Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Dolau Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Newtown > The Dolau Inn > Reviews

The Dolau Inn
Mochdre
Newtown
Powys   (Browse area)
SY16 4JL
Tel: 07872005625  or  07872 005625
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davel1 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed our stay, lovely little site.

Sunday lunch was excellent.

Friendly, helpful hosts.

We will definitely be going back again when we get chance. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lucygr 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite, very quiet when we stayed there and great value for money.

The toilet and shower facilities were very clean. Nice pub too!

We'd definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this campsite is closed, although the pub itself remains open.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know.

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rowlie 1 review from this member

 We are half way through our visit (only 3 nights). So far we are very happy. On arrival we were greeted very favourably by the owners. The site is small but in a nice location. Very quiet. Our two dogs were fascinated by the chickens. The facilities were basic but clean. We will try the food on Wednesday so may need to update our review hopefully favourably. TV is a problem as we could not get a signal. Our trip is to short to worry about using satellite TV but with the hills and trees it may be a problem

If you want a small site in a nice area then this is certainly worth a try. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elaine51 3 reviews from this member

 What an unusual site, it is actually the pub beer garden! we were the only people in the garden so it was amazingly quiet. There were free range chickens running around too. The toilet block was basic, and we couldn't work the shower, but were showed how to (you need to pull the cord). There is a fridge freezer and a washing up sink.

The pub has wonderful food and apparently great beer too (i don't drink beer!). The staff were so friendly. The site was incredibly cheap. Well worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JSharp 9 reviews from this member

 Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for one night only, as part of a circular, 2 week trip around Wales. We stopped off here on our way back down to the South West of England.

Generally speaking, I'd describe the site as a micro campsite. The atmosphere we found to be relaxed and quiet, which was lovely after coming from a packed campsite further North. The locality as previously described is rural, with a few sheep and a few houses! Newport itself is not without some charm, but to be honest is a bit run down and seems to be a ghost town on a Sunday afternoon, but most importantly there is a supermarket that caters to basic food needs.

The facilities by our standards were good and most importantly very clean. The shower was hot and powerful enough for a good wash. Toilets were spotless and well stocked with paper.

The price was the best yet! Honestly the cheapest I've ever had. The rate at the time was 5 per night.

Food in the pub was reasonably priced and delicious. I recommend the steak & ale pie! The bitter on tap was also pleasant.

The landlord and landlady were very friendly and hospitable.

To sum up, we very much enjoyed our short stay at the Dolau Inn and certainly would consider staying again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lagotto-Mad 5 reviews from this member

 We over-nighted here on the way back home from the coast for a Saturday night. It is about a mile from the main road but feels like the middle of nowhere, just a few houses and sheep along the lanes.

We phoned ahead and were told to arrive as and when suited us and were told the same about leaving on the Sunday.

The site is sheltered and flat and you share your site with a few chickens that are scratching about the garden. Opposite the entrance gate there is a portacabin which provides toilet, shower and washing up facilities (there is no ELSAN point provided at this site). The toilets are cold water only, no soap or hand towels provided but did have loo roll, they are not glamorous but functional and clean. As it was only an overnight stop we didn't use the shower and so cannot comment. The dish washing facilities were very good and there also appeared to be a fridge/freezer available if you needed it.

There was a very warm welcome from the landlord when the pub opened at 5pm. It would have been rude not to have sampled some of the real ale on offer, sitting next to a roaring woodburning stove and we also enjoyed a lovely evening meal which was very reasonably priced.

It is a very small pub, seating about 12 in the bar and having 3 dining tables (seating about 15), everyone made us feel most welcome. There are also a number of tables outside and I would imagine it is a beautiful place to sit out on a sunny day. We did sit out for a pint before the sun dropped and the midges came out to play. Sunday lunches are also supposed to be excellent here, we were too late to make a booking on this occasion, they were fully booked.

We are looking forward to our next visit. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Dolau Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The Dolau Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newtown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement