Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Lea Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Beaminster > West Lea Certificated Site Reviews

West Lea Certificated Site
West Dairy Farm
Seaborough
Beaminster
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT8 3QY
Tel: 01308 868030
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ottos mummy 3 reviews from this member

We had a long weekend here, so we could visit the Black Cow distillery (within walking distance). Lovely time, lovely site, Kevin very friendly. He'd just repainted floor in the shower block so it was immaculate! My criteria is 'how many spiders are there in the loo' and this was a totally acceptable number. Good lighting, lack of spiders, clean and tidy.

The site itself is on a gently slope, but flat pitching is there, you just find your pitch and settle down. When we were there, there was only two other units, long time visitors actually, they were also more than happy with the site.

A lovely quiet, relaxed place to stay - no facilities apart from the shower block. Cows in the field, walks all around. Super.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donny1513 1 review from this member

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights at end of February. We did miss the sign to the site but when we arrived, Kevin met us and directed us to pitch. It is lovely there. Overlooking the lake with ducks and a kingfisher. We had an outing or 2 but was great to just chill on site. Will definitely go back to see Kevin and stop a few nights. The shower/toilet block wasn't to bad for out of season. Just a bit muddy outside as rained quite hard

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

Just spent yet another wonderfully relaxing weekend at West Lea - not sure why we haven't written a review before. Maybe because we want to keep the place to ourselves (its THAT nice!). By far our favourite site for peace and quiet and with plenty of dog walking. Kevin greeted us and as always was the perfect host. Showers and toilets are, as stated by others, basic - but there is plenty of hot water and as long as you remember to keep it clean for the next person there shouldn't be a problem. Would definitely recommend this site if you want to get away from it all and just recharge your batteries.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flowerofshona 1 review from this member

This is a very quite location well away from noise which is lovely, electric hook up is great and the free showers a bonus but do need a good clean up.

The owner is helpful.

The roads to the site are single track but we found it easily, there is a very steep bit down to the site which is a challenge :) the only thing I would say is more signs around the site would be helpful or a little leaflet with details like rubbish, local shops ext would be brilliant. We will be going back as the peace was lovely.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnabacus 17 reviews from this member

Booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for two weeks. As previous reviewers have said it's a little difficult to find as the sign at the end of the drive is only visible from one direction and the satnav sent us to the wrong location. Access is via single track roads so it would be a bit tricky with a caravan. Having said that we only had to reverse once in the whole two weeks as it's so quiet. We had the site to ourselves for the first week but even when there were four units there was never any problem using the toilets and showers (which are free). Bridport (where the TV series Broadchurch was filmed) has a good variety of shops/supermarkets and pubs. The Wetherspoons pub has some great weekday deals for food including a drink. Plenty of parking including a dedicated car park for motorhomes at West Beach. Kevin, the owner of the site, was a fantastic host. There to give advice without being obtrusive. If you want a quiet site to relax this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

This was everything we look for in a campsite. Such a friendly, relaxed and helpful owner, a lovely location in the countryside and lots of walks accessible from the site. Our 4 dogs could be exercised in Kevin's fields, (picking up after them of course as always). Our pitch had the river on one side and the pond on the other, with several lovely geese and ducks. The walk around the woods was lovely and led into Drimpton, from where we walked across the countryside for miles. It would be wonderful if all farmers kept the footpaths on their land as clear as Kevin does.

This site is suitable mainly for adults as there are hazards for children, like the river and the farm machinery that they are inevitably drawn to. Ideal for walkers, dog owners and those wishing to just get away from it all for a while. Fresh water and CDP are easy to get to, as are the toilets and showers, although we used our own facilities. We went for 3 nights and stayed for 5 and there are still many places we never got to visit. We will most definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thedobbies 5 reviews from this member

Pleasant site on a working farm, children enjoyed seeing the farm animals etc. But you need to keep an eye on them. Shower & toilet facilities are basic but ok for a small site. Difficult to find so better signs might help & a long narrow rather bumpy approach lane to get there. Bit windy when we were there we survived OK. Friendly family running it. Nice walks nearby in the woods & pond to explore.

The area is well located for exploring that part of Dorset, Bridport is a really nice town with good beaches nearby at West Bay. Beaminster is a small sleepy town but some nice shops and we had a lovely weekend, all in all a site to be recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sar H 5 reviews from this member

This is a site you will either hate or love. It is down a very narrow lane, along a bumpy track. The toilet block is basic and a bit scruffy. The site is not suitable for poorly supervised children as it is on a working farm. Having said that we loved it! It is perfect for a quiet, basic site away from roads. The showers were free, there is a fridge with a freezer compartment, and a field and stream for the dog. The site owner is friendly and helpful. The nearest pub is a 10 minute walk through fields, it is dog friendly and does good food. The site is convenient for the coast and some good walks. Perry's cider farm is a shortish drive away. Bridport is a lovely town, and Tett's butchers in Beaminster is wonderful.

A great campsite in a great location.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bward18925 2 reviews from this member

Came on this site as a first time visitor, didn't know

What to expect, found the site to be absolute solice, you couldn't wish for a more peaceful and tranquil site. A bit basic but adequate for my wife and me. The site owner was really hospitable. One thing I will say is to take care on approach roads as they are quite narrow. Unfortunately had to cut our stay short because of family issues, but wouldn't hesitate to go back. Many thanks from Barry&Paula

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Naughtyrabbit 7 reviews from this member

Am loathe to recommend this site, purely because I don't want to have to struggle to book on it in future! To me, it has to be one of the most idyllic CL/CS sites I have ever stopped on. Relaxed, peaceful, gorgeous views, friendly owner, dog friendly - we could not fault it.

Facilities are basic but adequate if you do not want to use your own shower/toilet. It is up to fellow guests to keep the provided facilities in decent order for the next users but this was not a problem when we were on site.

For dog walkers this site is brilliant as Kevin lets you use his fields (as long as the grass has been cut) to exercise your dogs. There is also a stream, pond and small wooded area to explore. It's about a 10-15 minute walk through the fields and woods to the local village pub, which is also dog friendly and does food.

Only problem we had was in finding the site - our sat nav took us past the small road which leads to the site and then it took us another 2 attempts to find it! Be warned that all roads that lead to this site are single track. Make sure you do your research using google maps on how to get there!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4211 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019