites facilities ahead of attractions elsewhere.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MumToBoys 1 review from this member

Great for kids! I went for 3 nights with my children aged between 4 - 8 and it was excellent. The playground next to the campsite is very big with lots to do, especially for children aged 5 up, and kept my children entertained all day.

Facilities are excellent. It was pretty empty when we went but there were people cleaning the toilet/washing block several times a day.

The only slight drawback was that out of season there was no cafeteria/restaurant on site serving food, only drinks and ice creams.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajh2001 9 reviews from this member

The second site of our first foray into trailer tenting in Europe and we picked another winner! What can I add to previous reviews? Sorry if I repeat!

Campsite, among trees, yes shady but as we got the heatwave at the end of August/beginning of September it was actually a godsend! Also site was almost empty by the time we left on 2nd Sept! Make sure you take a torch as it gets very dark! Short walk to toilet facilities from our pitch but v uneven path so torch needed though main path lit. Toilet/washing facilities were super. Separate male and female but all in same building so easy to keep an eye on our boys. Super facilities if you have wee ones too. All the staff we came across spoke enough English for us to be able to make ourselves understood!

We were at front of site so only had a short walk to the main lake and adventure areas which were amazing. A large water play area with climbing frames, fountains etc IN the water and lots of climbing/adventure trails around the edges too, so even though it was v busy there was always space to do things.

The lake was beautifully clean. At first we stayed on the 'Small beach', which we had almost to ourselves - when we first arrived the 'Main beach' was packed solid, but later when it was a bit quieter we also enjoyed the larger area. Life guards kept a close eye on the water slide mainly. The depth was shown by a line of bouys so it was easy to insist that our boys stay within their depth.

You could also hire kayaks etc on the rest of the lake. We just used our own dinghy in the swimming area.

We enjoyed strolling round the lake in the evenings when the day visitors had left - the sunsets over the lake were beautiful! At the far end we also discovered tennis courts, basketball court, exercise trail, petanque (SP?) area which were also free.

Cycling from the site was amazing - labelled cycle routes - we also got a map that showed cycle routes, lovely almost flat routes, often away from traffic completely if not then on well made cycle paths.

Basically a fab site in a beautiful area. The only downside for me was the traffic noise at night - as it was just off the motorway the noise continued all night. We're used to a constant background hum of traffic from where we live in the UK but this was quite a bit louder, so if you're sensitive to night noise you might want earplugs, though I was the only one in our family party that was particularly bothered by it!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J1mm1nycr1cket 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site with great facilities for children. Huge, wooded area with reasonable size pitches among the trees. We were a short walk from the swimming lake where there was a lifeguard on duty most of the day. There's a clubhouse with some entertainment in the evenings, although the brochure is in Flemish so didn't really understand what was going on and without speaking Dutch or Flemish, you'd struggle to get involved with some activities for adults. However, there were a few simple craft activities for children which were easy to join in with and the teenage leaders spoke English. The best part about this site is the beautiful setting, the swimming lake and paddling pool. We loved the slide that drops you into the lake and our girls aged 4, 7 and 10 spent a lot of time in the paddling pool and surrounding beach. The showers were good with plenty of hot water, but you have to pay for a card which activates the showers for an additional cost (about €5 I think).

We spent a great night in the on site bar watching an hilarious group who dress up as famous singers and mime to their hits, plus a few traditional Flemish songs as well. Our children joined them in a conga line, it was great fun.

In terms of location, it's not really near to any major cities, but it's a Forest Park, so you should plan to stay mostly on site. If you want access to cities, have a look round for something else. Nearest town is Turnhout. Worth a look, but limited appeal as it's quite small. Breda isn't that far away and has some museums, a castle etc.

We're definitely going back here, it's easily one of the best sites we've stayed at in Belgium. If you've got children, you should have a great time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lohtsg06 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, the only one in Europe we've returned to after 10 years. Not because the rest are bad, but this one is just so good and as indicated by other reviewers, amazing value considering the facilities and how well maintained it all is. We have 5 kids and rarely find value in the UK; almost manage to turn up a nugget like this in Europe (using sites like this).

De Lilse Bergen is as described by other reviewers, a 10/10 site especially if you've kids to amuse and/or like cycling - we have just done a 14 mile ride on the trails around the site with a 7 year old pedalling herself, the surroundings are so flat and beautiful and traffic free, it's an absolute joy.

Agree re only downpoint being site shop, but who ever relies on them anyway! Plenty of supermarkets about in Beerse and Gierle etc.

We rented a caravan for about in height of summer, nice new one, with hammock, BBQ, and everything else you'd expect at an unbelievably good price. Much rather spend a few quid getting here to get away from my fellow countrymen and give the kids this experience abroad. Can't big up the lake enough - great water quality and so safe for the kids. Beach was rammed on the Sunday but plenty of room other days - had to crow bar the kids off it at 8pm on a couple of nights. Certainly kept the holiday spends under control!

Tips - get early ferry if checking in on Friday as the traffic can be a bit much as the afternoon rush hour takes hold. We docked at Calais at 11:00 and that was just about alright. Antwerp is worth a visit on the park n ride; closer Turnhout has a nice shopping street and central square; try the chicken from the mobile van (scrum diddly); bring bikes; hope for good weather!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryandlo 7 reviews from this member

Camping de lisle Bergen

Lovely lovely site in the forest.

Yes your pitch is in the middle of a forest so hardly any sun on your pitch but plenty of shade if that's your thing.

The lake and playground in it is fantastic for kids, two aged 9 and 11 loved it and spent all day amused especially the big slide in the big lake. The lake is knee deep all I over so perfect for any age.

The toilets were fab, would prefer not to have to pay separately for showers (you had to add money to a card and then pop that in your shower, but the money adding machine was near the shop all a bit awkward. If you lost the card you had to pay 25 euros's.

The shop wasn't great, you had to order fresh bread but we didn't know this so nipped out to the local shops. It didn't stock any ice so you need a good fridge.

The lake bar was ok and reasonably priced.

Wasps are a bit of a pain but you get use to it.

I use to run around the lake each morning it's about a mile so s good run.

Overall a good site and experience in Belgium for the first time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite as we fancied Europe but were really disappointed with the prices being charged by Dutch and French campsites. Completely agree with the other comments – the photos do not do this campsite justice!

Unlike UK sites, where you are told strictly how to pitch your unit and charge you extra for gazebos, here you are given a huge pitch, and you can put up whatever you like, and wherever you like! This meant we were able to pitch our two caravans with the doors facing each other, and even with the awnings up we still had masses of space – the pitches are huge! Sitting outside on a warm summers evening, looking out on the lake was total bliss!

Plus points – this site is so reasonable! We paid £275 for four people for two weeks in the middle of the school holidays! Cars are not permitted to be parked directly on the pitches so the roadways are completely safe for children to play. The washroom facilities are spotless, and whole campsite is really clean. The lake is really well laid out, with designated areas for swimming and water sports, and the lifeguards are on site and actually seem to care about their roles!

The mobile chicken spit lorry is a must if it is on site – a huge roast chicken for about £5 and it is lush!

Negative points – hardly any! The shop is pretty useless, but there are loads of small supermarkets nearby so not really an issue.

In summary, this place is amazing, and I would recommend to anyone!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swanny65 11 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites that we have visited. The pictures on the website don't do it justice.

We arrived at the end of August and the site had already started to slow down for winter. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was almost no tourers or motorhomes on site when we left. That said the facilities we used were all open / running and we had freedom to do whatever we liked.

Pitches excellent size with plenty of privacy. Toilets were spotless and clean. Showers were 20c a minute paid for by loading a prepaid card.

The lake is magnificent. It has a blue flag. We canoed on the lake most days and there are several safe swimming areas.

Our children also loved the huge range of facilities on offer including tennis, football, boules, skateboarding. An excellent location for cyclist as there are many cycle routes from the park.

There were a couple of small towns nearby for shopping and fuel etc.

We would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmrscrew 13 reviews from this member

We're just back from a great two weeks here, facilities are clean and tidy, blocks 1 & 2 are most modern and have toilets/showers for todlers and baby baths. The pitches are large as the local caravanners seem to like to spread! Ours had two big trees in it but there was still plenty of room. Pitches could be better checked inbetween campers, we had to clear dog poo from ours. The reception staff speak good english and staff are mostly helpful. There was however one man in a golf buggy that nearly ran us off the road and then came back to scald us like naughty children for pushing our bikes through a no cycling area. The lake is great and the pictures don't do the play area justice, its like they couldn't stop them selves building more! Also there's a small play area and ping pong tables outside the toilet blocks. When you arrive you get a card to get in and out, you also need to charge the card to pay for showers, there not expensive and it means there's never a wait, our boys had a competition to spend least in the shower. To help you recycle you can only dispose of waste in their orange bags and at over a euro each, it works, as we used very few. Normally paying extra for showers winds me right up but as the site is so cheap it diddnt really matter. There are lots of pine cones and hungry midges! Its not brilliantly placed for days out but if the weathers on your side you wont need to. Overall a great site.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lille Gierle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5451 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019