Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries Reviews

Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries
Lytham Road
Warton
Preston
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR4 1TE
Tel: 07746 500991
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 52 Reviews
                6/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stenru 1 review from this member

 We have visited this campsite a couple of times now over the past month with our tent for a couple of nights stay. It has been under new management since 2017 so pretty much all of the information on this site (including other reviews) is probably out of date now.

The location is very good being only a couple of miles away from Lytham. It's possible to walk there (or more likely drive down early enough to get parked up for free) for a day at the beach.

There are no major amenities on-site, but there are shops close by for anything you might need.

The rate were very reasonable (they don't change through the year either apparently) and it's nice level tent pitching. The owners made us feel very welcome, told us where everything was nearby too and we had plenty of room for camping.

The central shower/toilet block is easy to get to from anywhere on site and it has both hot and cold running water - and hot showers too. There's also a kids playground available.

There are electric hook-ups, on-site fishing (if that's your thing) and caravans, camper vans and tents are welcome. Dogs are welcome too. It will definitely get busy if there are any events on in nearby Lytham.

You can also use your own barbecue or fire pit as long as it's raised off the ground, to keep you warm in the evening.

We will definitely be visiting again at some point in the summer. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joethescrapper777 1 review from this member

 Great site, friendly owners and staff, I live in a caravan full time and found this site perfect for my family and me. Not to everyones taste granted but I found living on there easy going and will be on there again in future. The area the site is situated is lovely and quiet, lytham town centre is close by and a fun day out for family can be had in blackpool which is a short bus ride away. I recommend this site to any full-time living familes or caravaners all are welcome. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MichelleNfran 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this place and are very disappointed, the campsite is in total disrepair

The toilets and showers were disgusting and were not cleaned once during our visit, the club house is filthy everything was covered in dust and cobwebs. The food was ok but nothing special and seemed very over priced for the quality. The residents of the site we found to be intimidating and let their kids run wild in the saloon including booting a football around the dance floor.

It is a real shame this place is not kept up to standard as it could be a great place 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pamanddoug 7 reviews from this member

 Site looks tired needs money spent to bring it up to date. Club building needs a repaint and a clean inside, but cannot fault the food prices or portion sizes. I arrived Friday and left Monday and all weekend the toilets had not been cleaned. The shower cubicle floors had pools of water and there was no mop to clean up after yourself and the whole building floor was so filthy it obviously had not seen a mop or water for a long time

Would I go back, Yes. Basically the site is ok just needs money and work to make it a very good site 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walkers41 10 reviews from this member

 I usually give positive reviews but cannot on this site. The site is 12 miles from Blackpool not 5 miles. Every part of the site needed cleaning. The bar has cobwebs. It was cold and dirty. The entertainment was not worth the 5 entry fee. The food was acceptable but presentation was not good. Every aspect of the site was unorganised. The toilets and showers were dirty. ECU cables trailed across the paths where vehicles drove over. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clarkster 12 reviews from this member

 It really does look like a trailer park, there was a lot of residential units, tabberts, hobbys etc.

The play park needs urgent attention, swings were held together with duct tape. The pitches had poor drainage, but it was novel having the ducks camped around us.

There was a bit of disorganisation with some of the staff telling us where to pitch, only for others to come along later and move some of the group which was very annoying. It seems that they were suddenly expecting a sudden half term rush.

Their website is very misleading. The newly 'refurbished' shower block is an old mobile unit. The water was cold to luke warm, there was no evidence of any cleaning with the same splattered horrible mess in the toilets all weekend, old leaves throughout, split flooring, mould up the walls and across the ceiling and the drains blocked so that the showers overflowed. No mops or bog brushes provided and the smell of damp was overpowering. Needed 2 showers once home just to feel clean again.  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mojoxx 1 review from this member

 Just back from the August bank holiday weekend and more than a little disappointed with the site, but hey ho, it could have been worse. It is just a shame that it could have been better so easily.

Plus points - Location is excellent for local supermarket, the pleasure beach and many other fun things.

The staff were friendly.

The other campers were friendly.

The kids playground was always full of happy children.

I liked the wild west theme for the site.

The negatives - Simply not enough toilet facilities and when things ran out (loo rolls, soap, paper towels) they stayed that way until the next day. The same applied with regard to cleaning.

I wasn't warned when I booked that it would cost an extra 5 per person Saturday evening, and 10 per person Sunday night if we wanted a beer or a meal in the clubhouse because it was bank holiday weekend. The band's did sound pretty good from our tent though.

There was a lot of litter in general and we were woken by the boot fair being set up at 6:30 on Sunday morning.

In general the place could really benefit from some regular elbow grease and maintenance. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ted Ruckspin 3 reviews from this member

 After reading some bad reviews on this place I was expecting the worst. Not sure which campsite these people stayed at but we had no complaints whatsoever. Beautiful campsite, Great location and great facilities. The Club House was great and my wife thoroughly enjoyed line dancing. We also had Sunday lunch here and the food was delicious. You can catch the number 69 bus just outside the campsite which takes you into Lytham and Blackpool. A great weekend was had by us and we will definitely return to this site. Theres also a Lidl just down the road perfect for stocking up on essential Camping Supplies. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rubes 1 review from this member

 We all had a fab holiday on this site. Just a couple of little issues though. The ladies showers were always cold and the toilet block could do with cleaning more than probably once a day. Some really nice people on this site and staff very friendly, the facilities around the campsite and surrounding areas are brilliant. Will definitely come back to Great Birchwood again. Soon. Thanks :-) Camped for many years now and stayed in far worse places than this, felt very safe and comfortable on this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xwasp58 4 reviews from this member

 There's No entertainment through the week. No bar even open in the week. No shop. Toilets ok. The showers were hit and miss. No plugs in the sink? What's all that about. There was internet. But again was told was hit and miss. The buildings were very tired really not like the pictures. We went for the week. Came home on the Wednesday Disappointed!

Never go again. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Great Birchwood Campsite And Fisheries dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3398 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement