Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Du Bois Vert

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Parthenay > Camping Du Bois Vert Reviews

Camping Du Bois Vert
14 Rue Boisseau Le Tallud
Parthenay
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
79200
Tel: 0033 549 647 843
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 68
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelper 75 reviews from this member

The very first site with a caravan, for us!

It had rained a lot before our arrival, we got stuck trying to reverse onto our pitch (wheel spin as car couldn't move forward or backwards. )

Very helpful local youths (friends of the daughter of the warden) helped us manhandle the van into position (we are having a mover fitted!)

The site was very pleasant. The reception area is surrounded by a mini 'zoo'. Variety of chickens in an enclosure, though they freely roam the campsite during the day; a range of peacocks in another; a pond with a good school of carp and other fish.

The whole site is well laid out with quite a few chalet/villas and the rest hedged pitches of various sizes ranging from medium to large.

The 'ablutions' were modern, english style toilets, paper supplied. Good showers, plenty of hot water. Unisex.

The bar/restaurant facilities were closed (open May to September).

Situated beside a riverside park (with a very good training route. Lots of different built challenges every hundred metres. Good fun!). Parthenay is walkable. We found the town a little disappointing, but it was raining on the day we went in, so all looked a bit glum, and, being April, not everything was open. No doubt very different on a sunny summer's day.

A day's trip to Poitiers is well worth while. A lovely town with lots to wander round and visit. Some of the best fresco decor in a couple of the cathedral/churches I've seen. Charm abounds in this much overlooked town.

The Venise Verte (Marais Poitevin). Just outside Niort is a well worthwhile days visit. Do Coulon and the surrounding villages, and take a punt on the canals. You'll discover a part of France you never imagined was there.

With it's strategic positioning between Poitiers and Niort, this is a useful campsite for a few days.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 167 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose to stay at this site as we wanted to visit the town.

The satnav brought us straight to it, it is situated outside the town, between the river park and a residential area.

When we arrived the reception was closed for lunch, but a lady came through from the cafe bar and booked us in anyway. We were invited to choose a pitch from an area marked on a map.

Unlike the previous reviewer, we considered the site ok. We had no technical issues, the sanitaires were modern and clean, though shared, the water was hot, including that in the washing up room. We didn't use the pool or cafe, and the site was fairly quiet.

There are bikes for hire at reception, but we have our own. The receptionist had marked on a map the route into the town, so we followed it, through the campervan aire, park, past the lake, along the river, and into the town. The ride was about 15 minutes. The town has a historic area, and a large centre with shops, including a supermarket. It is well worth a visit.

The price was moderate.

We will return to this site as we want to spend more time visiting the town.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Clf86ha 16 reviews from this member

I'll start with the positives, the sanitary block is modern and the pool area ok.

Pitch size was good.

The site on initially entering seems ok, yet that's as far as it goes. The receptionist wasn't helpful, there was little in the way of information or help given (this may e down to her doing more than one job)

Pitches were restricted to a few, even though the majority of the site was empty. Levelling ramps were needed)

The electric bollard serving our pitch didn't work and the receptionist wasn't intèrested (its a good job our unit can function fully self sufficiently). The neighbours (caravan) on the next pitch returned from a trip out to find they had no electric, so weren't happy, they got no joy either and packed up and left the site at 9. 55PM.

The children's play area doesn't look like its seen any maintenance for years or children playing on it for that matter.

The whole site looks like it has been a really nice site in the past, but now it desperately needs some tlc to bring it back to life, weeds growing everywhere and a general feeling of unkempt lack of maintenance.

If you have a motorhome, the aire next door (you pay at this site) is better and better value.

This site could be lovely with a bit more input

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 67 reviews from this member

Confirming previous reviews. Site is fine. Sanitary facilities are kept clean as is pool and area. Friendly reception with plenty information. Pitches are large and grass covered with easy access for large outfits. Family friendly site with free town bikes to pick up at reception and nice park adjacent. Big supermarket hyper you within walking or cycling distance.

River lovely for walks and good easy access to cycle routes / Voie Verte in all directions. The shrub/plant/flower areas on site are overgrown with weeds but generally this is a decent site for a short / medium length stay. Fairly quiet with loads of vacant pitches at 3rd week of August on. ACSI ACCEPTED

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dunernin 9 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites in France as we store our caravan about ten kilometres away. The site has made many improvements over the years including a new swimming pool and sanitary block. Parthenay is an interesting old town and central for cycling and car trips in the immediate region which is very agricultural. We have only stayed on-site once in high season when Parthenay hosted an annual Games Fayre and the site was full of teenage groups which made for an 'interesting' visit. We have always been treated courteously by the staff and would recommend the site for its quiet atmosphere, out of season

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brianjohnson1947 1 review from this member

Stayed on this site for several days with motorhome, easy access well laid out site, level pitches separated by hedges, electric and water, Site well maintained and improved, nice outdoor pool and bar area that serves snack meals to order.

The toilet and shower block was cleaned every day that we were there, very modern, with lots of hot water. Laundry and washing facilities superb, including a Dedicated Chemical toilet drainage point

The Town of Pathenay can be reached 25mins walking or cycling through the park, or by main road and there is a public park with kids swings and fishing, etc, just minutes away.

Motorhome gray water drainage area (new)

Highly recommend this site

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roger7webster 3 reviews from this member

We have just completed a five night stay at this site

This is an update of the 2011 reports

We can report the site has been renovated over the winter as follows

1. Grass pitches re turfed or re seeded

2. Some pitches are now fully serviced with 10amp power, water and drainage.

3. Some access roads have been re surfaced

4. A new motor home service point installed with a central drainage channel for waste water (very practical

The site staff were very helpful.

We would recommend this site for both long stay or a stop over

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry941 5 reviews from this member

Similar comments to those previously made last year, but the swimming pool is being renovated and the new toilets are open. The site though needs some TLC: the hedges and bushes are unkempt and the grass has been mown this year but needs more attention.

Wi-Fi is available, but expensive (just like the Caravan Club's!). Camping Cheques accepted.

Easy access to the river cycle route is made through a pleasant parkland, which has an excellent children's play area. The town can also be accessed on this route.

The town is worth a visit as is the castle area, but many shops have closed giving the place forlorn look.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bustler99 2 reviews from this member

We had planned to stay at this site at the end of august for a couple of weeks using camping cheques but only stayed overnight.

The reception was very friendly and we could have any pitch we wanted but found the site small, pitches uneven and mostly small, swimming pool small, but what stopped us staying was a lack of teenagers for our daughter to mix with (not the sites fault). Location was good next to town and the river looked nice. One problem we found was the receptionist was also barmaid and waitress at the same time so service was very very slow in the restaurant. Toilet block was ok luke warm showers and not many of them. The site itself was looking a bit unloved and tired maybe a long hard season but it looked more than that


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Parthenay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019