Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Wharf Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Market Drayton > The Wharf Caravan Park Reviews

The Wharf Caravan Park
Goldstone
Market Drayton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF9 2LP
Tel: 01630 661226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 41 Reviews
                7/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Two Terriers 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely location although quiet lanes were being used as a diversion route at the time of our stay.

Lovely for walking on the towpath south, north towards Market Drayton is still blocked by a fallen tree. Since January!

Main part of site OK but pitch not very level, toilet facilities on the field adequate but you have to walk across the road to back of pub for the showers which was very average.

The best part obviously was the pub/restaurant, an obviously magnetic hotspot for the local area so you must book to get a table.

Just a 2 night stay en route to North Wales for us so it did the job. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Desedmon 4 reviews from this member

 The site was pleasant enough though the toilets were in the same field, the showers were across the road at the rear of the pub.

The showers were of the type that the person who designed them had never used them. The shower was fine even with a soap tray but the plastic curtain was too short and unweighted at the bottom so water ended up in the small dressing area.

There was no stool or bench so you had to dress in the common area outside the shower which was hopefully dry - a small thing but so easily remedied… 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Diane Denny 1 review from this member

 On arrival we were greeted by a not so friendly team at the Pub. The manager spoke at me not to me and was very sharp in her instructions to me of the site.

Made to feel very unwelcome and that the manager / owner were doing 'us' a favour allowing us to stay.

Facilities very poor. Outside toilet facility rotten smell of sewerage. Family shower room / disabled access shower switched off. Ladies shower light faulty so had to shower in the dark.

Pub not dog friendly.

A terrible experience and will never return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Derrin 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, loads to do, stayed 3 5 days because it was so good,

Great pub and food,

Thanks Adam, can’t wait to return, thanks to Sharon for sorting out our last minute booking😊😎👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Mmm what can we say.

The site was clean and tidy with good sized pitches.

But

Dishwashing facilities was purely a cold tap, no hot water so very poor.

The toilets on the site also no hot water.

Showers you had to leave the site and cross a small road to the rear of the pub, no mean feat from one end of the site to the other and the number of showers to look after circa 50 pitches plus the seasonal ones was simply pathetic.

The pub is zero Dog friendly, outside only so very weather permitting.

If a Motorhome owner and no car you can walk up the canal and down the canal and that’s your lot, no Dog walk area exists.

Based on the above we left a day early, no reason to ever return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anni D 6 reviews from this member

 Not been to this site for 4 years as last time we thought it was resting on its laurels, well, I don't think we should have bothered!

There are over 30 pitches in the main park, plus two seasonal fields and now also a very large rally field. For this, there are two ladies showers and two gents! In the main field there is a portakabin loo area with three of each loos.

No hot water, only cold. The washing up area consists of a cold tap and steel sink out in the open! I watched a lady who was camping in a tent trying to wash a Cadac in cold water! My heart went out to her, I find it hard enough with hot water!

The pitches and road are real rough hard core, so in your awning you are standing on large stones, not at all comfortable. We used rock pegs, now all bent, and they are not cheap! Noisy people on site at night til midnight.

No, not for us, not until money has been spent on upgrading the site. Beautiful location, but totally spoilt by the basics. Also the 'park area' for children is behind the pub over a road where there are lots of lorries and tractors, plus it is on a blind bend. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dickiebird 19 reviews from this member

 After reading other reviews, we were slightly disappointed with this site, especially the toilet and shower block, and the rubbish collection facilities.

It was the day after a Bank Holiday - so obviously lots of visitors, but the bins were full to overflowing which was rather unpleasant.

However, a good location, a good sized pitch and great to have the pub just across the road - excellent meal - glad we'd booked. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richard92 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely friendly site with a good food pub attached.

Pros: Secure, electric barrier on the gate, Pub, Peaceful, toilets on the field and short grass. Plenty of water pipes and electric points.

Cons: Slightly sloping site so blocks are required. Must book the pub for food early (not really a con as it shows how good the food is, oh and be 'empty' as large portions).

We have booked it again. VFM 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

 Revisited here a year on, and our rating has gone up a point

Many more caravans there this time adding to the atmosphere

No bother from the dogs from the house behind this time

Facilities behind the pub nice and clean and warm

Electric barrier now on the entrance to the field to stop people just driving on! 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrswright 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful find this caravan park was. It is situated near a canal deep in the Shropshire countryside but not too far from civilisation. The site is fairly level with some hard standing and some grass pitches. The showers are situated across the road behind the pub, which may be a nuisance to some, but we had our own so used that instead.

I therefore can't comment on what they are actually like. There are toilets on the park and I found them very clean and tidy despite the exterior which doesn't do them any justice at all. We found the checking in system very good, but maybe a site map would be a helpful addition to save a bit of head scratching.

You basically drive in, check the board for your number and once you're set up go pay in the pub, cash & card acceptable. The adjoining pub is delightful. Very clean, warm and friendly and the drinks not over priced. Food is available, but I would recommend booking a table when you book your pitch as it gets very busy very quickly.

All in all it's an absolute credit to the owners. Didn't get much dog barking as stated in previous reviews.

We will definitely be returning, possibly for longer next time as a weekend didn't do it justice and we didn't want to go home! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Wharf Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is The Wharf Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Market Drayton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3115 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window