Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Church House Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Oswestry > Church House Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Church House Caravan & Camping Site
Melverley
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8PJ
Tel: 01691 682754
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ria1402 1 review from this member

A lovely spot, this is a small well maintained site with great views and a friendly / helpful owner. Facilities clean. Very little noise from the nearby minor road so there is little to interrupt the peace and quiet. Good, easy walking right on the doorstep, with the river and historic church adding interest. We didn't eat locally, so cannot comment on the quality of any fare on offer. We'd probably worry about the river if we had small children, but as we were 2 adults it was perfect for us.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hop1958bikes 1 review from this member

We stayed for one night cycle camping. Paul the owner is a thoroughly nice bloke who even set up a kettle for us to use in the barn and lent us 2 camping chairs!

Lovely peaceful site with good facilities. Can also recommend the Admiral Rodney pub for great food/beer.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CanalDream 1 review from this member

A peaceful location with beautiful views. The owner was friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean. Perfect for adults or families. We had two 14yr old boys with us, who had a great time in their inflatable kayak, splashing about in the river, then a spot of fishing. You even get a great piece of history and architecture on your doorstep, the church is open every day. We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: THE REAL GOOSE 5 reviews from this member

Friendly site by a beautiful church. Owners Paul and Lisa very welcoming nothing was a problem. Good pubs for walking and by car. Plenty of walking areas. Peaceful place. Overall experience great! The church, St Peters Melverley is a must to visit, a place of worship for 1, 000 of years. Rebuilt in 1406. Fishing area on camp site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fi hadyn 2 reviews from this member

Great site, very rural, lovely country walks, fishing on site - licence available from manager. Great manager, really helpful - even has a spare tent if you forget yours. Shower and toilets clean and well maintained. Kitchen area covered and clean, hot and cold water. Fridge freezer available to use and good local info folder too. Dog friendly. Car drive 5 mins for local shop garage and pub. Suitable for singles, couples and families, normal hazards for little ones around water as river runs through the site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeyt 1 review from this member

This is a lovely, tranquil campsite set along a river and next to a beautiful old church. The site is extremely peaceful and the owner/manager is a really nice, helpful bloke.

My partner and I wanted peace and quiet and that is what we got. There are nice walks close by and beautiful farmland/countryside to look at. The site also seems well away from busier roads, such as motorways and A roads - which we liked. We enjoy campsites that offer a chilled out feel and this is one of the best campsites we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachymoo 1 review from this member

We were fortunate enough to stay here last week during the heat wave with our 3 children. We have stayed here several times over the last 3 years (sometimes in a tent) and it has become our favourite place to stay.

It is a lovely tranquil smaller site set alongside the river and next door to one of the oldest churches in the country which is usually open so you can have a look around.

The owner/site manager is fab and willing to lend a hand or give advice where needed.

Although the Tontine Pub had closed since our last visit there is a choice of other pubs including the Fir Tree and the Hand and Diamond.

There is a free hot shower and two toilets each with there own basins. There is also a large barn.

We enjoyed venturing out to Shrewsbury and Oswestry which are both lovely places to shop.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaycee1959 3 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site Nice hot shower (free). Welcomed by the owner who showed us where everything was. Told we could choose our own pitch as we did not require ehu. Dogs have to stay on the lead on site but once over the stile at the far end of the site they are free to run off lead. Church is beautiful. Went in a couple of times. Lovely walks around area. Great for bike riding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back soon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swaton 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! Small, but ideal for getting away from everything.

The toilet/ shower block was clean with plenty of hot water. The washing up area also housed a fridge/ freezer, which is always useful - although the freezer was full of freezer blocks which have presumably either been left by previous holiday makers, or left by the seasonal caravanners, of whom very few were on site.

Plenty of wildlife about -owls calling in the day and night when we were there - and a lovely river flowing at the side of the site.

Just a short walk to the Tontine Inn - a varied menu should you wish to eat, friendly bar staff and a good guest beer that week.

Plenty to do and see in the area - we will be returning next year, hopefully.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosash 1 review from this member

Was not looking forward to what promised to be a wet bank holiday weekend under canvas but the facilities and the helpfulness of the owner made it a really enjoyable experience.

The barn was a real asset during the rain and the free hot water in the showers and washing up room made life so much easier.

The Tontine Inn round the corner is great and the old church is beautiful. A great weekend despite the rain!

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019