Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Bickerton Poacher

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

The Bickerton Poacher
Wrexham Road
Bulkeley
Malpas
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SY14 8BE
Tel: 01829 720226
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marie mullins 1 review from this member

The pub is staffed by extremely friendly and helpful people who serve extremely good food, also lots of friendly local people. The campsite is mainly grass but has a few hardstanding ones.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZIZAG 25 reviews from this member

A gem of a campsite well marked and laid out. Ideal for the Sandstone trail.

Got a nice welcome from the Staff on arrival was able to pick my own pitch, as the site was quite No Other tents.

Nice friendly atmosphere in the pub, which serves a good variety of food at reasonable prices

Toilets lovely and clean only one shower.

All in all good value 10 for one man tent.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StuandJoy 7 reviews from this member

Came back yesterday from a 2 night stay, its a lovely site, right next to the sandstone trail, a steep walk but lovely, the dog loved it.

The site was fine, the pub was great, very friendly, Dog was allowed in while we had a drink and something to eat. There was only one shower and toilet, but it was kept very clean and nice - no charge for hot water, and as the site wasn't very busy it was ok. All in all a nice weekend - just right for us - for campers with kids - no play area but lots of room for ball games

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bighairy 7 reviews from this member

Booked this site for August Bank Holiday as we were visiting friends in the area. Beautiful area with plenty of walks & places to visit. We arrived mid afternoon & checked in at the main bar. The young man showed us to our pitch & pointed out all the necessaries such as toilets, water points, waste etc. He was very polite & made us feel very welcome.

The site itself is behind the pub in a sloping field. The pitches were rather small & could have done with a tidy up as the grass was quite long & bits of sticks & stones were scattered but overall ok. We ate in the pub & it was really good & reasonably priced too. Nice atmosphere & the staff were very attentive. The big let down of this site is the toilet block. There is one loo & one shower for the women & same for the men & they are really old & very tatty but clean. The shower turns to a dribble when there is water being used elsewhere & the door was useless & the chemical disposal was disgusting. One last couple of moans, we were on pitch number one & the pub staff were constantly burning rubbish next to us & we were worried at one point about the embers landing on our awning. Felt a bit awkward having them all sat on the wall next to us smoking too if I'm honest & wasps were a real nuisance.

That aside we paid 60 for 3 nights with hook up & we did have a good time. I have to say, I think the pub is great & I would go back to this place. I would like The Bickerton Poacher to update its facilities as we really would like to go back but the scruffy facilities does make me think I'd try somewhere else first

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Paul H 11 reviews from this member

Great site in the country side with good easy road access and it is attached to a fantastic pub of the same name, with great food and a good selection of real ales on offer. The camp site toilets and shower are limited but clean plus you are welcome to use the pub toilets when busy they also serve breakfast from 8AM and offer a basic emergency groceries service. We had a great weekend here and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowky67 1 review from this member

First time camping - very nice site stayed the Friday and Saturday evening must have been the same weekend as Mr Bungle 72 as we and our grandchildren were also disturbed by the rowdy drunken capers of these campers! Real shame as it's a lovely setting with a lovely pub attached, great take out menu, toilets and other amenities were clean.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Us nmatt 14 reviews from this member

Beautiful location and scenery. Glad we had our own facilities in van. In fact the only requirement we had was to fill our water hog. Tap was the push sort which was a real pain, too low for a hog, kinked pipe. Not good. Should be replaced with a normal tap.

Wish they insisted that other visitors keep their dogs on leads as it wasn't nice having random dogs coming onto our pitch and upsetting our restrained dogs. Could they actually 'police' the dog fouling when they were able to run wild?

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbungle72 4 reviews from this member

This camp-site is set in a beautiful part of the countryside with a fantastic sandstone walk right across the road.

The electric hookup was only 15 per night. That's the Pros.

The camp-site field is on a slope full of pot holes.

The pitches are very small with no room for your car to be parked next to your tent. You have to walk past the very smelly bins to exit the camp-site field. Only 1 toilet/shower per gender, and please note that these are shared by the patrons of the Pub too.

Food is overpriced (11 for a cheese ploughman's lunch).

But by far the worst experience was on Saturday night when 15+ regulars camped in the middle of the field and got so drunk after being in the pub all day and night set about playing music till 2:30am and threatened to burn a families tent down because they complained. A booze fuelled scuffle broke out and died down after the whole camp-site woke up including scared and crying children. The camp-site/Pub owners were nowhere to be seen.

Real shame because the area is beautiful. I will not be returning, ever.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sidecardave 5 reviews from this member

Good points, nice location, good views, good children's play area, cheap (12 per night), friendly and helpful staff, on site pub.

Less good points, ground pretty uneven and full of rabbit holes makes tent pitching harder.

Small pitches, we camped on adjacent pitches with our friends who also have a family sized tent, and there wasn't a lot of spaces between our tents. The pitches were not wide enough to pitch sideways.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ballycfc 5 reviews from this member

First time camping, this was a lovely site and we managed to get the last plot and for 15 for the night was great value, plenty of room for our tent and car. The only noise that bothered us was birdsong and that was lovely, even 8 young DofE kids next to us were quiet and their leaders kept checking they weren't too noisy. Pub was good and kids enjoyed the play area, small but useful shop in the pub.

Would we go again - most definitely.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3576 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019