Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dol Einion Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Meirionnydd > Dol Einion Certificated Site Reviews

Dol Einion Certificated Site
Tal Y Llyn
Tywyn
Meirionnydd
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9AJ
Tel: 01654 761312
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 11 Reviews
                6/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Strathearn 4 reviews from this member

First the positive – the site has a wonderful location at the foot of Cader Idris.

However, we found what the last reviewer said still applies, except with three years of neglect added.

As it was very cold, wet and windy with no prospect of climbing Cader Idris, and we were in constant danger of treading sheep shit into the van, we only stayed one night.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site, beginning of June.

Access is easy, off A487 and about 800m along B4405 turn into wide entrance.

Beautiful scenery and at the base of Cader Idris.

There's no TV or phone signal here which suited us.

There is a male Toilet with separate shower and the same for female's but both in the same corridor. Very clean but tired. The showers were coin operated. Did not use it so can't say what it was like.

Can sometimes be noisy due to low flying planes, but only now and then, but I found them good entertainment.

There is a café and a restaurant nearby, but did not use them.

After asking the owner where we could site our caravan, she pointed out a short rough hard standing strip, which had what appeared to be a permanently sited tourer on the end, it should be moved along to make room (As this set the bench mark for every one else who wants elec, as there is only one post with 4 electric points. ) and with another tourer sited inward of that. Leaving what I assumed was room for us on the other end of the strip, (6 meter safety rule)

We parked on the very end. Two day later she's talking to someone in front of our caravan telling them ( loud enough for us too hear ) that our car was to far from our caravan which was taking up a space!

We had no awning up and the car was just a metre from our door. If we had been out for the day, I'am sure she would have shoe horned this campervan in.

Instead she told him to go on the grass next to ours to reach the electric. He reversed just 2/3 metres from our front side window, going to connect.

After pointing out the safety aspects of this he stretched his cable further, but only getting about another 2 metres away. As he was staying 1 night I compromised. This happened again with another campervan but they decided to do without electric rather than be so close.

How many times this might happen over a season I've know idea. I don't think she does it for monetary gain but rather helping people get what they want, regardless of safety.

It needs more electric points and spaces clearly marked.

On another down point, we could not find the chemical disposal point at first even though we were told it was in the garden. It was 'hidden' in bushes across unmown grass. The flat square cover only had one small recessed handle to lift it with, the other one had broke and not been repaired, no strap or raised bar to make lifting easier. I had to use a peg remover to lift it.

Once lifted the scene was one I can't repeat here.

Cold water tap for refilling your water was surrounded by nettles, as too the gateway to the house. There was a Belfast sink on the floor, whether this was for washing your plates I don't know. Some of the surrounding grass/ground for camping was marred by high marsh grass. Bring insect repellent as well as mosquito nets for use on the field.

Sorry to be so negative on some of the above points, but at £16 a night I expected better as customer.

I think as the lady is still getting the money in, she thinks were satisfied with the service.

We're not. Could be lots better with a bit more effort.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

Like previous reviewers, we found this camp site in a wonderful location, however the site left a lot to be desired. It was expensive for what it was which really was a rough field with a bit of tarmac as hard standing. We stayed 3 nights as hoped to climb Cadir Idris and were waiting for the weather. Which meant we needed to empty the loo. The chemical toilet emptying site was so over grown with nettles & thistles it was difficult. Not much was done to warrant the fee. We were not asked for any membership cards although we are members. I usually like CS & CLs but this site knocks your confidence. But it is in the most perfect location!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

Like other reviewers it has to be said that the location is good, being well positioned at the bottom of the steps to the top of Cadir Idris. However it somewhat goes downhill from here. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets but so tired and really superficially clean. Only cold water. Showers are 20p for 3 minutes. We did not use them.

The toilets had run out of paper when we arrived, when paper was in place it was about as cheap as you could get. Not pleasant.

In terms of the site, the ehu post had 4 sockets which meant users had to be close to each other. The field was described as flat but was actually really rough. The sheep in the field kept he edible grass down but this meant what goes in comes out so the field was really poor and had a reasonable amount of pooh.

And very expensive for what you got. I won't be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 20 reviews from this member

Great position ideal for climbing Cader Idris, but very basic, poor toilets/showers no sink in the ladies, no toilet paper, boggy field, limited area to park motorhome, hard standing was quite soft, although to be fair it did rain for most of the summer, and there appeared to be units that had been there for a long time, very expensive for the facilities at £17 per night + shower inc hook up. We wont be going back as the area is full of sites with better facilities that cost less.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maloptera 8 reviews from this member

This is quite a basic campsite but what a location! At the foot of Cadair Idris, at the start of the Minfford path, with the cafe within a short walk (although beware, it isn't always open when it is supposed to be!) and the Gwesty Minfford Hotel less than 10 minutes away, a great place to have an evening meal (or any other meal as they are open for food all day). The owner is helpful and friendly and runs the Heritage Centre next door.

The facilities consist of one outdoor cold tap, 2 toilets and 2 showers (20p for 3 minutes): surprisingly, the only toilet with a sink and mirror is designated the men's! Best not to expect toilet paper or soap. If you accept all this (reflected in the price), this is a great family campsite. The owner is quite tough with late-night revellers. There is a stream running by the campsite which my boys love to play in. Be aware that the RAF regularly practice low flying over the valley. Fighters only seem to come by during the day but a large cargo plane (Hercules?) comes over during weekday nights. Otherwise, very peaceful and relaxing.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

Visited in early May in appalling weather. The site is rough and un-mown with a small gravel area which passes as the 'hardstanding'. There is only one EHU post so if you want to hookup you will have close(ish) neighbours.

Facilities 'tired'- clean enough but dingy.

I thought he site was very expensive for the quality of facilities available- £6-50 per person PLUS ££4-50 for EHU PLUS a charge for the dog ! There is an addition charge for the showers.

Having said all that the location is great- particularly if you plan to climb Cader Idris as the Minfforadd path passes the site.

The is a pub about 10 mins walk away but no shops in the vicinity.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kikimora61 1 review from this member

Hello from Germany, we were here two years ago. We stand there with a car with a separate tent on the top. So we could be indifferent to the underground of the place. There are not pitches. It is very simple campsite, so not for spoiled people. There is no possibility of purchasing. It is advisable to bring with you food, drinks and mosquito protection. The owner was very friendly. She also had time for a little talk. The space is an ideal starting point for hiking to Cadir Idris.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The two cyclists 1 review from this member

Me and a friend stayed at this camp site, while on a 'camping holiday' around the area,this was the last site we stayed on and it was enjoyable, having stayed previously at cae du (near barmouth) where it was over priced, not many facilities and the land was terrible.

However, at dol einion,

2 showers, didn't personally use them but they look clean,

2 toilets I found the second one was nicest.

Situated in a lovely place, a 10 min walk to the lake and pubs, and at the foot of cadeadris.

However, being right next to a river, e found there were lots of midges and this surprisingly made it difficult, however I appreciate nothing can be done about this,

The grass was ok when we stayed,

The only problems that were encountered was no-where to wash up (vital in a tent) and only one water point.

For me this site was great for one night and a lovely owner who plays a harp very well! we could well stay again but maybe not right next to the river! I was pleased to get away in the morning, as I woke up covered in water!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stickie 15 reviews from this member

Location of this camp site is great, right at the foot of one of the paths to cadar idris. Great views, next to quite road, just up the road from large lake.

Owner very knowledgeable about local area.

No local shops but is a bar and restaurant at hotel next to lake.

2 toilets,

Only one of the toilets has a sink (no hot water, only cold). No dryers or towels in toilets to dry hands.

Had to keep taking own loo roll to toilets as half the time there wasn't any in the toilets.

2 showers (20p for 3 mins)

Showers could do with shower curtains in them as it's a problem keeping your clothes dry while in the shower.

Grass on the site is a bit long (could do with cutting, about 1 foot high in places).

Has four electric hook ups (all on one post, on end pitch, so if your on the pitch at other end you will need a very long lead).

No washing up sinks for campers, seen some campers using cold water tap at the water supply tap to wash up.

Hard standing's are just some stone chips on the grass.

As last review said, not cheap (cost me £22 per night) and could do with a bit of care and general attention (then could be a really nice site).

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3142 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019