Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Dol Einion Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Meirionnydd > Dol Einion Certificated Site Reviews

Dol Einion Certificated Site
Tal Y Llyn
Tywyn
Meirionnydd
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL36 9AJ
Tel: 01654 761312
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Norman 1 review from this member

 A great location right at the foot of Cadir Idris. A simple site with basic toilet and shower facilities, which were well maintained and clean (take 20p coins for showers).

Very friendly owner Mrs Rees, always available to answer questions.

Site is generally pretty level, however areas close to the river appeared to be prone to becoming quite waterlogged so beware if the weather is inclement.

Since there are no shops locally make sure you have everything that you need before pitching up. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mailk4 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful location in the shadow of Cadair Idris. Clear, starry skis at night - no light pollution.

A very manageable and enjoyable walk up to and back down from Llyn Cau where we had a dip in the cool waters and a picnic. The Cadair Idris Visitor centre is close by - that has a cafe and a large car park. Llyn Mwyngil is a short walk from the campsite.

Marian, the site owner is great. She is very friendly and helpful. Local and very knowledgeable about the area.

We only accessed the chemical waste - which was adequate - and the water supply which was great. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers available which we didn't use.

We'll certainly use the site again as a a base for walking up Cadair Idris. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Amacke 1 review from this member

 Dramatic location at the foot of Cadair Idris.

Plenty of pitch space and hot showers.

Other facilities were basic but all the essentials were covered.

The campsite owner was very friendly and welcoming. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Eddie3 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location at base of Cader Idris. Peaceful valley. Nice beaches short drive.

Off ground fires allowed. Basic showers and toilets but does the job. Bring 20p's for the shower. Lovely host.

We would stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danni Flaherty 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite does what it says on the tin, its no frills, it isn't pretentious and not monetary minded, Marian is intelligent, sincere, caring and welcoming, her enthusiasm for her Wales is contagious. Marian renovated her property and the chapel next door, she is so misunderstood according to previous reviews.

The toilets and showers are basic but I had a nasty chest infection and loved my daily hot shower, it was sheer bliss! I found the only mess was left by fellow tourists, unflushed drbris, lights left on wasting electricity and significant alcohol bottles at the bin site.

Marian allows fire pits on her site, many others don't, the campsite is never over-populated (if she was money minded, it would be). It is in a perfect valley, military aircraft do practice runs there and it provides a ringside seat, absolutely breath-taking! Dôl-Einion is based right at the foot of Cadair Idris, you couldn't get closer!

If you visit the site, remember that this is Marian's home too, her Brother farms nearby fields, don't set your bar so unrealistically high, take it for what it is, a perfect rural setting, adjavent to a lovely river and above all, practical.

After 5 visits camping, we will never go anywhere else x 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Strathearn 4 reviews from this member

 First the positive – the site has a wonderful location at the foot of Cader Idris.

However, we found what the last reviewer said still applies, except with three years of neglect added.

As it was very cold, wet and windy with no prospect of climbing Cader Idris, and we were in constant danger of treading sheep shit into the van, we only stayed one night. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Betty1103 1 review from this member

 Stayed 14 nights, grass was not in good condition, a very basic site for the money. Washing up was a sink on the floor in the field, cold water, in toilets water was cold. The hard standing was not well maintained, plus too many vans on it, too close to each other.

Loved the views 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site, beginning of June.

Access is easy, off A487 and about 800m along B4405 turn into wide entrance.

Beautiful scenery and at the base of Cader Idris.

There's no TV or phone signal here which suited us.

There is a male Toilet with separate shower and the same for female's but both in the same corridor. Very clean but tired. The showers were coin operated. Did not use it so can't say what it was like.

Can sometimes be noisy due to low flying planes, but only now and then, but I found them good entertainment.

There is a café and a restaurant nearby, but did not use them.

After asking the owner where we could site our caravan, she pointed out a short rough hard standing strip, which had what appeared to be a permanently sited tourer on the end, it should be moved along to make room (As this set the bench mark for every one else who wants elec, as there is only one post with 4 electric points. ) and with another tourer sited inward of that. Leaving what I assumed was room for us on the other end of the strip, (6 meter safety rule)

We parked on the very end. Two day later she's talking to someone in front of our caravan telling them ( loud enough for us too hear ) that our car was to far from our caravan which was taking up a space!

We had no awning up and the car was just a metre from our door. If we had been out for the day, I'am sure she would have shoe horned this campervan in.

Instead she told him to go on the grass next to ours to reach the electric. He reversed just 2/3 metres from our front side window, going to connect.

After pointing out the safety aspects of this he stretched his cable further, but only getting about another 2 metres away. As he was staying 1 night I compromised. This happened again with another campervan but they decided to do without electric rather than be so close.

How many times this might happen over a season I've know idea. I don't think she does it for monetary gain but rather helping people get what they want, regardless of safety.

It needs more electric points and spaces clearly marked.

On another down point, we could not find the chemical disposal point at first even though we were told it was in the garden. It was 'hidden' in bushes across unmown grass. The flat square cover only had one small recessed handle to lift it with, the other one had broke and not been repaired, no strap or raised bar to make lifting easier. I had to use a peg remover to lift it.

Once lifted the scene was one I can't repeat here.

Cold water tap for refilling your water was surrounded by nettles, as too the gateway to the house. There was a Belfast sink on the floor, whether this was for washing your plates I don't know. Some of the surrounding grass/ground for camping was marred by high marsh grass. Bring insect repellent as well as mosquito nets for use on the field.

Sorry to be so negative on some of the above points, but at £16 a night I expected better as customer.

I think as the lady is still getting the money in, she thinks were satisfied with the service.

We're not. Could be lots better with a bit more effort. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

 Like previous reviewers, we found this camp site in a wonderful location, however the site left a lot to be desired. It was expensive for what it was which really was a rough field with a bit of tarmac as hard standing. We stayed 3 nights as hoped to climb Cadir Idris and were waiting for the weather. Which meant we needed to empty the loo. The chemical toilet emptying site was so over grown with nettles & thistles it was difficult. Not much was done to warrant the fee. We were not asked for any membership cards although we are members. I usually like CS & CLs but this site knocks your confidence. But it is in the most perfect location! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

 Like other reviewers it has to be said that the location is good, being well positioned at the bottom of the steps to the top of Cadir Idris. However it somewhat goes downhill from here. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets but so tired and really superficially clean. Only cold water. Showers are 20p for 3 minutes. We did not use them.

The toilets had run out of paper when we arrived, when paper was in place it was about as cheap as you could get. Not pleasant.

In terms of the site, the ehu post had 4 sockets which meant users had to be close to each other. The field was described as flat but was actually really rough. The sheep in the field kept he edible grass down but this meant what goes in comes out so the field was really poor and had a reasonable amount of pooh.

And very expensive for what you got. I won't be returning. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dol Einion Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dol Einion Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dol Einion Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Meirionnydd      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3428 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window