Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Maka

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > Auby Sur Semois > Camping Maka Reviews

Camping Maka
Route Du Maka 100
Auby Sur Semois
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: 0032 061 411148
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chisbits 1 review from this member

I feel it is safe to say that this campsite is my camping heaven. If a campsite can still feel magical in torrential continuous rain for the whole week of our stay then- they are doing something right. The owners are also friendly and helpful.

The site is located on the banks of a lovely river which at the start of our stay had a small stoney beach area to skim stones, paddle and do a spot of fishing. There is another tributary which joins at the campsite in which they have laid a rope obstacle course and a zip wire. All perfect for entertaining children (and adults) of many ages.

The toilet block looks relatively new and was spotlessly clean with warm free showers. The washing-up area, although plentiful, could do with a canopy / cover as it rained everyday and made the task a little more onerous!

For those that wish for a more natural camping experience, there are communal fire pit areas or you can hire your own fire pit by your tent for a nominal fee. There are many fire pit cooking and other natural camping accessories to buy in the shop if you want to further enter into the spirit of the site.

In our week of unusually bad weather for may half term, the campsite bar was very welcome. Wood fired pizza's, great Belgian Beer and in-keeping atmosphere make for a fantastic addition to a fantastic site. Just longer opening hours past 8pm would be good although it did encourage a very peaceful feel to the site and an evening migration to the fire pits instead! The 10pm noise curfew was well respected and a helped us get a good sleep before the most amazing dawn chorus starts up.

We hired a Canadian canoe direct from the site, visited castles with falconry shows, Grottes de Han caves and explored a pretty area of Belgium.

If watching Kingfishers catching fish from your pitch, relaxing around the campfire, outdoor type activities, wildlife for the entertainment and gentle adventure are what you are looking for then Camping Maka will not disappoint, even in the pouring rain! Our children of 4 and 8 loved it too.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JustMose 1 review from this member

4 adults spent a long weekend at Camping Maka.

The owner was very helpful and provided local information. The site is in a beautiful location set in woodland alongside the river. The weather was far from perfect but this did not spoil our enjoyment of the scenery, wildlife and one of the most vocal dawn choruses I have ever heard.

Camping Makas facilities were excellent with clean and modern washrooms.

We would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susan Parrish 1 review from this member

We have just arrived back from this gem of a site. We stayed for 9 nights on our way back up from Colmar in France. It was beautiful from the moment we pulled onto the site it just took our breath away. Although the entrance bridge over the meandering stream appears narrow it does provide enough room to negotiate across to the other side.

You are greeted with a nice bar with a terrace overlooking the river and beyond that the reception area and little shop which provides essential items.

It is a dutch family who run the site so English is not a problem and in fact when we stayed, there was a high proportion of campers from the Netherlands and Belgium. I would recommend out of season even booking a pitch. This isn, t to say the site was full by any means but when the weather is hot and sunny which is what it was when we were there I imagine plenty of local people using it.

The shower block was clean and adequate for the time of year we visited. Bread and croissant etc can be ordered the previous night for collection in the morning. Supermarkets aren't that far away with the nearest being in Bertrix.

The site during the day offers bike hire, canoeing and beautiful walks through the surrounding forests. The site is very popular with fishermen, although it was too hot during the days we were there to do any trout fishing but in the cooler evenings (although still 24 degrees) many several hours were spent catching young trout.

In the whole of our 20 years of caravanning we have never spent it on such a quiet site, even during the day it was quiet with the occasional passing car. At night, most people lit campfires which are allowed across from your pitches and we spent our evenings watching the Beevers and listening to the night chorus of the birds in the forest together with barking foxes.

We were extremely lucky with the weather for this time of the year. There isn't a great lot to see and do in the surrounding area - apart from outdoor pursuits, although travelling into France gives you a few more options for visiting castles etc.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lollipop16 4 reviews from this member

My absolute favourite campsite ever! - it's in stunningly beautiful surroundings, they really encourage campfires and it is literally on the banks of the river.

The site is terraced, with all overlooking the river, the electric pitches all overlook down river where it bends into the distance surrounded by forest in either side (you can walk along the riverbank) beautiful!

The owners were very friendly, Dutch, and the majority of other campers during our stay were also Dutch with pretty much everyone speaking English. They ran outdoor cooking days, axe making and Bmx challenges, there were other low key activities such as being sprayed in the river by a tractor hose, the kids loved it!

Around the site the 'play ground' is all natural, a high ropes course that you can just use, wooden swings made from the trees, ropes strung up over a small stream as an obstacle style course, bmx challenges, a zip wire that launches into the river and ultimately the river, it was pretty cold but fab for swimming, using dinghy etc, summer 2015 it didn't have enough water to canoe on but apparently it usually does.

There is a small bar which serves food on site, coffee etc, a shop in reception with fire lighting kit, fire pits and fire cooking equipment which they rent or sell, ice creams etc. Toilet block is modern, clean with plenty of facilities (although remember the loo roll as its not supplied!)

All this and less than 3 hours from the Rotterdam ferry port, loathed to recommend it as it's the best secret but want them to succeed.

(lots to see in the area to, very close to French border and Belguim has loads to offer, the Ardenne is stunning)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Elleakco 1 review from this member

I thought I would write a review of the chalet, as I was curious to see other peoples opinions before we packed, I couldn't find a review so hopefully this will give future chalet go'ers insight.

Our family of 3 stayed at Camping Maka for 5 days in a wooden chalet which are available to rent on the busy family site. The site is well equipped with modern toilet facilities and washing areas. Tokens are available from reception for washer & dryer in which soap and softener automatically run during the cycle so no need to buy!

A wall heater is also supplied in the cabin which kept it nice & snug. We really appreciated it after a day of canoeing in the rain! I recommend a river trip down the Semois! Very peaceful and fresh!

The chalets are perfect for a no frills, simple holiday (which I am not used to) however, I enjoyed it thoroughly & would certainly visit again. Although it was basic it was just right to get by for 5 days.

There are 4 beds in the form of bunk beds, a table for 4 inside & a rack for clothes etc. For cooking there is a 4 burner hob inside, a small work surface & storage rack for food etc. All kitchen utensils & cookware are supplied as well as a water carrier, there isn't a sink or loo in the cabin but fortunately the facilities are

Close by.

Outside is a large bench & BBQ which has to be cleaned (obviously) at the end of your stay. We cleaned it every night so it wasn't so hard to clean. In conclusion, the chalet was very cosy & perfect for a simple back to basics holiday.

Please remember to take toilet tissue and hand soap! I witnessed lots of campers doing there business & never washing their hands even after a number 2! Which is pretty gross but that's just my view.

Moving on, take a torch at night, there are black & yellow salamanders everywhere, if provoked they do spray poison so we were told. We didn't take one on our 1 st night and almost stepped on a few which put me off going for a midnight toilet stop!

There are plenty of activities to do on the site such as canoeing, rock/tree climbing, river ropes & a zip wire, the site has a play area for children & 3 designated fire pits (wood available to buy) There is also a small shop and bar/restaurant. You can order bread & pastries from reception daily.

Bertrix is a close town which has plenty of restaurants, shops and a Carrefour market. There's plenty to do in & around the Ardennes, Luxembourg & France are very close! We visited the caves, safari (same place) the Chateau in Sedan and some other bits and pieces.

I hope this has given you some insight to the campsite generally.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob and chris 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful setting by the river. The owners keep the site immaculately, both landscape and all the facilities. The toilet block is modern and spacious. The small bar/restaurant is cosy and features half a landrover in the bar! If you are a landrover enthusiast this is the campsite for you, the owner is an enthusiast. The owners speak excellent English and are friendly and very helpful. The surrounding area has got to be the most attractive in Belgium, in fact we returned for a few more days on the way back from the Jura in France. Facilities are extensive and include canoes, mountain bikes, assault courses, fly fishing and the usual child play facilities

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

For a site that doesn't actually have a great deal in the way of added-value facilities I read the reviews and wondered. Having now visited I can quite see what previous contributors were saying.

Maka offers something of a return to old fashioned values when it comes to camping. All the essentials are here and the quality is excellent but much more than that the location is special and if what you want from a holiday is to truly relax and let go of the stress this could be the place for you. Not just 'will be back' but 'can't wait'.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynng13 3 reviews from this member

This is the best site that we have visited, can`t recommend it highly enough. Beautiful setting, great facilities, very friendly English speaking owners. Nice little bar and restaurant. We did a great canoe trip and some lovely walks, saw two beavers, fox, deer and other wildlife but will have to return to see the raccoons! We will definitely be going back. We don`t have children and went out of season but it seemed a good site for kids.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Brickinit 4 reviews from this member

We normally travel around on holiday staying only a couple of nights but once we arrived at Camping Maka we ended up staying for a week. As other reviews have stated, the location is fantastic and we were very lucky with the weather. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and kept the facilities immaculate. Nice bar with food available but the only down side was we would have liked to have had lunch there but it was closed from 1200 to 1530. Would definitely return and recommend this site to others

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aliwaliw 1 review from this member

After a recent visit to Camping Maka, we cannot wait to go back! The facilities were functional and cleaned regularly, the shop and restaurant were run fabulously (the frites were delicious!), but the outstanding feature was the setting.

We were on an electric pitch with only an access road and a picnic table between us and the river Semois. Slowly meandering past our tent it was so peaceful that we had to drag ourselves away from the peace to go on stunning walks through the forest, or visit the beautiful town of Bouillon with the imposing castle and the driver running through it.

Our 7 year old daughter soon made friends on this companionable campsite and we ended up toasting marshmallows round a campfire with 3 different nationality families in the evenings! Log-fetching-duty has never been such fun! With plenty of activities/playground/rope walks/zip wires to keep our daughter occupied, a fantastic time was had by all!

How soon can we return. ?

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Auby Sur Semois      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019