Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church House Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Congleton > Church House Inn Reviews

Church House Inn
Buxton Road
Buglawton
Congleton
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW12 2DY
Tel: 01260 272466
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davij 11 reviews from this member

 First time I had tried a pub site, so didn't know what to expect.

This is a small cl type site with spaces for 5 or 6 units.

Facilities on site are a water tap and elsan point, toilets are available in the pub during open hours.

If it has a down side it would be the entrance, as we have a twin axle and the site is on a small sloped hill, as you enter and the car climbs the back end of the caravan namely the back steadies hit the floor, so it grounded out, however luckily we had a mover and unhitched the van, lowered the nose on the jockey wheel which gave enough clearance.

The owner was very helpful and helped with the mover to aid the caravan onto pitch. So problems overcome.

The staff in the pub are very welcoming, the cask ales go down a treat and the meals they serve are probably some of the best pub food for quality I've had for a long time.

The site is approx 1 mile from the little town centre, national trust properties especially little Morton Hall is about 5 miles and is a must to see.

Overall good basic site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bassjocky 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 very relaxing days at this site, a very friendly greeting from Barbara on arrival.

We were allocated pitch number 5, being the only one available. Unfortunately it was '6 inches' out of level, if we hadn't found a large concrete block we would not have been able to pitch there. Consequently every entry into and out of the van was a struggle. If you haven't got a double step and and large leveling ramps avoid this pitch. As far as I could see there was only one other pitch with a grassy area to use an awning, and one of those had a long staying visitor on it.

A very cramped site, but quiet, peaceful, and friendly.

Pub toilets were not accessible till after 9 am, so had to use our van toilet more than we had liked.

The pub is lovely, the staff very friendly and helpful, and of course the cask ales help :)

Absolutely nothing to do or see, a perfect place to fully relax and wind down.

Overall ratings were affected by the uneven pitch.

Child friendliness rating was affected by the copious amount of stinging nettles on the path to the grassy area.

If the pitches were not so out of level this site would have got 10/10, a real shame. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RaySmith 3 reviews from this member

 My wife Kay and I have just enjoyed an 3 night stay at the Church House Inn, we were met with great warmth and friendliness by Barbara and her Staff.

They showed us to our Pitch and even helped us to get parked up which we thought was very decent of them.

There are only 5 pitches all of a very generous size, unfortunately there are no toilets on the pitch site, only at the Inn until closing, there is a water tap and a waste and chemical toilet emptying point, some of the pitches are Level but all are hard standing.

This was our first ever stay behind a Pub/Inn and we were dubious about the amount of noise caused by the drinkers at closing time, but this was an unfounded concern we never heard one bit of noise.

There are plenty of places to eat in Congleton but we chose to eat at the Inn and we were not disappointed by our choice, the food on every night of our stay was to die for and the portions of food were enormous and the prices for the delicious meals were very reasonable.

If we had had the time to spare we would have asked if we could have stayed longer, that is how much we enjoyed their hospitality

A great Thank you to the owners and all the other staff, and Yes we will be returning again.

Our only sorrow was we left without being able to say Thank you and Goodbye as the Inn was closed when we left on Monday. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights after spending New Year in Scotland. Toilet in pub and usable between 8am to 1am when Hotel/Pub open. Hard standings, hook ups, water and Chemical loo point, all you need but do need your own facilities for washing up and showers etc. Great views and some great walks lots of walkers even in January. Bus runs between Coniston and Ulverston every two hours bus stop on pub door step.

The Church House Inn very 'olde worlde' and cosy with log fire and food (did not eat here but was very popular) staff very helpful and good. The Wilson Arms over the road also had log fires and did food, again we did not eat but this too was very popular and again staff very good and helpful.

Would use again next time in the summer. We were in a Motor Home and roads were a bit narrow sometimes but the little bus had no problems. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alaud 19 reviews from this member

 This was a a very nice site, pitches are a nice size but a bit tight to get into but owner was very willing to help you. It is right behind the pub which does nice food and a good pint. You can walk into Congleton which is just over a mile and down a hill but there are quite a few different ways to go. Its got a nice selection of shops including a morrisons in town and tesco just out of town. They have got a lovely park and you can walk alongside the river and back to the site. We stopped for a week and had a really good time. It was £12 pn and no facilities but we feel it was worth it. We hope to go again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arrachogaidh 15 reviews from this member

 We used this site for one night whilst travelling from NEC to Scotland. We did use the pub and had some good food and a couple of pints of Mr Scrooge Christmas Ale in front of a log fire. It is nice inside and has a pool table and outside seating area for summer use. When I booked in the lady showed me the available pitches. Our motorhome is 27ft so was a bit big for one or two pitches. There is also a steepish rise so careful clutch control will avoid problems.

Easy to get to from M6 Jct 17 (about 8 miles), with the town centre nearby for shops (Tesco & Shell filling station within 1 mile).

A good overnight stop providing you have your own facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Christine anne 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed in our camper van behind Church House for three nights, although the facilities were basic we enjoyed it very much and intend to return.

There are no showers and you would have to use the pubs loo, but the surrounds more than make up for it. Each visiting van is in a bay of its own and the site is surrounded in trees, you would never know that you were so close to a main road.

The staff and management made us feel so welcome, and the food was excellent. The pub is very friendly and you soon make friends. It is one of the old style with something always going on, and an obvious support of charity.

Congleton is within walking distance, or ten minutes on the local bus. It is worth a visit to see all the statues of bears as Congleton is known as “bear town” 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Prospect35 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights at this lovely site, had a great time. Entertainment at the pub Sat night was Elvis tribute night which was brill, Graham and Barbara the landlord and landlady were so friendly.

Food is lovely the homemade chips are to die for. £12 a night, hard standing on this five van site. We had some lovely walks along the canal and Astbury Mere just 10 mins away.

Shopping in Congleton was fun with a drink at the Beartown Tap. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anngbrown 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a campsite. We stayed there for 1 night at the weekend. On arriving we were made to feel very welcome by Barbara (the proprietor)and her staff.

For £12 a night we were on a nice hardstanding pitch and was informed by Barbara that had we wished to stay another night even though the site was booked she would allow us to stay on the car park at a fraction of the cost.

Its location is perfect for Congleton its just a nice 1 mile stroll. We ate in the pub which was very pleasant and at reasonable cost. We will certainly be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greenway 7 reviews from this member

 We used this site for one night whilst travelling from Cornwall to Scotland so that we could visit friends in nearby Sandbach. Because of this we did not use the pub so cannot really comment on it, but it did look nice inside when I booked in.

Easy to get to from M6 (about 8 miles), with the town centre nearby for shops.

Online booking was straight forward, and got a prompt email from Barbara to confirm it.

A good overnight stop providing you have your own facilities. The pitch wasn't quite level, but for one night it wasn't enough to worry me. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Church House Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Church House Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Church House Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Congleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement