Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodside Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Woodside Touring Park Reviews

Woodside Touring Park
Parkgate Road
Saughall
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH1 6JS
Tel: 07875344710
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (5)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ystalyfera 3 reviews from this member

A very good welcome by the staff. Very clean site. Would not want to put anyone off use. We found it not suitable for the following. The site is advertised as 'Per night £25. Per week £110'. We thought may as well take the full week but, unfortunately, the cost turned out to be £175 for the week.

A little different to their website. The site is mostly workers so you can be alone on site most of the week. Being 83 years I look for service pitches.

Unfortunately the gray drained advertised per pitch was blocked. Also three other that I tried. Taking grey waste across the site and lifting to pour into the facility was difficult at my age

We like to use Wifi to contact home but it turned out the the signal was out or range on both pass words= no Wifi. TV signal was poor and needed re-tuning often. Could be due heavy traffic, Manchester airport near and national grid passing over the site.

We found the traffic noise early morning heavy and reasonable at day. The only other lady visited the site mid week praised the toilets but complained workers used the ladies (note same on comments February 2015). We did not use them as for medical reasons we use the caravan shower etc. Hence heavier grey waste.

Waste bins were limited to three domestic bins which filled very quickly with rubbish pilled near a larger bin would be a good move for health reasons (emptied once a week).

Very good location for touring the area and big pitches. Should suite many caravans users. We did not see the owners after arrival for the week.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissieka 3 reviews from this member

Great location for easy access to Chester, Manchester, Liverpool and shopping at Cheshire outlet village. The proximity to the busy road was not at all a problem and we slept soundly. Great secure site with security gates giving peace of mind. Friendly and kind owner / warden who let us stay for a VERY late check out free of charge. Not money grabbing at all - so refreshing. Spacious pitches, no hassle, free Wi-Fi, warm toilet block with super clean showers and toilets with plenty of hot water. There was a fine pub about half mile down the road serving £8 Sunday carvery which was great and for a treat the Starbucks over the road for a posh coffee and cake. Not the prettiest of sites and we struggled with taking our big dogs for a walk, but as a base for exploring the great attractions of the area, it was just what we were after and would surely visit again

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wood-bee 1 review from this member

On the face of it this site had everything we needed - location in particular; we were looking for somewhere handy for Ellesmere Port to stay for short periods while we're renovating a house there. It doesn't have to be an attractive site, just functional. Woodside certainly had the facilities we needed, and the toilet block is one of the best we've seen anywhere - heating and carpet were a positive luxury in February! Unfortunately the fact that the site is almost completely occupied by contractors meant that they apparently felt entitled to use the ladies' bathroom/toilets as well as the men's, which resulted in the ladies' shower being left in a disgusting condition and two occasions when I walked into the ladies' toilets to find men in occupation - one actually sitting on the loo with his trousers round his ankles and the cubicle door wide open. Add to this the fact that the site gets very dirty in wet weather, and therefore it's impossible not to get covered in mud when going back and forth to use the facilities, and the end result is an experience which unfortunately didn't live up to our expectations. At a different time of year, and with different people in residence, it might be very much better; unfortunately, however, that possibility is not enough to tempt us back - and we'll be looking to stay somewhere else in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twowires 2 reviews from this member

We booked this site primarily to visit Liverpool and its surrounding area as we were travelling from south. It is situated conveniently at the end M56. However, be aware the right turn into the site is straight after the island. Easily missed, we did and not easy to turn around with a 23' van behind!

A bit of an unusual entrance, as you drive between small industrial units. The gates have a security code, which the owner provided prior to arrival. If nobody is about, your pitch number is on a board. Make sure you get the code for the outer gates too, otherwise you could be locked out ??

Once inside you have a flat area, with large gravel pitches, individually identified with small hedges and a nice grass area. It was originally a caravan storage area and is very secure, but maybe a little soulless. This will be much better when the hedges mature.

Several caravans seemed to be occupied by workers, using it as a base in the week. Not a problem at all and most disappear on a Friday night. The dustbins could be empyied more regularly?

Fees collected by a friendly, helpful lady later in the day.

Free wifi, excellent TV and mobile signal

The toilets and showers are clean and water hot.

There is a petrol station opposite, on the island, with a Spar shop for essential supplies.

Easy access to Chester and the Liverpool area and we would certainly stay again if visiting the area in the future

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsgrohl 2 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights at this lovely site. Lovely friendly welcome from the warden. Only a small site, was quiet and secluded. Only one shower and 3 toilets but not a problem as site so small. Everything nipping clean, showers lovely and hot. All pitches EHU with water supply. Free wifi too which was an added bonus.

Had a couple of child free days so chose an adult only site. Not the sort of site to stay on all day as there is some road noise and not much to look at, we only used it as a base.

Bus times a bit hit and miss. We waited an hour for a bus and one in the opposite direction told us it would be another hour and they were changing them to 2 hourly. They stop running after 6pm so taxi it was. Taxi picked us up and said the road he came up was closed so took us another way into town which cost £14 ! Taxi home was £9. That's the pain about us using a motorhome as we tend to prefer to leave the van on site and use public transport into towns so motorhomers beware.

Still loved the site though. Was an excellent base and will def use again next time we visit Chester.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Esme3080 1 review from this member

What a great little campsite. Only two minutes off the M56. All the pitches are fully serviced with water, hook-up and waste on hardstanding.

Toilet blocks are very clean, heated and carpeted.

Security is good with a code required to enter, this is given to you when you book.

Wardens are very helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area and things to do. There is also an information hut with a good selection of leaflets, eateries etc. Wi-fi is also included in the pitch fee.

The bus stop to Chester is just across the road and only takes about 20 minutes and costs £2. 20.

On the downside there is a little bit of road noise.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cazandsteve 3 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at this fantastic little site. As said previously it is spotlessly clean, the shower and toilets are warm and welcoming on the frosty mornings!

The pitches are large and widely spaced, we liked this as the owners could have easily squeezed more on for more revenue but they have chosen quality over quantity.

The garage across the road is 24 hour and next door to the garage is a Little Chef for the lazy fry-up!

The bus stop is across the road and goes on the hour, the only downside is that the last bus back is at 1830 so we got a taxi back each night.

Chester is lovely, old buildings, shopping and great places to eat. We loved The Old Siam thai resteraunt and the Coach House Inn for mulled wine and steak sandwiches!

The Greyhound Inn is about 25 mins walk from the site, we took the footpath on the way there, bit muddy at this time of year so walked back along the road which is about 25 mins easy walking. They do 'British Tapas', you choose from a large selection of dishes, meatfish or veggie based and it comes on a revolving platter. We had 8 tapas at £20 which was great value and very filling!

We will definitely be using this site again and have recommended it to friends.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SRC59 2 reviews from this member

The effort that has been made in creating this obviously quite new site is amazing. Each pitch has its own water, electricity and drainage. The toilet/shower block is immaculate, warm and well equipped with soap, hand towels etc.

The washing up area is small but again immaculate and includes a free washing machine.

The site, as others have said is very secure and the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

We chose this site for its proximity to Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet and Chester City as we were on a ‘shopping break’. We will definitely use it again as a base for touring the area.

There is a fair bit of road noise and there are pylons which cross the site which may put some off. However if it was a choice between this site and the nearby CC site, I would choose this every time. The site offers a 3 nights for the price of two on mid week stays and for value and quality cannot be beaten

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teamroller 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites we have used. It is very secure, adult only, good hard standing with grassed areas.

We wanted a base near Chest and this was ideal, only 3 miles away, and a bus stop right outside the site. Buses run every hour.

The site is a couple of minutes away from the end of the motorway, not far from Cheshire Oaks and the Wirral.

The toilets are good, three cubicles, three wash basins and a huge shower room each side. Water is piping hot and the block is warm.

Karen, the warden, is so very helpful. She meets you in and guides you to your pitch, however if you were late your pitch number is displayed on a board on the gate. She is always there to help or answer any queries.

The site seems pretty new, hedges have been planted and should soon be mature enough to provide shelter.

This is a great site, small but friendly. However it hasn't any character, there is nowhere to walk round like some sites.

We shall definitely use it again when we go to Chester area

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scrabbly 5 reviews from this member

A little unprepossessing on arrival but site must be newish so hedging hadn't grown.

Nice piece of lawn to yourselves so handy if sunny - it wasn't for us !

Very friendly wardens and helpful.

Leaflet hut good idea

Toilets spotless but only one shower so could be difficult if it was full very pleased to find individual water, power and waste to each pitch

Found it very handy for day time trips as close to main roads but pub/food a long way away and not walk able

Although unimpressed on arrival we got used to it and would use again - pity about the pub though!

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019