Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Chateau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Eymet > Camping Du Chateau Reviews

Camping Du Chateau
Rue De La Sole
Eymet
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24500
Tel: 0033 05 53 23 80 28
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 66
Open: 01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Samjo25 4 reviews from this member

 Great Campsite! We have been two years in a row now and it’s now new owners. It is still run very well with clean facilities and large pitches. Freezer facilities available also. Campsite is quiet with lots of older couples using it for long stays in the town.

Eymet town centre is 5 mins walk away and is amazing. Think of a little English Market town add open air seating at restaurants and cafes on each corner and add some sunshine and you have Eymet! It’s a great atmosphere and most nights something is happening in the square in July and August.

I personally recommend the “party in the park” on a Thursday. Street food, wine sellers and live music! There is also an outdoor public pool in Eymet; we didn’t use it but it’s there.

We visited some great places; I would recommend Lac de Pombonne in Bergerac (a man made beach on a lake), Chateau de Bridoire (medieval Chateau with a natural woodland maze and medieval games) and last year we did the Bergerac WineTour based in Eymet (fantastic tour) and as part of this we went to Cave Cooperative Sigoules.

We went back this year to the cooperative and bought lots of lovely wine. They even gave us a free bottle! Great Campsite with loads to do! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lbarkas 81 reviews from this member

 We too fell under Phillipe's spell during our 7-night stay. He really does make the site so special, though he advised that he is coming to the end of his 10-year management soon, intending to go fishing in New Zealand.

He even got his jet washer out to clean our ground sheet which was encrusted with clay-soil from our previous site - it came up like new! On the Friday night, we were invited to attend his soiree (5 euros per person) where a succession of finger foods is served, with wine. Very enjoyable it was too, with the opportunity to meet with fellow campers, many of whom were regulars and been coming for years.

Our chosen pitch was of a good size, with hedges providing some privacy. The showers are dated and shabby, but kept clean. The proximity of the town was a bonus so many days we did not use the car. Plenty of restaurants, bars, bakeries and a small supermarket.

Our visit coincided with the start of the night market which was lively. We went to the producers gourmet market on the Thursday night in the park next door which was very enjoyable. Many stalls were there selling fast food, wine and beer, and tables and benches were provided to sit and eat your purchases. The entertainment provided by a British guitar playing singer was very good too (much of the local population are ex-pats).

We had a trip out to Monpazier which had been recommended, and were not disappointed, it was market day too. A delightful town. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samjo25 4 reviews from this member

 THE CAMPSITE: This is an amazing campsite. Not too big and not too small. Great facilities including clean toilets and showers, two cleaning up areas with hot water, a washing machine, a fridge and a freezer. We had a shaded pitch was excellent with a tent.

All pitches have access to electricity if needed. We did it use it and so we paid €13 per night without electricity. Phillipe who runs the site is amazing. So helpful and regularly checks you are ok. There was a wine tasting night on Monday night when we arrived on site. The site is immaculate and Phillipe keeps it tidy and well run. Lots of fire wood around for BBQs.

EYMET TOWN: The Campsite backs straight on to the town and there is always something happening. By day Eymet is a sleepy French Village; by noon get it comes alive with the bars and restaurants spilling out onto the street and the lovely town square. Everyone is very friendly.

On Tuesday there is a night Market in the town selling street food and clothes and toys etc. Thursday is Market day in the morning. Thursday night there is a food market in the Chateau square. It is amazing with local farmers selling their products plus musical entertainment. The campsite also backs on to the the River Dropt and there were some

Empty pitches there when we visited and we often spent the day lounging by the river. Carrefour supermarket on outskirts. Food costs more in France but alcohol is so cheap. There is a butchers, pattiserie, boulangeri, Spar shop and plenty more f bars and restaurants.

THINGS TO DO: Further a field from the town. We went on a wine tour with Bergerac Wine tours. Alex who runs the tour lives in Eymet and is very knowledgeable of the area. Highly recommend! We also visited Lac do Pombonne in Bergerac. Free entry and it is a lake with a beach. Great day. You can also hire electric bike in the town.

We ran out if time in the end and didn’t do it. If you like your wine visit Cave Cooperative Sigoulès, 15 mins away from campsite. Great wine made by the cooperative with grapes from

Local hinyards. Very cheap for very good wine. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Judeandmikesmith 9 reviews from this member

 This beautifully-located site is actually LESS than a five minute walk to the square with several restaurants, shops and beautiful architecture.

Philippe is indeed as wonderful a host as the previous reviewers said he was. He walked us around the site to choose our pitch, which had riverbank access.

There is no pool and the toilet & shower facilities had a fair bit of wildlife inside (as the doors were left wide open) but this was the cheapest site we stayed on by far! Only 14 euros per night for 2 of us with electricity!

There is a Carrefour supermarket 2 minutes drive up the road and we were able to get an early start in the morning without having to await the 8. 30am 'earliest departure' rules that some of the other sites operate. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 76 reviews from this member

 What a delightful site. Beautiful trees, extensive grounds 'not for camping' river frontage. And. Phillipe! He IS the site. Forever helpful, charismatic and the best 'host' one could wish for.

Within a short stroll of the delightful bastide town of Eymet, the location is perfect. And the prices unbelievably cheap.

Popular with the british, yet not completely dominated by them.

The are is good for cycling (many flatish roads as well as climbs for those who crave them), and the river is quiet, slow and peaceful. We used our own inflatables, but you can hire nearby.

Lots of other bastide towns to visit, and Begerac is just up the road.

A relaxing and beautiful part of France. No wonder a lot of ex-pats have bought property in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper0505 9 reviews from this member

 Decided to stay here having spend over a week in more rural sites (beautiful as they were) somewhere where it’s possible to walk to some civilisation and have a beer and perhaps dinner without having to use the car every time you want to go out.

Well, we weren’t disappointed, the owner made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. He escorted us round the site to choose the pitch. What a fab guy, really works very hard at keeping the campsite looking clean and tidy and can’t do enough for you.

We arrived on a Friday, he suggested we might like to join him and other campers for the weekly soiree; he provides the wine/beer, cooks local specialities and hosts a good evening where you can meet the other campers. A good opportunity to find put more of the local area. A bargain at only €5 each…

Our pitch was spacious and next to the river, good walks though the meadows alongside the river for the dog. Facilities were good and clean.

Eymet, is a beautiful Bastide town with its lovely colonnaded square, but lots of Brits, including a pub which on Friday evening was full of Brit builders. However, Eymet was worth the stop off for a couple of nights and to experience the owner’s hospitality. If in the area would recommend a stay here, we would return. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JMLivesey 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights to visit friends who live in Eymet. A lovely site, perfectly placed so you can wander into the village through the small old Chateau and into the lovely Bastide village square.

You could miss this if you kept on the main road going through the town. Market day is Thursday and busy.

The site is set at the end of a dead end road so quiet until the bin lorry arrives at 5am, which was the only downside if our lovely spacious pitch near the entrance.

There are some pitches near the river and all pitches are well marked and spaced with a choice of shade or full sun. The reception area has a range of local information and is housed in the same building as the toilet block which is fine and contains laundry facilities too.

Phillipe the owner is very pleasant, helpful and keen to ensure guests are ok. He organises a weekly pizza night for guests and there was also a free wine tasting hosted by a local wine producer whilst we were there.

The attractions of the area are many but would suggest other local Bastide towns or Bergerac 30 mins drive away. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cath1414 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from Camping du Château, at Eymet and once again a excellent stay.

A warm welcome from Philippe and he takes you round the site to chose a pitch, whether near the River or under the tree's.

Toilets cleaned each morning before you rise

Toilet paper in all toilets, soap and a clean towel each morning.

Washing up area clean and wash up liquid supplied.

Excellent recycled bin area where everything is split off, bottle, plastic, cardboard etc.

Office with tourist information section, Library with books to swop. Free WiFi which is excellent.

Philippe hires out bikes and canoe's.

We paid 14€ a night for two people, Camping Car, Electric and small dog.

A good mix of French, Dutch and Anglais this stay and all ages, the young families mostly down near the Play area with its swings and slides and football/basket ball area. The families with Teenagers, near the office for the Free Wifi for their phones.

Saturday night Happy Hour so you can get to know your neighbors, if you want.

Your only 5 mins walk into the lovely Town of Eymet, with its Restaurants, Cafe's and Bars, la boulangerie, Shops and tourist information office. A brilliant market on Thursday morning, in fact one of the best markets around. There is also a excellent Italian Restaurant here, well worth a visit.

Two Spa Supermarkets and a Carrafour along the road for a big shop and petrol.

Lots of vignerons around the area for a nice bottle of wine, just stop where a signs says 'dégustation de vin' call in and taste the wines and you can pick up some lovely bargains, to drink while sat at the side of the river on a night.

We were only going to stay for two nights on our way back home, but ended up staying the week enjoying the Sun and Heat of September, And yes we will be calling again next Spring.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Growler 7 reviews from this member

 Can only add my agreement to the other reviews about what a lovely site this is. It was peaceful, very pleasant to be able to walk into the village in the evening for a drink or meal, with several places to choose to eat at.

Other half enjoyed his afternoon sitting by the river fishing, while being close enough to the van to order his tea and sandwiches to be brought!

The owner is so helpful and also very entertaining. We ended up staying an extra night and then had to do a mad dash north to get home on time. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gerry941 5 reviews from this member

 Not much to add to the previous reviews: price for 2 adults and a caravan in mid June 2011 was 14 Euros. Toilet are very clean even having toilet paper and hand soap provided! Clients are mainly Brits and Dutch.

The town is a typical 'Bastide' with a very pleasant square surrounded by a colonade of shops and cafes - excellent to sit and have a beer/coffee etc and listen to the locals (again mainly Brits, after all this is 'Dordogneshire'!) There's even an English shop selling UK goods and plenty of estate agents.

On site Saturdays there's a Happy Hour provided by Phillipe the caretaker - it just adds to what is an excellent campsite. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Chateau child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Du Chateau?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Chateau dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eymet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement