Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Wharf Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Market Drayton > The Wharf Caravan Park Reviews

The Wharf Caravan Park
Goldstone
Market Drayton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF9 2LP
Tel: 01630 661226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 69 reviews from this member

Mmm what can we say.

The site was clean and tidy with good sized pitches.

But

Dishwashing facilities was purely a cold tap, no hot water so very poor.

The toilets on the site also no hot water.

Showers you had to leave the site and cross a small road to the rear of the pub, no mean feat from one end of the site to the other and the number of showers to look after circa 50 pitches plus the seasonal ones was simply pathetic.

The pub is zero Dog friendly, outside only so very weather permitting.

If a Motorhome owner and no car you can walk up the canal and down the canal and thatís your lot, no Dog walk area exists.

Based on the above we left a day early, no reason to ever return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anni D 6 reviews from this member

Not been to this site for 4 years as last time we thought it was resting on its laurels, well, I don't think we should have bothered!

There are over 30 pitches in the main park, plus two seasonal fields and now also a very large rally field. For this, there are two ladies showers and two gents! In the main field there is a portakabin loo area with three of each loos. No hot water, only cold. The washing up area consists of a cold tap and steel sink out in the open! I watched a lady who was camping in a tent trying to wash a Cadac in cold water! My heart went out to her, I find it hard enough with hot water! The pitches and road are real rough hard core, so in your awning you are standing on large stones, not at all comfortable. We used rock pegs, now all bent, and they are not cheap! Noisy people on site at night til midnight. No, not for us, not until money has been spent on upgrading the site. Beautiful location, but totally spoilt by the basics. Also the 'park area' for children is behind the pub over a road where there are lots of lorries and tractors, plus it is on a blind bend.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dickiebird 17 reviews from this member

After reading other reviews, we were slightly disappointed with this site, especially the toilet and shower block, and the rubbish collection facilities. It was the day after a Bank Holiday - so obviously lots of visitors, but the bins were full to overflowing which was rather unpleasant. However, a good location, a good sized pitch and great to have the pub just across the road - excellent meal - glad we'd booked.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard92 6 reviews from this member

What a lovely friendly site with a good food pub attached.

Pros: Secure, electric barrier on the gate, Pub, Peaceful, toilets on the field and short grass. Plenty of water pipes and electric points.

Cons: Slightly sloping site so blocks are required. Must book the pub for food early (not really a con as it shows how good the food is, oh and be 'empty' as large portions).

We have booked it again. VFM

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Revisited here a year on, and our rating has gone up a point

Many more caravans there this time adding to the atmosphere

No bother from the dogs from the house behind this time

Facilities behind the pub nice and clean and warm

Electric barrier now on the entrance to the field to stop people just driving on!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrswright 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful find this caravan park was. It is situated near a canal deep in the Shropshire countryside but not too far from civilisation. The site is fairly level with some hard standing and some grass pitches. The showers are situated across the road behind the pub, which may be a nuisance to some, but we had our own so used that instead. I therefore can't comment on what they are actually like. There are toilets on the park and I found them very clean and tidy despite the exterior which doesn't do them any justice at all. We found the checking in system very good, but maybe a site map would be a helpful addition to save a bit of head scratching. You basically drive in, check the board for your number and once you're set up go pay in the pub, cash & card acceptable. The adjoining pub is delightful. Very clean, warm and friendly and the drinks not over priced. Food is available, but I would recommend booking a table when you book your pitch as it gets very busy very quickly. All in all it's an absolute credit to the owners. Didn't get much dog barking as stated in previous reviews. We will definitely be returning, possibly for longer next time as a weekend didn't do it justice and we didn't want to go home!

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Nice little site along side the canal,

2 fields, one behind the pub full of seasonal caravans, the other on the opposite side of the lane opposite the pub, very flat field, well drained.

1 toilet block on this field with toilets, showers behind pub.

We backed onto the garden of the large house next door, the dogs are a bit of a nuisance barking when allowed upto the other side of the perimeter fence.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+kate s-o-t 17 reviews from this member

Well we've been threatening to go to the wharf for quite a while and finally got round to visiting

Why did we leave it so long

Touring field was great almost flat

Toilets and showers were very clean ok the showers were across the road but the road is very quiet

The only negative would be the dish wash area this is just one stainless steel sink out in the open

Pub was great with a good selection of food and drinks and was reasonably priced

Will return

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feathersfamily 1 review from this member

Just back from another great weekend at the wharf. Peaceful and in nice surroundings.

Clearly marked good sized pitches almost all flat. The grass was cut short seemed to be well drained. On site toilets were clean. Showers behind the pub were clean.

Walked up the canal which was a bit muddy but still good. Children enjoyed looking at the narrow boats.

Only down side is having to cross the road to go to the showers and the playground. That said the road was quiet but something to be mindful of with younger children.

Staff friendly and a super meal Saturday night.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anni D 6 reviews from this member

Well, this was our second visit here. First was wonderful, so off we went again. Not sure when or if we will return. There is now a 'toilet block' on the campfield. This consists (on the ladies side) of three toilets, and two sinks - cold water only! I do like to freshen up in the morning, but prefer hot water. There is also what passes as a washing up area. This is a stainless steel sink, outdoors, again with cold water only. Last year the fees were £15 a night, this year £17. 50, but to my mind there should be an improvement in the facilities given the 50 pitch tourer field plus all the seasonal and permanent pitches. Not really up to standard. Plus as per a note from an earlier visitor, we landed in the middle of a large group, 3 tents in the middle, a caravan to our left and 3 more caravans in the corner to our right, obviously regulars who booked the actual pitch in advance as they drove on quite quickly and didn't need to look at the notice board allocating them a pitch. Giggling and laughter was still to be heard at 3. 14 a. M. There is also a large house on adjoining property. They have at least two dogs who barked none stop on the Friday, then on the Saturday the whole of the day was spent with their mowing their lawns on a ride on mower. Not a moments peace. The site has definitely gone downhill. We also dined at the pub on the Friday night, hubby enjoyed his Lasagne, but I opted for the chicken which was very lacklustre, flat pieces of chicken in a bit of batter. Not inspiring. Will have to think again before visiting.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1081 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019