Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Forest Water Park Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Fordingbridge > New Forest Water Park Certificated Site > Reviews

New Forest Water Park Certificated Site
Ringwood Road
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SP6 2EY
Tel: 01425 656868
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jamesw 1 review from this member

 Very clean site and round hill. The 2 people working in office was very helpful, and polite.

Very peaceful and very nice site.

One downfall is no toilet facilities, or

Fire pits to enjoy the outdoors with a camp fire at night. But overall very nice 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Yulia2 1 review from this member

 Thank you. Great pitches spaced far apart. Sanitising wipes provided in toilets.

Really great for water park and access to new forest cycle trails.

A bit close to A road so not totally quiet, but nice and secluded in the woods.

Cleaning twice a day of facilities is provided, but could be more thorough. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Suemo7 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed our stay.

Facilities all good and well organised.

Great to have paddle boarding and inflatables on site.

Covid precautions seem well handled. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickers 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting with the lake next to the camping area, we were able to have a camp fire, fire wood was for sale at the clubhouse. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help.

The watersports provide entertainment during the day. The food was excellent value at lunchtime, good sized portions and delicious. Having a bar there was also a bonus!

Best of all the campsite was small and it was lovely waking up when everything was still and quiet.

New Forest is very close and Bournemouth town centre is only 20/30 mins drive away. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather44 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the Easter weekend April 2014. We left early due to the constant noise from the other campers on the island. Two nights running they were still guitar playing and singing at 3am whilst other campers were still talking loudly at 5am! There is no 'no noise after 11pm' policy like other campsites. So I'm afraid that I agree with the review below, this ruined our stay.

We did ask the owners the first night to sort it out but he was less than pleased about it. This campsite also allows large groups of young people to cram as many as 6 tents on one pitch, add beer to the mix and this is not really the best place for families. I must admit that the open fires encourage this somewhat, even though we really enjoyed our fire for roasting marshmallows etc.

We were in a tent with electric hook up which is called Lakeside Camping.

We found the site fairly easily!

The site is nice, there is woodland camping which looks great but has no electric. The toilet block I believe is fairly new, there are 3 toilets and three showers and 2 sinks for washing dishes, however, we would have liked a separate sink for hand washing/teeth cleaning. Also the light was out in the sink areas which meant at night it was very dark for brushing teeth.

The reception staff are very helpful with anything related to the camp but not so much if you want advice on where to go walking etc. There is a woodland type area but I was told I couldn't walk in it and there are 'out of bounds' signs everywhere.

We did SUP and Kayaking which we really enjoyed but be warned, it's very much 'here's your board off you go'. We had done this before but he didn't know that and compared to the extensive lesson we'd had before where we were accompanied on the lake by the instructor this was VERY basic.

We didn't use the bar/food facilities so can't comment except to say they were doing a bbq when we arrived. Burgers/hotdogs 4 each. We found a local McDonalds at the Burley turn off on the A31.

There is no recycling at this campsite which I found disturbing, especially as it's the new forest. We have camped all over the world and are used to recycling in different bins, however there was all sorts of plastic in the dumpsters! Save the planet people ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiffany 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 nights just before the bank holiday. It is a beautiful site right by the lake. We had pitch number 4 if I recall. It was very reasonably priced for the new forest - especially as I was one adult with 2 children. They have a clear section with goal posts for playing, and on the first night the centre of the field was also clear. On the second night however (the Friday of the BH) someone had camped there. The pitches are pretty spacious.

The facilities here are OK - for ladies 2 showers and one toilet by the clubhouse - however it's only open between 9am and 9pm. In between there were pretty smelly portaloos.

You are allowed open fires and they sell you the logs. We didn't do this, but many of the other campers did. I think it was largely to keep away the midges which were numerous, however didn't seem to bite.

Whilst I loved the location, we were disappointed by the noise on the 2nd night. We had a neighbour turn up during the day and the small group of youngsters unfortunately were talking incredibly loudly. This kept me and my daughters awake. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any 'warden' on site, and also no suggestion of any 'quiet after xxxpm' rule. This really ruined our enjoyment.

Next time I will be looking for a site which enforces quietness after a certain time. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycampers19 3 reviews from this member

 Came here with a large group of neighbours for the 2nd year running as the previous year went so well.

Had a larger tent so the camping experience was better.

The good points are the pitches in the wood round the open fire, water activities for the ones that did them but they are pricey, football goals and play area and the bar.

The bad points now that we've experienced a few more sites are. Pitches in the wood are too small for modern sized family tents that would like the camp fire. The portable loos are totally inadequate and not cleaned. The field leading onto the lakes is possibly an accident waiting to happen.

However, a good site with value for money in very nice surroundings. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Runner01 5 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely campsite and I would highly recommend it to other families wanting a traditional camping experience in a non-commercialised setting.

There were very basic toilet and shower facilities, but these are the only things I would change if I had to. And maybe a park for the younger kids would be a good addition, although there was the water area for them to play in.

Nice bar/restaurant on site, lovely camping area with HUGE pitches and very friendly staff are just some of the things which will tempt me to book this campsite when in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redriot46fa 2 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at the New Forest Water Park site with my partner in our tent. We had the main camping field all to ourselves and really enjoyed our stay. They had approximately 12 pitches on the main tent field, that is located right by the lake, and further pitches inside the woodland area, which seems to be used by groups.

The lake was quiet at night, but is used a lot during the day for watersports.

We stayed at pitch number 5, which looks directly out over the lake and is right next to a fishing swim, so you can get down to the water. Pitch number 3 is also very nice as it is very open and has a good view over the lake. We did not venture into the woods to view that area.

The main toilet/shower block is located under the main office of the center and I can say that the ladies was nice. There were two showers, both with plenty of hot water hot water, and one toilet.

These were open from 9am to 9pm and were also used by the watersports customers during the day, so I can see it being very busy at peak times. The showers are also 'timed' push button and fixed to the wall, so washing your essential areas was difficult. There is a shelf outside with drinking water and a washing up bowl, but no hot water.

Overnight when the center is closed you have the use of two porta-loos that are near the entrance to the woods only a few steps from the camping field. I found that these were nearly always out of toilet paper and so do take your own to use. They were also very smelly and were left filthy by the large groups that had been staying in the woods.

The staff seemed to be aware of this problem and said that they would be cleaning it up once the group had left. Two different groups were booked into the woods area during our stay and both were very disruptive and noisy. The sound really carries in the area and we were kept up each night with shouting and messing about, with nothing being said to the groups by the staff. It may be worth checking who is booked in prior to making your own reservation as there does not seem to be any 'quiet after dark' rules.

The centre staff were very friendly and helpful, telling us everything we needed to know about the area. The centre reception has a bar and serves very nice snack lunches between 12-1430 hours. On arrival we were told to pitch where we wanted and that we could leave our car next to the tent. The staff have a very relaxed attitude towards the campers and I found this refreshing.

The site itself is in a great location and is close to Bournemouth, Christchurch, Southampton and of course the new forest parks. You could hear the main road at night, but it was not loud enough to disturb your sleep. You can also hear the ducks on the lake and the fish jumping out of the water during the hours of darkness, which was strange on the first night. The fish in the lake are huge and it is very popular with the members of the fishing club. There are some lovely pubs and supermarkets very close by, but you need to drive.

The site is currently tents only and you would have to be careful with children as the lake is so easily accessible. All in all a very nice site in a great location. I would certainly stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fordy2u 1 review from this member

 I would agree totally with the first review. Not camped for donkeys years (oh and a few of them dotted around the New Forest - so cute!) This site was totally amazing with stunning views of the lake.

It seems to be split into three sections: A wooded area with raised platforms for the tents, the main field for all forms of camping (with lake views), and then a quieter area which has four pitches in a field overlooking the lake.

Lots of fishermen around as they are private members and boy do they catch some whopping fish, but it is strictly members only! Witnessed some funny sites with people learning to water ski, and the tyres and banana thing. If you love water sports this is the place for you. Hospitality brilliant, very friendly.

Facilities need improving but as it is the first time for campers (tents I think) only to be expected. Word of caution if taking children, the lake is easily accessible so you will need to keep a close eye on them. I would definitely go again. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is New Forest Water Park Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Forest Water Park Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is New Forest Water Park Certificated Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fordingbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3715 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement