Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of The Bickerton Poacher

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Malpas > The Bickerton Poacher Reviews

The Bickerton Poacher
Wrexham Road
Bulkeley
Malpas
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SY14 8BE
Tel: 01829 720226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vermiglio 1 review from this member

 Stay here with family as it was our brother in law 60th birthday,

Campsite brill beautiful trees on grassed areas

Lovely view

Friendly people on site

We did get told off twice for being a wee bit loud in night time but it was 11. 30 but staff was lovely about it and we did lower noise.

Had plenty drinks food in bar, bit dear but omg food out this world

Staff was so lovely polite friendly.

The only downside to campsite is one toilet and one shower in ladies, need more showers an toilets

But apart from that an awesome site bar and campsite

Will be coming back again as we loved it and plenty walks around area

Fabulous I would rate it 8/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Pikee5101067qmg 1 review from this member

 Cracking site. we will be back at new year. good location .we still have your playing cards

Really nice and friendly

Food was very good to

Only down side just one loo and one shower

Regards paul & Jan 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kcolvile 1 review from this member

 Good points - tent pitch was good and access to nice walk from the site. Playground was good to have on site

Bad points - do not take good measures with Covid-19 hygiene in facilities. The cleaning sheet advising when toilet/shower were cleaned only showed once on the Friday lunchtime to Sunday when we checked out. They ask you to shut the door, I assume so it limits the people (itís a small space), however people just walk in as the lock is broken.

There is a pack of surface wipes resting on top of the mirror which didnít give me much hope on how deep they were actually cleaned. On Sunday the rubbish bin was overflowing with paper towels.

There is only one shower which has one toilet cubicle and itís where the outside seating area is for the pub. I felt awkward waiting with my daughters shower stuff whilst people were eating.

Also the site is next to a road which does have large trucks go down early on the morning. If you are used to a bit of traffic noise it wouldnít affect you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marie mullins 1 review from this member

 The pub is staffed by extremely friendly and helpful people who serve extremely good food, also lots of friendly local people.

The campsite is mainly grass but has a few hardstanding ones. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZIZAG 28 reviews from this member

 A gem of a campsite well marked and laid out. Ideal for the Sandstone trail.

Got a nice welcome from the Staff on arrival was able to pick my own pitch, as the site was quite No Other tents.

Nice friendly atmosphere in the pub, which serves a good variety of food at reasonable prices

Toilets lovely and clean only one shower.

All in all good value £10 for one man tent. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StuandJoy 7 reviews from this member

 Came back yesterday from a 2 night stay, its a lovely site, right next to the sandstone trail, a steep walk but lovely, the dog loved it.

The site was fine, the pub was great, very friendly, Dog was allowed in while we had a drink and something to eat.

There was only one shower and toilet, but it was kept very clean and nice - no charge for hot water, and as the site wasn't very busy it was ok. All in all a nice weekend - just right for us - for campers with kids - no play area but lots of room for ball games 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bighairy 7 reviews from this member

 Booked this site for August Bank Holiday as we were visiting friends in the area. Beautiful area with plenty of walks & places to visit. We arrived mid afternoon & checked in at the main bar. The young man showed us to our pitch & pointed out all the necessaries such as toilets, water points, waste etc. He was very polite & made us feel very welcome.

The site itself is behind the pub in a sloping field. The pitches were rather small & could have done with a tidy up as the grass was quite long & bits of sticks & stones were scattered but overall ok. We ate in the pub & it was really good & reasonably priced too. Nice atmosphere & the staff were very attentive. The big let down of this site is the toilet block. There is one loo & one shower for the women & same for the men & they are really old & very tatty but clean. The shower turns to a dribble when there is water being used elsewhere & the door was useless & the chemical disposal was disgusting. One last couple of moans, we were on pitch number one & the pub staff were constantly burning rubbish next to us & we were worried at one point about the embers landing on our awning. Felt a bit awkward having them all sat on the wall next to us smoking too if I'm honest & wasps were a real nuisance.

That aside we paid £60 for 3 nights with hook up & we did have a good time. I have to say, I think the pub is great & I would go back to this place. I would like The Bickerton Poacher to update its facilities as we really would like to go back but the scruffy facilities does make me think I'd try somewhere else first 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big Paul H 12 reviews from this member

 Great site in the country side with good easy road access and it is attached to a fantastic pub of the same name, with great food and a good selection of real ales on offer. The camp site toilets and shower are limited but clean plus you are welcome to use the pub toilets when busy they also serve breakfast from 8AM and offer a basic emergency groceries service. We had a great weekend here and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowky67 1 review from this member

 First time camping - very nice site stayed the Friday and Saturday evening must have been the same weekend as Mr Bungle 72 as we and our grandchildren were also disturbed by the rowdy drunken capers of these campers! Real shame as it's a lovely setting with a lovely pub attached, great take out menu, toilets and other amenities were clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Us nmatt 14 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location and scenery. Glad we had our own facilities in van. In fact the only requirement we had was to fill our water hog. Tap was the push sort which was a real pain, too low for a hog, kinked pipe. Not good. Should be replaced with a normal tap.

Wish they insisted that other visitors keep their dogs on leads as it wasn't nice having random dogs coming onto our pitch and upsetting our restrained dogs. Could they actually 'police' the dog fouling when they were able to run wild? 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Bickerton Poacher child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bickerton Poacher?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bickerton Poacher dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malpas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements