Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colks Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Norwich > Colks Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Colks Farm Certificated Site
Frogge Lane
Great Hautbois
Coltishall
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR12 7JU
Tel: 01603 737506
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anneo7 9 reviews from this member

 What a delightful small quiet site tucked away in the Norfolk countryside.

Spaces for 5 units but no toilets or showers open due to the covid restrictions. Welcoming owners with local information.

We cycled into Wroxham alongside the Bure narrow gauge railway, about 5 miles. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spadgesparrow 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site with very friendly hosts.

The site is in a lovely farm setting. It was very clean and tidy with excellent facilities - toilets, water, and disposal.

We stayed 4 nights and met up with friends from the other end of the country.

I would recommend this campsite.

I think the site is child free. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Genieb 15 reviews from this member

 Very nice site ok the weather helped because it was great. The site, well positioned and nice spaces between units, water point very handy and easy to use. Emptying points also very handy. All grass but tidy, neat and mown everywhere else, gravel. Nice walks round about and Wroxham, gate way to The Broards, short drive away. The owners, very pleasant and welcoming. If we are in the area again will certainly use. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick S. 37 reviews from this member

 All I can do here is back-up what everyone else says. I don't really need to leave a review, but feel it wouldn't be fair if I didn't.

Its a cracking little site, very friendly owners, and very peaceful (aforementioned helicopters aside). Bizarrely, it appears to be underused for some reason. On our last night, we were the only ones there. Its almost as if everyone stores their unit in the adjacent barns, then heads off elsewhere to 'holiday'.

But, on a selfish note, it gives me more of a chance to return at short notice if no-one else wants to use the place!

As regards the waste emptying; everyone seemed to tip theirs in the boundary hedge/ditch behind their unit. We were pointed to the toilet cassette point for the emptying of, with no mention made of 'waste water'. And, given it is indeed a yard off the ground, I for one wasn't prepared to attempt to lift maybe 40 kilos of water up into it, as it plainly wasn't set up for this. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buntystarr 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to this wonderful quiet and peaceful site three times now and we will definitely return. Angela is such a charming host and makes you at home from the moment you arrive. The toilets are spotlessly clean. There is a small book exchange there which is good for avid readers, and lots of information brochures. There are lots of places to visit such as the city of Norwich and the Norfolk Broads to name a few. We have just come back from this lovely site after a week of lovely relaxation and lovely weather. We will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Colks Farm is a small camp site set on a working farm just outside Coltishall that also has facilities for storing caravans. The owners are very friendly and obliging, with a deposit being required by post in advance whilst the balance can be settled up during your stay. At just 14 per night including hook-up it is superb value for money.

The campsite consists of a neatly grassed area that has hook-ups for about half-a-dozen caravans. Adjacent, in an old, converted stable block, there are male and female toilets, a washing-up room with information leaflets and a used book exchange, and what looked like a shower block under construction (but which was not yet in commission when we visited in the last week of April). The facilities are very well maintained, my only criticism being that the toilets would benefit from the installation of an electric hand dryer. Elsewhere, there is a fresh water tap in the camping field itself and an elsan disposal point in the main yard, although the lip on it is quite high, requiring wastemasters to be hauled up about three feet for emptying.

It's location up a narrow country lane lends Colks Farm an immensely peaceful ambience, disturbed on occasions only by low-flying helicopters. As the next door Coltishall airfield is no longer a front-line RAF base, it would appear that most of these are actually flying in and out of Norwich Airport to service offshore oil and gas installations. Colks Farm just happens to be on the flight path. That said, their coming and going shouldn't disrupt anyones sleep.

Nearby attractions include the charming town of Wroxham with its shops and supermarket that are mostly owned by some guy called Roy (and from which river cruises can also be taken to explore the Norfolk Broads), as well as the seaside resorts of Lowestoft, Great Yarmouth, Cromer and Sheringham. Oh, and not forgetting the fine city of Norwich, of course. Sheringham is also the terminus of the preserved North Norfolk Railway, whilst National Trust properties within easy drive include the splendid Blickling Hall and Felbrigg House. And if wild and deserted places are your aphrodisiac, then the whole continuous stretch of beach and dunes between Sea Palling and Winterton awaits - including the seal colonies to be found basking on the section adjacent to Horsey.

Meanwhile, other towns to hand - boasting shops and supermarkets of their own - include Aylsham, North Walsham and Stalham, the latter also hosting a lively Sundays and Fridays car boot sale signposted off the main A1151 road from Hoveton.

Furthermore, if you're a cyclist, it's worth noting - and this is not indicated on any OS map - that because the nearby Bure Valley Railway is now a narrow-gauge heritage railway constructed on a standard-gauge track bed, half of the track bed has now been given over to a footpath/cycleway that affords an excellent traffic-free route into Wroxham and Aylsham. Access is gained nearby at either Coltishall station or the bridge alongside the village pond in Great Hautbois. In addition - and which is marked on OS maps - the stillness and breathtaking beauty of the riverside walk from nearby Buxton Mill to Oxnead is truly something to be savoured, especially on a warm, summer evening. It can be accessed on foot from either aforementioned Bure Valley railway line - making for a circa 13 miles round trip - or by parking up in Buxton village itself in order to afford a shorter version.

All told, Colks Farm should make for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and we thoroughly recommend both the site and the wonders of the Norfolk coast and countryside that it will open up for the caravanner.

PS - Some Satnavs may direct you to Colks Farm along the A140 Cromer Road and then cross country through Little Hautbois. However, whilst delightfully scenic, its byways can be a bit tight for caravans. Therefore, the preferred route off the Norwich By-Pass should always be the B1150 through Coltishall village. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NannaB 41 reviews from this member

 Just came back today from this lovely site after 8 days and what a site it is too. Really didn't want to write a review as we want to keep it special.

We had a warm welcome from Angela and shown where to put our van and where things were. The water tap was in the corner and the Elsan just a few steps beyond.

The toilets were spotlessly clean and fresh smelling with the added bonus of a sink with hot and cold water. Seems no plans now for showers as the electric can be erratic and water also but then if you have a caravan you usually have wash facilities and if in a tent you can have strip wash at the sink in the loos. No problems there then.

Roys in Wroxham was great for food shopping and prices were good too.

Never been to this part of Norfolk before - always on the coast before and we now know what we were missing! Not too far from Great Yarmouth and Cromer just down the road.

North Walsham was lovely too. Went to the Rising Sun for a meal but no one was eating and no atmosphere so we went to the Ferry Boat Inn in Horning. They have a carvery as well as main menu and the food for really good. Also had a couple of singers there at the time we went which added to somethng too. Ken's Fish and Chip Shop in Wroxham is the one to go to as well.

In Coltishall itself (though we never used them) are a butchers, Londis, fish and chips, garage for fuel and a nice tea room. All in all a great place visit.

Frank even went to the trouble of giving us a free newspaper a couple of times and Angela didn't come looking for payment until we were packing to leave. We certainly will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LlaniDavis 12 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from this site, and oh what a pleasure it was!

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Norfolk. The field has a feel of being part of Angela and her husband's garden. Quite flat and well drained, even considering the weather this year.

Water tap in the corner, so not far to walk, and excellent toilet and washing facilities in an annex to the long barn just through a gate, even down to a bunch of real roses in a vase, that smelt wonderful. The only thing missing for campers is a shower.

Lots of tourist information leaflets in the washing room, and they were both willing to give advice on what was available locally.

Fair walk into Coltishall, but once there the facilities were good, with a petrol station, small supermarket, chemist, and several pubs. We had a lovely meal at The Kings Head on Wroxham Rd, but it might be worth booking as it gets busy.

For a gentle day out catch the Bure Valley Railway train from Coltishall Station and combine it with a Broads trip from Wroxham. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anjo 13 reviews from this member

 We must confirm the comments of previous campers to this site, What a very nice and well kept place, so peaceful, and in very nice surroundings. Angela & Frank are very welcoming and enjoy having a chat and a laugh with you. The price we feel is very reasonable at 13 per night inc EHU. The fresh water is very easily accessible so you are not dragging your water roll very far at all. The toilets are in outbuildings / original stables and like other comments previous often outside old buildings converted to toilets have many a cobweb in them - these are VERY DIFFERENT as NOT A COB WEB IN SIGHT, praise to Angela & Frank for the excellent kept toilet block.

Although there are no showers on site at the moment it does look like these are in the planning as the adjacent stable looks like it is being made into showers. The toilet block has 2 toilets cubicles stated 1 men / 1 for women, the only wish I could put forward at this time is that if / when showers are made then each block would be one for male & one for female each incorporating a toilet & shower, rather then shared toilet block.

Wroxham - is only about 3 miles drive away and very much worth a visit, sit by the river with a drink and watching the ducks and the boats go by. The local shops (Roys) have a good choice of what ever you may be looking for cloths / gifts and a full supermarket.

Sea - palling, is about 10 miles drive away and if you want to have a very nice beach walk it is well worth the travel, this is just a lovely bit of the coastal area.

Gt yarmouth - this was about 1/2 hrs travel from the site.

Our 1st visit to Colks farm and if we were to visit this area again we would have no hesitation in revisiting this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Florence11 4 reviews from this member

 This site is Pure Heaven. So quiet and kept beautifully. Its the only site I have been on where the toilets have not been draped in cobwebs!

Infact the toilets are so clean that you could eat your dinner off the floor! The peace is fantastic and the wildlife just brilliant. The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of nice walks.

You can even walk the 9 mile stretch of the Bure valley railway. The local fish and chip shop is really good, but the local store really expensive. Better to go to Roys of Wroxham for provisions.

The owners Angela and Frank are really genuine and friendly people and make you feel at home.

I feel as though we have found a real little treasure chest here! 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Colks Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colks Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Colks Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Norwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement