Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morfa Mawr

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Morfa Mawr
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BG
Tel: 01758 760264
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Welshonesu 1 review from this member

Turned up hadn't booked but no problem. Fantastic views right over the cliffs. Clean tidy site. 10 / night pp. Family site. Dogs welcome on a lead. Bbqs allowed. Hook up and water available on a number of pitches but we didn't need either. Will definitely go there again. The village is a 15mins walk along the lanes or two other routes can be taken.

Superb campsite situated just 1mile from Aberdaron. Sat up on the cliffs over the beach with fantastic views. Clean showers and toilets. We didn't book just turned up. High season we paid 20 each for 2 nights. (3 adults and 2 vans).

Very welcoming owners.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

Just perfect. The site has amazing views, friendly owners, relaxed, non-regimented atmosphere, clean facilities, direct access to beach and to coast path, good pubs within easy walk and a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilux 1 review from this member

The highest praise of a site must be when one wishes to keep it a secret from everyone else.

We have been going to Morfa Mawr for a decade now for breaks of a weekend to a fortnight; stayed on the two coastal of the three fields, in a variety of tents and caravans.

More facilities can reduce the attraction of less, one can always catch the bus to livelier resorts and return early evening to a picturesque village. What one receives here are excellent basic cleaning facilities, perfect hosts and a tranquil area to live (not die) for.

Try it out but not too many please. Keep it our secret.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Momentofmadness 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for the last four years with our friends. There are three fields two opposite each other a short walk from the village and another further up the road. We stayed in the smaller field by the village the first two years which were great. And for the last two years in the one further up the road. This gave us lots more room for rounders football etc as we are a mixed bunch some with families (children 6-18 years) and up to 10 tents.

Facilities two toilets three shower rooms with toilets that are free. And wow. What fab power showers they are and all spotlessly clean. Take your own loo roll. There is a washing up room also.

The views amazing, you can see right round the bay. Breath taking sunsets. A real treat being introduced to the larger field as you are on a cliff edge with a path down to the beach which is lovely. Can't beat being sat round a camp fire at night listening to the waves roll in. Then waking up to that relaxing sound.

The village is small and idyllic. 2 pubs 1bakery 1 spar shop with butchers (very reasonable)1 chip shop 'pricey' 1cafe a newsagents and a couple of gift shops with ice cream parlour. And pizzas.

The owners are fantastic people very friendly. And we will be back next year.

're the walk to the village. On the way back to site the hill can feel quite steep. We nicknamed it Cardiac Hill. But to be honest it doesn't seem as bad 4years on after our first drunken ramble up it.

The site allows off the floor camp fires and dogs.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Wrexham15 1 review from this member

This site is simply stunning.

The owners have two sites, one almost in the village and another one a few hundred yards on along the Rhiw road.

I stayed on the one further from the village. It's a large field about 400yards long running along the cliff top, so the view is wonderful.

The grass is cut very short and no sheep grazing so no sheep poo to avoid treading into the tent.

The toilets, showers and washing up areas are spotlessly clean though I can imagine a few queues when the site is busy.

There is no charge for the showers, but remember to take loo roll. There was some provided but no spare rolls.

It's a bit of a trek to the loos if you choose to camp at the far end of the field.

There is access to the beach down a path from the site.

I think this is the best site in Aberdaron.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LucyCain 1 review from this member

Beautiful location, lovely owners, can't wait to go back.

The showers are very basic, only 1 water point in our field and sorting our hookup in the next field was a bit of a performance. But honestly, that all goes by the wayside when you see the view! So peaceful and tranquil.

We didn't want to leave.

A 20 minute walk into Aberaron which has just what you need. A steep walk down the banking off the site for the beach (if you're a good climber), or access from the village also.

Large field for the children to play in.

No snooty owners or lists of rules as long as your arm. Proper way to camp and so relaxed and laid back.

Great site!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debip 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely few days camping in Morfa Mawr we went with a few friends a whole bunch of children and while the campsite is basic only 3 showers for the site we had a great time.

The site it's self is set up over 2 fields over looking the sea there is a single wire fence to stop you going over the cliff so beware of little ones making a dash for it.

While the site has no park or play ground the site has plenty of space so our children of ages from 15-2 ran around playing football frizbee and tennis take toys.

The beach itself is lovely and with the little shops it is well serviced but the cafe over the road from the beach is very expensive totally taking advantage of the summer visitors.

Would use this site again in fact haven't stopped talking about it since we got home

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wavy0000 1 review from this member

This is one of our favourite sites in the whole UK. The site directly overlooks the sea at the coast, and as it as at the top of the cliffs it has fabulous views.

The showers and toilets are basic, but always clean and this is all you need. The location is beautiful. Aberdaron is a wonderful village by the sea. The Ship Inn serves great food and has a superb balcony overlooking the sea and beach where you can relax, have a meal and enjoy a drink.

There are electric hookups (standard 16 amp connectors). Usually there is no difficulty getting a pitch, but best to book in advance at busy times, eg. Bank Holiday weekends.

The nearby beach at Porth Oer (Whistling Sands) is one of the best in the whole of Europe, as long as the weather is good. We have just returned from a beach on the Adriatic coast in Italy and I can genuinely say that Porth Oer is more beautiful and has better sand. Do a google search of images for Whistling Sands and you will see how amazing it is.

The Morfa Mawr camp site can get a bit windy sometimes as it is right on the coast and atop the cliffs, but normally this isn't a problem. When the weather is good, there are few places which can beat it. Very friendly site owners and very friendly folks in the village.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barryandkath9999 2 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site just a few minutes walk up the hill from Aberdaron,

Large slightly sloping field with lovely south facing sea views over Aberdaron Bay (just possible in very clear weather to see the Pembrokeshire hills!).

Small clean toilet block and dishwashing facilities. The location means it can be a little exposed with some wind but lovely basic site all the same.

Aberdaron beach very nice and Whistling Sands (Porth Oer) is a very short drive away, known for it's great sand for sandcastles! A few shops in Aberdaron where you can get your food etc.

Very reasonable at 10 per tent per night (August 2010). Will certainly be returning soon.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John Judge 1 review from this member

This is a brilliant hideaway if you want peace and see the wonders of the stars at night.

Great beach a small stroll down the cliff!

Wonderful owners with clean and tidy facilities.

My children (19 and 10) along with their 14yr old niece thought they had found heaven.

I also visited later in the year (twice) in my motorhome with my kids again and a friend and his 9yr old daughter with similar experiences.

Close to whistling sands and other smaller beaches it is ideal. Love the place and will be back again soon.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019