Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Robinson

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Bourges > Camping Robinson Reviews

Camping Robinson
26 Boulevard De L Industrie
Bourges
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
18000
Tel: +33 2 48 20 16 85
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 99
Open: 30/03 To 20/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

As a previous review says, this is an uninspiring, no-frills site, fine for a one-night stopover, but we stayed for two nights because we wanted to spend a day seeing Bourges.

The site is on a main road and there is not much room for units waiting to check in - they have to use an area on the other side of the main road. However the site has its own traffic light which makes coming and going a lot easier.

We were allocated a hard standing pitch which had some litter on it, and the water tap drain smelt awful, so we poured some Zoflora down it which helped! We were near the toilet block, and suffered from people constantly using our pitch as a short cut to the showers. The facilities were utilitarian and although toilet paper was provided, it wasn't replaced promptly when it ran out. On our second morning, my OH said there was none in any of the mens' cubicles. However the showers had plenty of hot water.

On both nights a rotisserie chicken van came for a couple of hours, because there is no shop or cafe on the site. There is a wifi zone near reception but not a lot of places to sit.

As you would expect with an overnight stop there were a lot of comings and goings, and some of the chalets had rather noisy groups staying in them.

We walked into Bourges and followed our Michelin Guide's walking tour. What an interesting city - so many wonderful old buildings, many dating from the Middle Ages. The cathedral is one of the finest we've seen, with stunning stained glass. Even on a Sunday there weren't many people about, but we found a lively square (Place Gordaine) with several bars and cafes, and a market nearby.

Well worth a visit, even if the camp site was a bit disappointing.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul the Painter 5 reviews from this member

A lovely clean site situated within walking distance of the town (20 mins).

Very much geared towards towards hardstandings for motorhomes and caravans - lots of people using it for an overnight stop.

The washing facilities were superb, clean and heated (!)

Only disappointment was the size of the camping pitch - we had trouble fitting both car and trailer tent on.

Bread available to order from reception.

An excellent site and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 167 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

This site has newly appeared in the ACSI discount scheme, so we decided to stay overnight on our way south. Our experience was rather dampened by the rain.

We did rather struggle to find the site by sat nav, eventually had to open a GPS map. The site is on a main road on the edge of the town.

Once we found it, we were checked in quickly by the pleasant staff and invited to choose our own pitch from an area. These were gravel pitches, there are grass ones but we were glad of the hard standing.

The sanitary block was nearby, down a grassy slope with wooden edged steps which were rather slippery in the rain. The block has separate facilities for the sexes, and were pleasantly warm.

Washing up is in a separate room, but under the same roof so you can go from one room to another without getting wet. The water was nice and hot. There were no lights outside the sanitary block, a bit of a safety issue.

Because of the rain, we didn't get to look round the rest of the site, but we did walk into town. We didn't notice many places open to eat.

We would be happy to use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

Only a one night stop on the way travelling home. Found it a very pleasant, clean site, friendly staff. Very reasonable price 23 euros for 2 adults and caravan for August. Wifi was available but not great, apparently it is free for the whole of Bourges.

Will return again if driving through.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 39 reviews from this member

This site is now called Camping Robinson with no mention of municipal. However, it seemed to be local municipal workers tidying the flower beds and so on, so it may still be run by the mairie.

This isn't a very inspiring site in our opinion, but we are not particularly keen on hardstandings, which is where our allotted pitch was. The pitches were in pairs surrounded by a hedge, so if your neighbour had a European caravan or motorhome you were likely to have doors facing each other. There was a whole area of lovely looking large grassy pitches in a lower area, but no electricity to them. Our welcome was very friendly, however, and the staff (family?)had some English.

The washing area was split male/female and there was paper in the loos! There were not many loos or showers in the block at the top of the site, but there is another one which wasn't in use at the time.

There was a full range of recycling bins - not something we had always found on our trip.

Bread was not available on site (whether this is always the case, I don't know as we were out of season) and it was a 10 minute walk to the nearest boulangerie. This was closed on the Monday morning we left. However, the garage next door has a small shop which stocks most other basics.

A short walk took us to an open grassy avenue where we could walk into town. Unfortunately, dogs had to be kept on a lead, which was a shame. On the Sunday we were there a music festival was being held, which we could just about hear from the site, but which didn't go on late.

We walked into Bourges on Sunday morning to explore and hoped to find a bar for coffee. However, we found the town was very dead, with a very few restaurants setting up for lunch. We were up by the cathedral, so perhaps we were in the wrong part of town. On another day, it would be a vibrant, interesting town with a busy shopping area, we feel.

We had thought this site to be a municipal and were slightly taken aback by the price. We paid 55 euros for 2 nights with electricity and this out of season. We are 2 adults and 2 dogs.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davidg123 4 reviews from this member

We are a senior couple with touring caravan and used this site for first time on way back up north to channel ferry.

Site reasonably easy to find and only 10 minutes or so from motorway. Pleasant site, we had a large hard standing pitch. Most pitches seemed good size. Site was quiet and not full in September, we had not made any booking.

Reception pleasant and helpful not much English spoken.

Site well kept, toilet block clean although a bit aged with some idiosyncrasies which were more amusing than problematic.

WiFI poor, almost non existent while we were there.

Bourges town is a gem, largest French Cathedral after Notre Dame. Worth a 2 night stop as you can easily fill a day seeing the town which about a 10 minute walk from site.

Would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonpaul 4 reviews from this member

We are a mature couple travelling without children.

We stayed at this municipal site for two nights on our way back north.

The young man on reception was very helpful and spoke English. We had a choice of grass or hard standing pitch. Our pitch was enclosed by hedges and adequately sized although not huge.

There were two toilet blocks which were very clean. The facilities were excellent. The site was peaceful.

Borges is beautiful and has an amazing cathedral which must be visited. The cycling paths are brilliant which seems to be the case in most areas in a France. Borges was only a short distance from the camp site.

The cost was very reasonable, costing 23 euros a night for the motorhome and two people. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PoppyDaisy 7 reviews from this member

I agree with previous reviewers. This is a well kept site with spotless facilities. Decent sized pitches with good proximity to water and EHU. We did however have trouble with the WI-FI. The code we were given didn't work and we were up and down to reception trying to get it fixed but no luck unfortunately. Nevertheless, we would certainly use this site again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawkinsfamily 7 reviews from this member

Great municipal campsite and ideal stopover on the way south. Stopped here for one night, as did lots of others.

Site is close to medieval town with lovely cathedral etc and there is a nice walk along the river. There is a small play area which is nice for kids. Pitches and toilets and showers were all good. Lots of pitches for tents in a wooded area which was quite empty. A little more expensive than some other municipal sites we stayed in (from memory it was around 25 euros for pitch, electric, 2 adults and 2 children) but we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morepints 37 reviews from this member

Perfectly sited stopover, being halfway from Calais to the Med, about 5hrs drive via Paris. Can confirm other comments - well-run muni; having stopped here several times we always feel comfortable and welcome.

This year missed the pizza van; maybe out of season. The walk into town through the park is welcome after an early start and a day on the road. The city is worth a visit; unpretentious but quietly elegant, with a lovely cathedral

The pitches are arranged in two concentric circles; with hardstandings closest to the two loo block on the inner, higher part. Good turf pitches lower down, some almost entirely enclosed. Served by tarmac tracks, and well-lit. Some road noise.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bourges      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4490 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019