Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New Forest Water Park Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

New Forest Water Park Certificated Site
Ringwood Road
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2EY
Tel: 01425 656868
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heather44 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the Easter weekend April 2014. We left early due to the constant noise from the other campers on the island. Two nights running they were still guitar playing and singing at 3am whilst other campers were still talking loudly at 5am! There is no 'no noise after 11pm' policy like other campsites. So I'm afraid that I agree with the review below, this ruined our stay.

We did ask the owners the first night to sort it out but he was less than pleased about it. This campsite also allows large groups of young people to cram as many as 6 tents on one pitch, add beer to the mix and this is not really the best place for families. I must admit that the open fires encourage this somewhat, even though we really enjoyed our fire for roasting marshmallows etc.

We were in a tent with electric hook up which is called Lakeside Camping.

We found the site fairly easily!

The site is nice, there is woodland camping which looks great but has no electric. The toilet block I believe is fairly new, there are 3 toilets and three showers and 2 sinks for washing dishes, however, we would have liked a separate sink for hand washing/teeth cleaning. Also the light was out in the sink areas which meant at night it was very dark for brushing teeth.

The reception staff are very helpful with anything related to the camp but not so much if you want advice on where to go walking etc. There is a woodland type area but I was told I couldn't walk in it and there are 'out of bounds' signs everywhere.

We did SUP and Kayaking which we really enjoyed but be warned, it's very much 'here's your board off you go'. We had done this before but he didn't know that and compared to the extensive lesson we'd had before where we were accompanied on the lake by the instructor this was VERY basic.

We didn't use the bar/food facilities so can't comment except to say they were doing a bbq when we arrived. Burgers/hotdogs 4 each. We found a local McDonalds at the Burley turn off on the A31.

There is no recycling at this campsite which I found disturbing, especially as it's the new forest. We have camped all over the world and are used to recycling in different bins, however there was all sorts of plastic in the dumpsters! Save the planet people !

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiffany 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights just before the bank holiday. It is a beautiful site right by the lake. We had pitch number 4 if I recall. It was very reasonably priced for the new forest - especially as I was one adult with 2 children. They have a clear section with goal posts for playing, and on the first night the centre of the field was also clear. On the second night however (the Friday of the BH) someone had camped there. The pitches are pretty spacious.

The facilities here are OK - for ladies 2 showers and one toilet by the clubhouse - however it's only open between 9am and 9pm. In between there were pretty smelly portaloos.

You are allowed open fires and they sell you the logs. We didn't do this, but many of the other campers did. I think it was largely to keep away the midges which were numerous, however didn't seem to bite.

Whilst I loved the location, we were disappointed by the noise on the 2nd night. We had a neighbour turn up during the day and the small group of youngsters unfortunately were talking incredibly loudly. This kept me and my daughters awake. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any 'warden' on site, and also no suggestion of any 'quiet after xxxpm' rule. This really ruined our enjoyment.

Next time I will be looking for a site which enforces quietness after a certain time.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampers19 3 reviews from this member

Came here with a large group of neighbours for the 2nd year running as the previous year went so well.

Had a larger tent so the camping experience was better.

The good points are the pitches in the wood round the open fire, water activities for the ones that did them but they are pricey, football goals and play area and the bar.

The bad points now that we've experienced a few more sites are. Pitches in the wood are too small for modern sized family tents that would like the camp fire. The portable loos are totally inadequate and not cleaned. The field leading onto the lakes is possibly an accident waiting to happen.

However, a good site with value for money in very nice surroundings.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Runner01 5 reviews from this member

This was a lovely campsite and I would highly recommend it to other families wanting a traditional camping experience in a non-commercialised setting.

There were very basic toilet and shower facilities, but these are the only things I would change if I had to. And maybe a park for the younger kids would be a good addition, although there was the water area for them to play in.

Nice bar/restaurant on site, lovely camping area with HUGE pitches and very friendly staff are just some of the things which will tempt me to book this campsite when in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redriot46fa 2 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at the New Forest Water Park site with my partner in our tent. We had the main camping field all to ourselves and really enjoyed our stay. They had approximately 12 pitches on the main tent field, that is located right by the lake, and further pitches inside the woodland area, which seems to be used by groups.

The lake was quiet at night, but is used a lot during the day for watersports.

We stayed at pitch number 5, which looks directly out over the lake and is right next to a fishing swim, so you can get down to the water. Pitch number 3 is also very nice as it is very open and has a good view over the lake. We did not venture into the woods to view that area.

The main toilet/shower block is located under the main office of the center and I can say that the ladies was nice. There were two showers, both with plenty of hot water hot water, and one toilet.

These were open from 9am to 9pm and were also used by the watersports customers during the day, so I can see it being very busy at peak times. The showers are also 'timed' push button and fixed to the wall, so washing your essential areas was difficult. There is a shelf outside with drinking water and a washing up bowl, but no hot water.

Overnight when the center is closed you have the use of two porta-loos that are near the entrance to the woods only a few steps from the camping field. I found that these were nearly always out of toilet paper and so do take your own to use. They were also very smelly and were left filthy by the large groups that had been staying in the woods.

The staff seemed to be aware of this problem and said that they would be cleaning it up once the group had left. Two different groups were booked into the woods area during our stay and both were very disruptive and noisy. The sound really carries in the area and we were kept up each night with shouting and messing about, with nothing being said to the groups by the staff. It may be worth checking who is booked in prior to making your own reservation as there does not seem to be any 'quiet after dark' rules.

The centre staff were very friendly and helpful, telling us everything we needed to know about the area. The centre reception has a bar and serves very nice snack lunches between 12-1430 hours. On arrival we were told to pitch where we wanted and that we could leave our car next to the tent. The staff have a very relaxed attitude towards the campers and I found this refreshing.

The site itself is in a great location and is close to Bournemouth, Christchurch, Southampton and of course the new forest parks. You could hear the main road at night, but it was not loud enough to disturb your sleep. You can also hear the ducks on the lake and the fish jumping out of the water during the hours of darkness, which was strange on the first night. The fish in the lake are huge and it is very popular with the members of the fishing club. There are some lovely pubs and supermarkets very close by, but you need to drive.

The site is currently tents only and you would have to be careful with children as the lake is so easily accessible. All in all a very nice site in a great location. I would certainly stay there again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rickers 1 review from this member

Beautiful setting with the lake right next to the camping area, we were able to have a camp fire, fire wood was for sale at the clubhouse. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help. The watersports provide entertainment during the day. The food was excellent value at lunchtime, good sized portions and delicious. Having a bar there was also a bonus! Best of all the campsite was small and it was lovely waking up next to the lake when everything was still and quiet. New Forest is very close and Bournemouth town centre is only 20/30 mins drive away.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fordy2u 1 review from this member

I would agree totally with the first review. Not camped for donkeys years (oh and a few of them dotted around the New Forest - so cute!) This site was totally amazing with stunning views of the lake.

It seems to be split into three sections: A wooded area with raised platforms for the tents, the main field for all forms of camping (with lake views), and then a quieter area which has four pitches in a field overlooking the lake.

Lots of fishermen around as they are private members and boy do they catch some whopping fish, but it is strictly members only! Witnessed some funny sites with people learning to water ski, and the tyres and banana thing. If you love water sports this is the place for you. Hospitality brilliant, very friendly.

Facilities need improving but as it is the first time for campers (tents I think) only to be expected. Word of caution if taking children, the lake is easily accessible so you will need to keep a close eye on them. I would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teddosan 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time camping, and after forking out for lots of kit, we struggled to find a campsite that wasn't full for the Bank Holiday Weekend at the end of May.

We found the NFWP and it looked OK; having tried Red Shoot, Roundhill and all the other recommended sites in the New Forest we felt that this would be worth a go.

This was their first weekend offering camping, so we really didn't know what to expect.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly on the phone and we were looking forward to our trip.

The journey was a nightmare thanks to the M25 and we arrived about three hours later than anticipated. Our pitch was ready, and the campsite was already quite busy.

We pitched our tent quite quickly, had dinner and had a quick explore.

The site is actually just across the main Ringwood Road from the New Forest, but the setting is idyllic. The lake on which the watersports and fishing takes place is right next to the camping field and provides a lovely backdrop.

There is some road noise from the Ringwood Road, and it can be noticeable at night.

The facilities do need to be updated a bit, but they have an excellent basis. The clubhouse has a bar and a restaurant, and toilets that you can use during the day. There are also changing rooms and showers used for the watersports that campers can use.

These are open from around 9.30 in the morning through to perhaps 9 at night. Thereafter there is a portable loo for campers' use at night.

This did get a bit smelly over the course of the weekend, and the owners realised the need for an extra loo, and more frequent emptying, so hopefully that will not be a problem in future.

There is currently no area for washing up, but again the owners said they were going to rectify this in the near future.

The surrounding area is as you would expect from the New Forest: peaceful and full of horses! There are some pubs within a mile or so; we only ate at one of them: The Royal Oak in Hyde. It was fine and served decent food.

What we really loved about the site was that it was small, but not overcrowded. There is a small football area that our son could just run off and play on but where we could still see him.

We went to see Red Shoot while in the area, and while it undoubtedly has better facilities, it seemed a little too 'commercial' for our tastes, and there would have been less scope for him to just run off and play.

All in all, this site is fine (if virgin campers can survive four nights then anyone can!) and will get better as they get better at serving the needs of campers. This should improve the value for money; currently they are charging New Forest rates but don't have all the facilities necessarily to warrant that.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019