Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Penley > Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park > Reviews

Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park
Red Hall Lane
Wrexham
Penley
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 0NA
Tel: 01978 710098
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Catherine Woodhouse 3 reviews from this member

 Posting as a dog walking partner of a fisher, this site is outstanding.

Small site with lovely facilities, clean and tidy with a homely feel.

The fishing in 3 pools was challenging, but OH caught several.

He commented that it could do with netting or introduction of trout/ pike to keep the fry down.

There are a lot of regulars on site, all friendly and helpful without crowding.

Best bit for me was the dog walking acres and acres of fields and paths to let them run freely, and a lovely path round the ponds for dogs on leads.

Plenty of places to visit or eat out If so inclined, but we just stayed put and relaxed.

On the return to list. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nick Brown 1 review from this member

 Just completing a 5 night stay at Trench farm.

Very good top quality touring site with caravan storage and excellent fishing lakes.

Toilet and shower facilities are spot on modern and clean. Campers kitchen is well equipped with everything you would need including pots and pans. Washer / dryer on honesty to pay a nominal amount to Sylvia for usage.

Loads to do in the area with Ellesmereand the mere lakes, Whittington castle, Oswestry and Wrexham to name a few.

A real find and we will be returning in the spring 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jimmar 1 review from this member

 One of the better campsites that Iíve ever visited.

Facilities were comprehensive and very well maintained and Cath, the hostess, is very friendly and helpful.

There were quite a few caravan regulars and they all looked upon Cath as a friend.

A few campers were inconsiderate of others and ignored the rules about dogs being on leads, a bit disturbing when the owner comes looking for their dog round your tent at 6:30 am, but this was no fault of the management as there are ample signs about this rule.

Otherwise, you canít fault Trench Farm as a campsite. Shops were within a 10 minute car ride if there is something that you need and there are some excellent country pubs within a few miles.

The fishery itself would benefit from the removal of the hordes of small rudd that often prevent any bait from getting more than a few inches below the surface.

Anything less than 8mm pellets was attacked immediately it hit the water. A pity really as there has been a recent restocking of young carp. Get rid of the bulk of the small rudd, which are present in plague proportions, and it promises to be an excellent fishery for the future.

All in all, I had a really good 3 days and made some great friends. Highly recommended by me but please, if youíre taking your dog, abide the rule about dogs being on leads on the camp site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 42 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site especially if you are looking for somewhere to relax for a few days.

There are lovely walks around the pools and we enjoyed some fishing in the small pool.

All the facilities are spotless and the camper's kitchen is a wonderful idea.

Close to Ellesmere for shopping and eating out. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jayw99 1 review from this member

 Really friendly welcome and nice people. Nothing was too much trouble.

Lovely ponds and nice walks from site with loads of wildlife.

Clean and well kept site.

Very peaceful and relaxed in a lovely location. What's not to like! We will definitely go back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: S66den 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay in our caravan at the camp site,

Very friendly people,

It is very beautiful around the fishing lakes and it was a nice quiet site.

Dog friendly 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronni54 42 reviews from this member

 Just spent three nights at this lovely site. So peaceful and quiet. The facilities were spotless and the site is very well kept and the owners work hard to keep it that way. We were looking for a site with fishing and Trench Farm is one of the best we have found. We caught roach, trench and carp, having fished all three pools.

We went into Ellesmere one evening for a meal at The Black Lion. Good food and reasonable price. There is also a Tesco store and, of course, the Meres are beautiful.

This was our first visit but will not be the last! Thanks Sylvia and Mike. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gnomeaj 1 review from this member

 My first visit with brother in law to relax and learn how to fish couldn't of been any better

Absolutely fabulous

Mike and Sylvia are great couple, site is clean and perfect

Fishing great

Will be going again 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

 Sometimes we visit independent sites that are not on the main 2 club site networks for specific reasons, on this occasion it was to try out the recommended carp fishing. The site is spacious, well maintained and the facilities, as stated on their website, are well kept. On arrival we were directed to a number of pitches to choose from for our unit, informed where the facilities were and then left to set up. The farm has an abundance of wildlife due to the way the owners have allowed the hedges and other areas to grow naturally with little intervention from themselves. During our stay I was able to photograph hares, foxes, a buzzard and chick. Other wildlife seen whilst generally walking around the many accessible areas were badgers, rabbits, red kites, barn owl, tawny owl, water fowl, and numerous species of small birds.

The site had a number of regulars staying whilst we were there and all were very friendly and shared information regarding the fishing and where other wildlife areas may be accessed.

The site is ideally placed to visit some of Wales famous tourist places and villages around Shropshire. There are large supermarkets in various villages and towns nearby to stock up on those essential items or other purchases you may require.

I went to Trench Farm to fish for their carp, my equipment never left the roof box, the abundance of wildlife gave me an excellent opportunity to practice my photography. I did see a number of carp caught, they are not easy to catch, very hard fighting and difficult to land.

We will be returning to this site, it's very relaxing, has excellent facilities and the opportunities to fish or to watch the wildlife are first class.

The owners are excellent, Sylvia and Mike, very approachable and will give guidance and assistance if, and as required. We found the site quiet and peaceful and would highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilly241153 3 reviews from this member

 Just got home from trench farm. Another great weekend. What can I say. We came to try the site out, that was 6 years ago, we have not tried any where else. Mike & sylvia are great people, very helpful. The toilets are clean. Plenty of hot water. There is a campers kitchen with microwave fridge/freezer and sinks, all kept clean and tidy. The site is well kept. Lots of room. Nice long walks if you have dogs. As for the fishing, the pools are well stocked with common /mirror carp, crucion, tench, roach and rudd, but not over stocked like some others. You have to work for them but that's fishing, I have had 20+ carp this year. If you come to fish ask mike or sylvia they will point you to me or one of the other regulars for a few tips because they can be a challenge. The wild life is good, even kingfishers. We had swans this weekend. It's quiet restful and so calming, unless you miss that carp, ha ha. Come and try, see what you think 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Trench Farm Fisheries And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement