Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Three Castles Country Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Three Castles Country Caravan Park Reviews

Three Castles Country Caravan Park
The Bridge
Skenfrith
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP7 8UB
Tel: 01600 750224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/03/2020 to 30/09/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gar59 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely cracking site with spot on facilities, the shower block was spotless and all the shower rooms are large, also has a handy washing up area, owner was very pleasant and helpful.

As stated, The Bell at Skenfrith is a top end gastro pub, our service and meal was faultless.

Easy 20 min walk from site to pub along the back road.

Great for bike riding especially if you like 20 % climbs !

Thoroughly recommended and would stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cariad 56 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from a three night break at this site. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean, even providing hand cream and dental floss!

Good facilities for washing up and even a small sitting room where you could watch tv. A good selection of reading books were also available.

Very nice walk (1 mile) to The Bell at Skenfrith where we had a lovely evening meal. Wifi was only available from the barn across the road, so not really a problem.

The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful.

I will be returning to this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pmc7070 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 15 nights in our tent. We absolutely loved every night of our stay. Great facilities, friendly owners and a great location.

Shortish walk to the village of Skenfrith where there is a very good pub to eat and drink. The best places to eat were the Garway Moon for the evening meal and the Copper Kettle for breakfast.

If you fancy a curry then the Jewel Balti in Monmouth will take some beating. The surrounding area is brilliant for walking and the local towns of Monmouth and Abervagenny are also good.

The only slight criticism of the site is the extremely poor wifi which I feel is a must in this day and age - get it sorted Tony!

Days out can be had at Blaenavon, Aberdulais Tin Works and Waterfall and Brecon. If you want a moving experience then visit Aberfan! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

 We just spent a glorious 10 nights here and would probably go back! The area is beautiful, with fast flowing rivers, scenic views across valleys, stunning mountains, quaint welsh towns & villages and a great local (ish) pub, in the Garway Moon.

The facilities on site are great, with clean, hot showers, washing area with a washing machine & tumble drier for your use (honesty box).

It has to be said though, the site is little more than a very good CL! We were a little dissapointed to be pitched for our 10 night stay on possibly the worst pitch on site, with traffic passing by our awning across our pitch, and right next to toilets!

The wifi is only accessible if you sit in the barn in the farm on the opposite side of the road! Mobile phone signal is more or less non existent! We found the TV hook up a bit 'iffy' too.

The dog walking area is a small, open field, on the other side of the stream from the site. The warden and the owner ate friendly and helpful. At 23 a night I thought it was a tad expensive but its location, in the middle of nowhere, prompted us to do plenty of walking (76 miles in total) which in itself has some value. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingcrumpet 12 reviews from this member

 Well laid out smallish adult only farm site with excellent clean and modern toilet block. Very friendly atmosphere and some great walks straight from the farm. A 10 min walk to the Skenfrith Castle with river access and a nice bistro pub/restaurant with rooms including pretty beer garden.

Make sure you stop off to see Cider Ben @ Apple County Cider Co on the Monmouth Road as the ciders are delicious!

A site I would definitely recommended to friends 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StuandJoy 7 reviews from this member

 We (my husband and my dog ) stayed for 3 nights at this lovely site - the owners are really friendly and pleasant along with the resident dog called Bella, who kept an eye on us all. If dogs are well behaved the owner was happy for the dog to be let of his tether for a play.

We were on the over flow field, and although a little walk from the excellent facilities was much better for us, I think we had a bit more room that weekend anyway

No shops with in walking distance, but there is a lovely walk to one of the castles where our dog could paddle in the river, which was good because it was a nice warm weekend.

The toilet block was beautiful - full bathrooms with loads of room and heating if needed and very clean.

The washing up area was inside and again very clean and lovely, freezer for ice pack and ice creams/ honey/eggs with honesty boxes for payment.

Wifi available near the barn which could reach to a few pitches

All in all a very relaxed weekend in a beautiful part of the country. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katymj 1 review from this member

 Absolutely amazing site, love everything about it. The toilets and shower facilities are the best yet, so clean. The site is peaceful and the owners are so friendly and helpful. Lovely walks and bike rides plus a pub 5 minutes away serving lovely food. Enjoyed it so much we have booked up again to stay. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sanjondra 7 reviews from this member

 We (being my husband and staffy dog) have just got back from the easter week-end break from this really lovely, peaceful, friendly well appointed site. Soooo relaxing beautiful views surround you, lovely walks. I cannot say enough about their helpfulness, and on top of all that on our arrival back to the van on Easter Sunday we found Easter bunnies and cakes in our awning, what a lovely gesture and a nice surprise went down well with a nice cup of coffee! all in all we agreed it was one of the nicest sites we have been on in 40 years of camping/caravanning. We most certainly go back again. Can, t wait! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andyr475 4 reviews from this member

 We were originally booked at Pandy CCS site for overnight stay on our way down to Gower, they phoned us up & told us that the site was waterlogged and advised us not to come especially with MH so cancelled that booking. Looked on this web site & found Three castles, phoned up and they fitted us in for 1 night.

The main site is small across the road from the farm, we were put on the overflow part of the site over the road behind the farm, the field is flat nicely mown with water & electricity supplies you have to go across to main site to use amenities, Toilet / amenities excellent & very clean even have free WiFi in a barn with WiFi code wrote on table there's a good field to exercise dog in, walked along lane at back of farm to Skenfirth lovely little village & castle.

Would recommend this site if in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevick 11 reviews from this member

 Well having just stayed at the Three Castles for 7 nights, I'm not sure I should be telling everyone how peaceful it was.

A great site, greeted by the warden on our arrival, and he would have given us a hand if we needed it.

Showers very large with loo and wash basin in the same room.

Other facilities were, TV in small lounge and an indoor washup facility, they also had washing machine and dryer too.

Local area, the local The Bell is 1 mile a bit posh and set up more for a dining experience rather than a drink whilst on holiday, but they didn't make us feel that way, called in for a coffee one afternoon and walked there for a drink one evening, the track to the village is very pleasant to walk along, no vehicles and goes straight to the Castle.

Dog walk very good, The Bell is dog friendly too.

Must recommend Ed's Eggs. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Three Castles Country Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Three Castles Country Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Three Castles Country Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abergavenny      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December