Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bickerton Poacher

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Malpas > The Bickerton Poacher > Reviews

The Bickerton Poacher
Wrexham Road
Bulkeley
Malpas
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SY14 8BE
Tel: 01829 720226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pasopton 5 reviews from this member

 This site is very handy due to it being part of a very good pub for good value food and atmosphere.

There is good walking out on the adjacent Sandstone trail of Cheshire across the road and within short drives to the bonny old town of Nantwich or Wrexham & Chester.

The Shower & Toilet facilities are up deep steps & around a winding path to the rear of the pub. The male side could really do with some improvements and refurbishment to the door fittings and quite small shower cubicles, (Small door hooks & no shelves for washroom bags).

Due to the very adverse weather this winter the ground surrounding the Electric pitches was very soft, with the few hard standing ones being purely strips for the caravan wheels.

A drier experience would probably have resulted in a more positive review although the toilet & shower comments are still valid.

There is no passing Bus service here to Wrexham or Chester. Although apparently there was a bus stop down the road for a service to Nantwich & Tarporley. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Nickit 1 review from this member

 Great campsite excellent food available

Clean showers and toilets.

Only issue was the lack of respect by other campers. Returning back to their tents at 1 in the morning shouting the odds. (but that can happen anywhere)

Quite a bit of road noise from lorries at 4am 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Djaffray 1 review from this member

 Staff were amazing made us feel so welcome, the food in the Bickerton was beautiful and so reasonably priced.

We actually took our own food and ended up eating out for every meal bar one as it was so good! Even our 3 dogs were catered for. Excellent facilities clean and well stocked.

As for location beautiful surroundings excellent for dog walkers! Lots of things to see Cheshire workshops and ice cream farm etc. We will absolutely be back.

If I had to be critical I would suggest the bins be moved to different location as very smelly and need to pass each time using facilities or going to pub! And clearly visible from camp field. But hey I'm sure somebody would moan if they were out of sight!

Good job Bickerton poacher see you soon x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tomemma 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite with fantastic pub on site.

Site was clean and well maintained, and was very easy to check in.

Toilets and showers were very clean, was a little doubtful because of previous reviews but can honestly say they were lovely!

Amazing home cooked food in the pub, and the staff were extremely friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Lovely little walk close by for the dog.

Great little park for kids- we didnít take our children this time, however we will definitely return with them.

Fantastic little weekend break. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gregw4 1 review from this member

 The site is small and relevantly well run staff where polite on arrival and showed us all the facilities. The pub itself is fantastic and staff where more then accommodating during our stay.

I have to say the washrooms where horrendous which really put a a bit of a dampener on the trip. They looked like they had not been cleaned all weekend and the was no toilet roll on occasions.

I found the access gate to the site a little tight and the is a whopping great big container which is poorly sited making the access a little tricky for larger caravans.

I don't think I would rush back with such a young family  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Xr2020 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with loads of flat pitches.

Beautiful surroundings and the pub is amazing! Great food and opens for breakfast, does takeaways too.

Only negative is the toilet/shower facilities.

There's only one loo and one shower! Really needs rethinking by management as it's such a nice site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vermiglio 1 review from this member

 Stay here with family as it was our brother in law 60th birthday,

Campsite brill beautiful trees on grassed areas

Lovely view

Friendly people on site

We did get told off twice for being a wee bit loud in night time but it was 11. 30 but staff was lovely about it and we did lower noise.

Had plenty drinks food in bar, bit dear but omg food out this world

Staff was so lovely polite friendly.

The only downside to campsite is one toilet and one shower in ladies, need more showers an toilets

But apart from that an awesome site bar and campsite

Will be coming back again as we loved it and plenty walks around area

Fabulous I would rate it 8/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Pikee5 1 review from this member

 Cracking site. we will be back at new year. good location .we still have your playing cards

Really nice and friendly

Food was very good to

Only down side just one loo and one shower

Regards paul & Jan 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 33 reviews from this member

 First weekend away after lock down.

Pub and staff really good and friendly. Great service

Facilities ok. Nice views accross countryside.

Entrance to the site quiet tight. Wouldnt take a lot to widen the entrance.

Pitches not the best, some a bit sloopy, but overall for the money worth it.

Will go again 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kcolvile 1 review from this member

 Good points - tent pitch was good and access to nice walk from the site. Playground was good to have on site

Bad points - do not take good measures with Covid-19 hygiene in facilities. The cleaning sheet advising when toilet/shower were cleaned only showed once on the Friday lunchtime to Sunday when we checked out. They ask you to shut the door, I assume so it limits the people (itís a small space), however people just walk in as the lock is broken.

There is a pack of surface wipes resting on top of the mirror which didnít give me much hope on how deep they were actually cleaned. On Sunday the rubbish bin was overflowing with paper towels.

There is only one shower which has one toilet cubicle and itís where the outside seating area is for the pub. I felt awkward waiting with my daughters shower stuff whilst people were eating.

Also the site is next to a road which does have large trucks go down early on the morning. If you are used to a bit of traffic noise it wouldnít affect you. 
via mobile


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Bickerton Poacher child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bickerton Poacher?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bickerton Poacher dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malpas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement