Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Lion Farm Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stafford > Red Lion Farm Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Red Lion Farm Touring Caravan Park
Jolt Lane
Haughton
Stafford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST18 9JG
Tel: 01785 780587
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GB6ee 3 reviews from this member

Fabulous farm campsite with tea room and ice cream parlour. Lot of farm animals to see it’s like a mini zoo, perfect for children. The farmer was very jovial and friendly. Nice level site.

Gusto pub in the village 10 mins walk did great food. We will definitely be coming back
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vicky-A 2 reviews from this member

On the plus side, the location is great and pitches are level and a good size. Tea rooms are lovely and the ice cream is delicious. The site is peaceful, providing you can cope with the occasional braying donkey. The toilets are clean, and the showers are hot. I thought £14 per night with hookup, awning, 2 adults, 1 teenager and a dog was great value for money.

On the not so great side, there doesn’t seem to be a proper ‘reception’ to book in at, there’s no signage, so we went into the tearoom on arrival and they had to walk us round to the house at the back. I didn’t have an issue with unisex toilets although I could see that some might, but I did find it a little off-putting to be having a shower while someone was doing his washing up just on the other side of the screen. Separate facilities for these things would be nice! The shower water was hot and plentiful (push button every 5 seconds) but it was almost too hot and no way to adjust - not great if you have little kids. There’s no way to adjust the nozzle either, so it’s difficult to keep clothes dry.

Worth noting that one of the local pubs (“The Bell”) appears to have closed for business at the moment.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nibbles1 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights to break up our journey from Scotland to Cornwall. It is excellently situated not too far off the motorway.

I had booked the site several months before hand, when I called two days before our arrival there was no record of my booking, so I booked again. When we arrived on site there was still no record of the booking and we had to wait about in the coffee shop until allocated a pitch, when we went to the pitch allocated it was already taken so we were advised 'just to pick one'.

Facilities were unisex toilets and showers in the same small room. Showers were a challenge with water going everywhere, shower heads needing a good clean.

We dined in one of the local pubs and the food was fantastic. On returning to site we realised the site was in darkness as there was a power cut.

When we were leaving I had to go and find someone to hand the toilet key back to for my deposit to be returned( the toilet was never locked in the time we were there), there was no mention of power failure or how our stay was.

Lovely village and good location but would not use the site again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kimleeandboys 3 reviews from this member

I came here with my husband and kids for the weekend and absolutely loved it. The kids loved waking up to the animals in the morning apart when we had to free the goats from the fence lol. The ice cream is amazing and some very unique flavours which you can buy in tubs to take home. This is a good site for kids and would definitely return, only thing some people might see as a problem is the toilet being unisex but this did not bother us as would just use caravan after dark. This site could just do with a park then would be even better x

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Para638 4 reviews from this member

Had a lovely stay at Red Lion Farm this weekend, children loved the range of animal on sight to entertain them. There is a lovely shop and cafe on site with home made ice cream which was simply the best. Staff are friendly, easy check in. Unisex toilet and shower block. Would be nice to see a children's play area.

Advice - sit to the A roads to access the site, lots of very narrow surrounding roads, don't follow the sat nav.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Touran 09 5 reviews from this member

Just come back from a night at red lion, we stopped the one night here while travelling from Somerset to Wigan as located 15 mins from motorway advisable to check road maps as sat nav took us through tight country lanes. Fantastic little site very clean some gravel pitches mainly grass, lots of animals to feed and look at. Great little tea room open 10. 30-4. 30pm serving lite lunches and home made ice cream also a shop selling pies, ice cream and gifts. Visited the bell pub 5-10mins walk nice food and ales. Toilets and showers are mixed sex and are locked when tearoom closes at 4. 30pm but you pay a £5 deposit which is refunded when returning key so you can access toilet. Site is basic but highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Nice well maintained site, easy access.

Site is split into 2 sections, we were on the grass field opposite the tea rooms/ ice cream parlour.

Nice large open space.

Toilets clean although they are unisex toilets and showers that you share with the daily visitors to the ice cream parlour.

Small animals to entertain the kids, rabbits, Guinea pigs, goats, cows, Bulls and llamas.

We stayed two nights, on the Saturday the farmer decided to cut the field we were on as a rally was arriving the following day, after 5/6 hours of him going up and down on his ride on mower it became rather annoying, but most visitors probably won't experience this.

Overall a nice quiet site with great ice cream! Great value for money!

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissy and Grant 8 reviews from this member

This is a cracking little site, located on a farm with an ice-cream parlour, tea-room and children's petting farm with goats, ducks, alpacas and various other animals.

The people are friendly, we only paid £13 per night with electric and there are two decent pubs within 10 minutes' walk (head-torch recommended).

The only slight negative would be the fact that the toilet and shower block, although warm and clean, was unisex. This didn't bother us much, but may not be to everyone's taste.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 20 reviews from this member

What a little gem of a place! Just stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had read all the previous reviews before booking and therefore there were no surprises.

Plus points- a quiet spot reasonably priced. It is a working farm but the animals added to the occasion. The owl sanctuary is definitely worth a visit. There is a cafe and shop on site. Also two pubs within walking distance.

Minus points - the on site cafe doesn't open until 10. 30 am. It is lovely food but just a pity that they don't serve breakfast. A bacon sandwich would have been most welcome! Also the showers and toilet blocks as said before are unisex but clean. It didn't bother me but slightly strange to be having a shower whilst others are either washing up or in the loo in the same block.

Will DEFINITELY return!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hold 1 review from this member

I been to red lion many times and love it the owners are very fiendly, and the petting animals are great if you have small children and older ive never had a problem with the shared toilets and showers they are always very clean and it is great value for money considering what other sights charge there is a lovely tea room that sells cream tea's and homemade icecream in many flavours. The pitches are of good size all my family love this site and shall be going back again for many more visits

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019